Study: Lotion has no long-term benefit

in #life5 years ago

I was lying in bed after putting lotion on my face, the same I have done almost every night for 10 years or so and it occurred to me that I don't really know if it does anything, I am just presuming that it does because everyone says it does. I started thinking, "what if lotion doesn't actually do anything?"


source

I have always wondered about the dubious claims on bottles of lotions and I became more suspicious when I moved to Thailand and all the lotions were advertised as "whitening" They would suggest through graphics and funny cartoons that over time and continual usage the lotion would actually change the tone of your skin several "shades."

For one thing, what the hell is a "shade?" and I'm pretty sure that you can't just change the color of you skin unless you undertake some Michael Jackson type stuff.

The claims that some of these companies make are also intentionally very vaguely worded for example the package and / or commercial might say something along the lines of something I saw the other day where it was claimed that the lotions would "revitalize and refresh skin cells and assist in the reduction of fine lines".... Think about it..... what does that even mean?

14608107_1180665285312703_1558693314_n.jpg
source

As it turns out, most countries forbid manufacturers from making claims without peer-reviewed science to back it up. Since the scientific community (the real one) doesn't really have an agenda outside of seeking the truth, no such study is ever attempted because it would quickly be debunked. The few studies that do exist are not really studies at all and make very small claims using complicated language that doesn't even mean anything to the average person.

However, there are some countries (such as the one that I live in) where there are no such regulations. The other day I saw a product that made the following claim

(said products will) ..." smooth the cutaneous microrelief leading to a 10 percent wrinkle reduction being observed after only 4 weeks. Additional tests have shown that skin moisturisation improved by 30 percent. "

It provided a website that didn't actually work and I could find no study to back up the claims on this container.

What does "younger-looking" actually mean? It isn't something that can be measured after-all. If manufacturers use soft ambiguous words and avoid using definitive ones such as "prevent, diagnose, cure, or alleviate" they don't actually have to provide any science to back up their claims. They introduce new magic chemicals to various salves and through the magic of advertising manage to convince the masses that they will be able to look like they 20 again and that simply isn't true.

Most actual scientists will agree that the only "proven" claim on any over-the-counter lotion is the ones that contain SPF. It is generally accepted that limiting exposure to the sun's UV rays is pretty much the only truthful claim made by any player in this $80 billion per year industry.

Wow.

For me, i will still continue to use lotion because sometimes I don't like the way that my skin feels dry. However, I think I am done believing the claims that these products make and simply accept the fact that as i get older, I am simply going to look older and this is fine.

Sort:  

Aging is a normal, natural process. Some lotions may help, probably as not smoking, not overexposing the skin to the sun not not applying toxic substances to it.

i think not smoking is a big part of it all as well. There are two guys that go to the same pub as me that are around the same age. One of them smokes, the other does not. If you met these two fellas you would assume the smoker was 10 - 20 years older than the other person.

Smoking totally makes the difference

Hello, @gooddream. It is always good to hydrate and protect the skin, it is the largest organ we have and we must keep it cared for and protected. I also use creams for the face and body, I like the feeling of freshness and softness.

One day I saw my grandmother putting several lotions in her hands and I asked her why she used so many lotions, she told me that she did it to maintain the illusion. As you can guess, I never used lotions, so I do not know if those lotions work or not. I have always believed that some do it and others not, but that the results are always modest, something that only works with the actors.

botox works and that is about it. The rest of it is snake oil in my opinion. Basically, if something has been proven by science to make a difference (real science, not the labs at Johnson and Johnson) the companies would be screaming to the mountains about their clinical trials... but they don't do that because they know it isn't real.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76