Saturday Thoughts. The Weather, The Wedding, Family Time and Memories.

in #life6 years ago

I am sitting in my garden and basking in the sun as I write this. There are clear skies and a balmy temperature of 22C / 71 F. A great day for a wedding perhaps? Yes, in case you are living under a rock and hadn't heard, today is the wedding of Prince Harry and Meghan. Ms. Muxx has it playing live on her iPad, no doubt looking forward to our own wedding in New York next year. Let me tell you, there will be far fewer attendees and much less pomp and ceremony at ours.

_101641261_hi046912841.jpg
Source

In England, we do pomp and ceremony very well and this is one of those rare occasions where it is acceptable to be a proud Brit. Hang a Union Jack from your house at any other time and you are at risk of 'offending' people, so you can expect a visit from your local constabulary. Such double standards...sigh. But let's not ruin a lovely day.

So far this year we have had some quite nice weather, but I can't help feel sorry for some of our pets. Our dog is a Lhasa Apso and has quite a thick coat. As I write this she is sprawled out in the shade under my chair, panting her poor little head off. Our old black cat is lounging in the sun on top of the children's playhouse. The tortoises, on the other hand, are in their element. They have the necessary heat lamps they need in their vivariums, but nothing is quite the same as real life sunshine. We have fenced off an area on the grass for them and separated the boys as they like to fight. You wouldn't believe how quickly tortoises can plod along, making laps of their individual little plots.

We have a hot tub and being the weekend the kids splash and play quite happily in it. It's nice to see them playing together: my son is 11 and likes to spend his spare time on his computer, his six-year-old sister is a bother to him usually. It brings back bittersweet memories of my own late sister who was six years younger than me. With three older brothers, she did a great job keeping us all in line. This month has been 13 years since we lost her and not a day goes by when I don't think of her. My everlasting regret is that she never got to meet my other half and our son and daughter.

As I crack open an ice cool beer - to cool myself down naturally - I wonder why I am writing this post on my phone instead of reveling in some family time. Quite right. Time with loved ones is a precious commodity and as much as I love this platform, I have higher priorities.

Enjoy your day, wherever you are and whatever you are doing.
 
Muxxy



Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

Wedding in NYC? Well, that is going to be a wedding to remember! Enjoy your day, your family, and I will not tire of saying this see you soon!

Yay, looking forward to meeting the Kubbs.Fancy a trip to New York next year? Lol

I will be there if you want me to.... Even if you don't I will sneak in so save me the trouble will you! :)

We had the wedding live on the TV here as well. I missed it though!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

That's still a bit on the cool side for me ;D Poor doggo, do you give her an undercut for the warmer weather? Enjoy your family time!

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76