You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Every Direct Message is beginning with "HI DEAR"!!!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Nice to see someone saying it like it is around here @battleaxe and @lextenebris )) should we be surprised to see this is going on ? I have had a few, i just ignore them to be honest )

Sort:  

Look, I know that my weird journalistic insistence on "an extraordinary claim requires extraordinary proof" is not exactly mainstream anymore, but I'm going to need some sort of link which actually documents Ned saying such a thing.

That's not to say that I don't think he could have, but if we're going to assert it in this context we really need to have proof. Like, the-specific-link-where-he-did-so kind of proof.

Any time you see the words "apparently said" we know that we are dealing with hearsay. And hearsay is actually negative fact. It's anti-knowledge. Anyone could make up anything and pretend that they heard it somewhere else while simultaneously suggesting that people should make assessments based on that statement.

It's bullshit, is what I'm telling you.

Maybe it is displeasing of me to suggest that we should hold ourselves to higher standards than CNN and Fox news, do more actual due diligence than the New York Times and the Washington Post – but if we can't even clear that kind of low bar, why bother writing at all? Especially about anything that matters even remotely to anyone.

(Yes, this is one of my personal bees in my bonnet. Basic journalistic integrity should not die just because the people who ostensibly refer to themselves as "journalists" have found it inconvenient and those who are actually writing in "journals" can't be bothered because they think what they're doing doesn't matter. Everything matters. Do some basic due diligence.)

Well sire I agree its hearsay and seeing your rather dipleased reaction i regret even having mentiond it now ! It was something which I said I only saw in a thread on a post awhile back ! I euppose i found it troubling so it kind of stuck in my mind! The wording of my earlier comment is bad and sure it is hearsay and i hate this too, a horrible thing even a social disease in its worst forms, to be avoided !! I will try and find in my replies to see if i can find say the comment containing the root of this hearsay @extenebris! i removed the hearsay from my comment, good that you take up this flame, upvoted that ))

Sooner or later, I will condition everyone around me to do basic due diligence in excess of what we except as the current state of "journalism." This I swear!

Remember, we should only be troubled by that which is true, not which we can make up or which someone else has made up. After all, if we start down that path, we can make up anything we want and get as riled up as we like – and none of it has any contact with reality.

We want to make decisions based on reality. We want to make good decisions. And we want other people to look at us as sources of information and ideation which are valuable. All of those things mean that we have to be aware of what we write and what we say because ultimately we are all that stand behind it.

(What makes me question the original source of that quote or the context is that it just doesn't seem to fit with other things that he's said in public. That he thinks Steemit could act as a source of revenue for poor people? Absolutely. That would be in his wheelhouse. But "some sort of welfare system for poor people" he is both at odds with the design of the architecture and other things that he said about making earning possible but not making it an engine for free money. So that immediately put my antenna up as needing an extraordinary claim substantiated. Nothing personal, that's just how I operate.)

Yes for sure @lextenebris I totally concur wholeheartedly with your reasoning and you did well to point this out quickly to me !! Its true the fake narrative as we have been seeing is a tool which semes disatourous results and destruction of confidence ! So yes indeed we all need to be very careful with our words written or not ) Steem On )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49