Northern Lights Over The Sea

in #life6 years ago (edited)

On late Saturday evening on 17th March it was possible to see the aurora in the sky. I'm never been able to photograph them yet so I decided to go and give it a try. I live in Estonia and spotting aurora here is not very rare but not that common as well. I have seen them many times but only 2 times I remember when they were really bright and moving all over the sky.

I am using 2 different apps to track Aurora. One is named Aurora and another one is Aurorasaurus. They are both almost the same and show real-time data. Whenever there is a possibility to see in my area, the apps will notify me. On this evening it was only 2% chance to see them in North Estonia over the head. In middle Finland and Sweden, the possibility was 70% and aurora over the sky there means I can still see them in the northern sky about 900 kilometers away. Also, I watch real-time cameras from Finland, Norway, and Sweden and I could clearly see strong aurora action there.

DSC_0487-2.jpg
ISO100, f3.5, 115sec.
I drove about 15 kilometers away from my home, to be more away from the light pollution the city nearby produces.
This little port is a pretty ideal place to capture northern lights, facing north, nice scenery and relatively dark.

DSC_0488.jpg
ISO 100, f4, 191sec.
By your eyes, you could hardly see them, but camera captured them nicely. One thing I failed to do was to use more ISO, for some reason I didn't do it and now my shutter times are ridiculous.

DSC_0486.jpg
ISO100, f3.6, 109sec.
Of course, I wasn't there alone, northern lights chance, location and probably addiction for photographing brings other photographers there as well. You can see these ghostly figures here. Personally, I love this pic, this makes strange feeling in me for some reason. I captured this just for the setting testing purposes actually.

DSC_0480.jpg
ISO100, f3.5, 10sec.
By 2019 we will reach solar minimum cycle and chances of seeing strong northern lights will decrease drastically here.
Hope to get a couple of more opportunities in this spring till the sky is still dark at nights.



Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 19:58:49
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 167.95/200.00
Total Photos: 27
Total comments: 23
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I have always wanted to see the Northern Lights. Great pictures!

Yes, this sight is amazing!

Oh my gosh!!!! They are so nice.. I wish i could see them in person too. :)

If you travel to Canada or Northern Europe then your chances of seeing them are high!

its like not from our world:)

But yet it is and its awesome!

Wow awesome pictures! Great landscape with the lights

I am glad you liked :)

you are welcome

Heh, if you say so :D

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #21! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually ☺️

nice work brother

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Daaamn, I live wayyyy up north from you and I’ve missed the northern light. I need to download those apps now...

Yea you should, you are lucky, in your location its not rare to see northern lights :D. When I watch live cameras located in mid finland, I see them lights pretty often.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.27