Mini Pond, Waterfall, and Stream that I Built This WeekendsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

After finding an old store-bought fountain pump in my shed, I decided to put it to use. This was a spontaneous project that was meant to be small, simple, and quick.

FullSizeRender (11).jpg

IMG_9467.JPG

My plan was to create something better than the store-bought fountain that my grandma had, but cracked and was thrown away. I kept the pump, and a year later noticed it in the shed. Just a simple pit would be dug, the dirt thrown along my fence to create a gradual hill.

FullSizeRender (3).jpg

... then I started shaping and forming where the stream would flow, as well as waterfall areas where I laid bricks for support.

IMG_7697.JPG

With help from my son @jbreezy, we laid the pond liner, and started placing the rocks. Thankfully we have a collection of landscaping stones and rocks around the house, including gravel.

After filling the initial pond, I realized I wanted the pond a little bigger, with a higher flow pump. After another 6 hours of work, and a $20 pump purchased on amazon, $7 worth of goldfish, and $10 LED lights, I am now satisfied.

IMG_9406.JPG
A little frog visited today

FullSizeRender (10).jpg
A tiny pond with a waterfall above the main pond.

FullSizeRender (9).jpg

IMG_9252.JPG
the kids r/c mini boats provided so much fun I ordered a remote control submarine! :D

We are already talking about expanding with a bridge and all...

IMG_9219.JPG

Sort:  

What What?!?!?! Looks SICK!

Nice dude. That waterfall looks really great. I had one in my hard too. The hardest part was finding rocks :D

I'm not sure I would have attempted it if I didn't have all the rocks around the house... I am not much of a landscape/yardwork type person. lol

I had to search for them a while but in the end it worth it. :)

Nice work. I built an above ground pond a little over a year ago when re-doing the landscaping in my backyard. Quite a chore, but love the sound of my fountain at night.

I agree... it was a chore, but not too bad for the enjoyment you get out of it.

Have you put any fish in it?

The pond looks great.. Always a nice feature in the garden. I have 2 ponds in my small garden and i'm just building a micro pond over the next few weeks .. Nothing special but its going nicely.
https://steemit.com/nature/@dune69/micro-pond-build-week3-laying-out-the-dry-river-bed

It will be interesting to see how yours evolves

Thank you... I like your pond too!

@gregm Waterfall with disco lights!!lolzz

The fish love to party !!

Is that where your artificial fish master @gregm it's a very brilliant idea master .... !!!!!

Thank you sir !

thank you again master @gregm
I am very happy to comment on your post ...!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56560.74
ETH 2390.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34