Embracing the Last Moments Through Routine & Predicability

in #life7 years ago

MVIMG_20180217_114543.jpg


It’s been raining in Middle Tennessee for what seems like weeks. The house it a bit stuffy and my workload has kept me at odds with the outside world. The weekdays have been dedicated to the work, the weekends to my Offspring and Partner.


MVIMG_20180217_112712.jpg



We’ve been coming here since the very begging… as soon as she could hold a paint brush, we’d head over to the Pottery place and start our masterpieces of the week. If this place had a punchcard for loyalty, we’d own the place by now.


IMG_20180217_111429.jpg



The routine has remained pretty much the same. I’d get coffee before. She’d get a sweet. We’d people-watch and comment on the growth of the town. We’d spend a half hour debating which unglazed Mt. Everest we should climb and finally come to a decision after dozens were exhausted. The only real difference today is she checks Pinterest first to see what’s been done before. Todays selection was a coffee mug.



Her reasoning… she always gets the ugly cup because she sleeps in the longest.




Having an almost grown woman in the house that used to be my child is not something you get used to quickly. 'Pitter Patter' morphed into stomping away. Endless surprise & wonder died a slow death to endless eyerolls and murmuring sarcasm. The battle has been waging and these respites are remarkable for the spirit.


MVIMG_20180217_114822.jpg
MVIMG_20180217_114856.jpg

Moments like these are what I find the most value in. In my 20’s it was building my business, seeing the world and consuming every bit of excitement I could digest. My 30’s just a lighter version of that. I had so many opportunities to snuggle, to chase, to peek-a-boo, to tickle and to tease that are unimaginable to get away with now. Teenage girls need fathers tickling them like they need velcro retainers. At almost 39… I’ll take these moments over anything else. What a fool I was am.



Relying on a bit or routine and predictability to bond with my daughter is a bit outside of my 'anything-goes, spontaneousness, in-the-moment brand of living. But I'll take it. And the older I get, the more I realize I'll take anything to capture more of these last years.

The unglazed finished product

MVIMG_20180217_121704.jpg

Sort:  

Treasure moments like these 😎

beautiful photos, the girl paints dishes it is so beautiful, it turns out, thank you for the post of a friend. I support you

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Such a heartfelt reflection of fatherhood. You're using your time with your daughter wisely. And it seems that the rain has been good for introspection.

It's been raining a lot here in East Tennessee too. Perhaps I can use it to my advantage too. Thanks for sharing and inspiring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79