"When in Rome ...." - a fun real story of two ignorant tourists in Italy

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Since the weekend is just around the corner, I would like to share one amusing story that I remembered yesterday when making a cup of Guarana coffee before heading out to have my French lesson. Normally I do not drink coffee, but now, when the weather is so gloomy and dark, every now and then I feel a need for some extra energy boost to stay sharp.

The story I would like to tell you actually took place, not in Rome but not that far away either - in Genoa. A lovely Italian city surrounded by mountains and situated on the Liguria coast in northwestern Italy.

100_07fdg77.jpg

Roughly six years ago, my friend and I have been working at the heart of the European Union - Brussels. After one pretty difficult period of time, we decided that we deserved to have a break and caught the nearest plane to Italy. However, as soon as our plane touched the ground I've felt a massive headache threatening to ruin our first day there. It was really unusual for me to have an ache like that so unfortunately, I did not have any appropriate medicine with me as well.

10dfgg0_0764.jpg

"I've got an idea" - my friend announced. - "I think it might be because of the mountains. Your blood pressure might be low, we need to get you some ...coffee!" Before I could remind her that I am not really into coffee or make any sense of what she just said... I found myself being dragged across the hotel to the nearest bar area. I did not struggle too much, what I had to lose? In addition, everyone knows that Italian coffee is one of the best in Europe.

10fhd0_0863.jpg

We found the lounge. Since it seemed to be empty we made ourselves comfortable at the bar and began to discuss lively our holiday plans. In a moment the bartender shows up and in a cheerful tone asks what we "ladies" would like to drink? Without thinking twice my friend smiles, orders "two lattes please", turns back to me and we continue where we left our conversation off. "Hot or cold?" - he continues. "Hot please" - I said a little bit surprised, but oh well...what do I know about making coffee.
There was just one thing that caught my eye before he left to get our order - his slightly puzzled facial expression. However, since he didn't say anything else I assumed it was not related to us.

20180126_155304fgg.jpg

Fast forward, a few minutes later, he comes back and places in front of us two gorgeous porcelain cups full of.... HOT MILK?! The look on our faces must have been priceless. With wide eyes, we glanced at the cups, then to the bartender then back to the cups...over and over again... The bartender turned out to be a quick thinker or maybe had a better awareness of the situation or just was used to silly tourists like we were... I really don't know, but he raised his right hand, gently smacked this forehead with a palm and exclaimed hardly containing a laugh - "Aaaaaa CAFFE LATTE?!" We were still looking at him with total amazement of what on earth just had happened... when we heard a loud laugh bursting behind the kitchen door... well I guess we totally deserved that.....

The bartender was kind enough to explain us - two ignorant tourists - that in Italian "late" means milk, so we literally ordered two cups of hot milk, before going back to the kitchen to change our order. It was totally fair, we really deserved what we've got for blabbing the order without thinking.

Back in Brussels, where no one seemed to have any time for pleasantries or long explanations, I guess waitresses were already used to people using short versions of the beverages' names. So if you wanted to get an espresso with steamed milk (Caffe latte) all you need to say was "Latte".

OH MY GOODNESS, that was so embarrassing!!! But fortunately, Italians seems to be a very relaxed people. So at the end, we all just had a good laugh and my friend and I ended up drinking the best Caffe Latte that I've ever had.

Moral of the story, my dear friends, don't be as ignorant tourists as we were and before going somewhere have a quick read on what you can expect at your destination and learn at least a couple main words. That might really save you from the comic situation like we had.
And don't forget this golden proverb: "When in Rome, do as the Romans do" :)

100hhgh_0759.jpg

~~ La Fine! ~~
Have a lovely weekend everyone!
Much love <3
@gretum

Sort:  

Quite funny but interesting..guess I learnt a thing or two..thank you.

Glad to hear :)

thank you for sharing such a lovely story and beautiful place, i have been in Bologna for business trip every year but no chance to spend time in a lovely nature city like this / Thank you for sharing my love :-)

Indeed it was beautiful! And situation was embarrassing lol Thank you for reading hun :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

awesome photos I wish I were there...WOW!

That was funny.
That should have been a great moment for taking a picture :D

We were too shocked to think rationally :))

But let's be honest, you could have done much worse. I stayed in a hostel in Tokyo last year, two of my roommates almost got thrown out of the country while they were piss drunk. It's not a good idea to drunkenly pick a fight with the cops, especially when you don't speak the local language!

Well that should be just a common sense. It is never a good idea to pick a fight with a local law enforcement :)
How did you enjoy your stay in Japan all in all? It is my dream to see it myself one day.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gretum from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63