How I Drove A Car Over The Sea

in #life6 years ago

On Sunday, when I went on a little car trip to west Estonia, my final destination was an island. In order to get to the island, I didn't have to use any kind of ship, I drove my car over the sea. Yes, you heard it right. Seas around Estonia are totally frozen at the moment and official ice roads are being opened since it has been very cold for some time now.

I have never experienced driving on the sea yet and that's why I had this awesome idea in my mind for a long time.

When we arrived at the coast you could already see the long queue of cars wanting to get on the ice. We waited about half an hour when finally it was our turn to go.

This is the beginning of the road on the sea.
DSC_0360.jpg

Certain rules are applied when driving on the ice.
  1. Your car must not be heavier than 2500 kilograms.
  2. You have to hold at least 250-meter gap between cars.
  3. Seatbelts must be off.
  4. Driving speed must be between 40-70 km/h to prevent harmful vibrancy to the ice.
  5. Of course stay on the track.
  6. Do not stop your car on the ice.
    The last rule prevented me from stopping and take better photos from the sea and since I was driving, my friend had to do the photographing.
    DSC_0369.jpg

It was really unusual and strange experience to drive past the ship with a car haha. Ship road was only about 50 meters from us.

This photo is taken at the exact moment when we were driving in line with the ship.
DSC_0375.jpg

Just to note, no one has ever fallen through the ice when driving on official ice roads in Estonia.




If you would like to see the mansion ruins I came across during this trip then look up this post.
If you would like to see the island that was my destination for this trip, stay tuned...
Untitled-4.png
Untitled-5.jpg

Sort:  

I'm sorry I was hacked! I have deleted the spam and working on clean up! xo

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.55 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.11
Server time: 20:56:39
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 113.70/200.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 23
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Nice story!

Pretty Cool! How far did you go on the ice road?

This exact ice road was 10 kilometers long. We have one more ice road which is 25 km long but it is not open yet, don't know if it will be this year tho. This is the longest ice road in Europe.

wow that's pretty cool

Yea, it was awesome experience !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60795.60
ETH 2627.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58