A new perspective on the worldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

7 Ways Begin to Live With Compassion Changed His Perspective of Life.jpg

As I trundled down the road earlier on my mobility scooter to pick up my grandson from playschool I began to contemplate how my perspective on the world has changed over the past months.

My growth spurt started when I was 12 and my mum often joked that I slept in a bag of compost. By the time I was 15 I was already over 6ft tall. Genetically I get it from my granddad, mum is quite tiny - I could easily rest my elbow on her head! Having a generous height has always served me well, I have lost count of the occasions I was asked to change a lightbulb or to help a little old lady reach something from the top shelves in the supermarket. It can also feel good towering over crowds at a concert for example and no matter how much weight I put on it's spread along my height so it doesn't show quite so much.

As mentioned previously I have MS (Multiple Sclerosis) - which came on around 20 years ago. During the past few years I have increasingly struggled to walk through pain, fatigue and general clumsiness. My legs feel like I have lead weights permanently around my ankles and I walk with a stick as I struggle with my balance. I have allowed it to dictate my life, often refusing to go out as a 20 minute walk - or I should say shuffle - would feel like I had run a marathon and I would be bed bound for the next few days. This isn't good when you have a young family: I have a son aged 10 and a 5 year old daughter who quite rightly want to spent some quality time with their dad.

A few months ago my partner @msgrey suggested we take the children to our local zoo. My heart sank as the zoo surrounds a castle and castles are generally built at the top of a hill. Kim saw my face and before I could complain she suggested we hire one of their mobility scooters. I was hesitant at first - I am 47 and thought it would be embarrassing not only to myself but my children too. Then I thought of the kids and agreed, they both love animals and it would be great to share their joy at visiting the zoo.

It turned out to be the best afternoon I had had for a while, my daughter and grandson loved being able to sit between my legs on the scooter as the paths are quite steep for their little legs. I kept an eye out for any funny looks or sideways glances from strangers, I am quite self conscious. None came, in fact people were incredibly accommodating, often making way for me to drive past them. It was this day that convinced me I had to get my own set of wheels. We scrimped and saved, managing to eventually scrape £200 together. My mother graciously loaned me the remaining £300 and a few months ago I became the proud owner of my very own scooter.

My head height is now at that of a young child as I drive around and I see the world through a completely new perspective. It's me asking perfect strangers to pass me things from the top shelf of the supermarket. It's me people look down on as I drive on by. People don't stare or give me funny looks and doors are held open for me as I scoot around town. It gives me a new found freedom to enjoy my life and the time I spend with my family and for that I am eternally grateful.


Sometimes I wish my scooter was this fast!

Dad is no longer a hermit.

Picture Source



Click the picture to read about my steemgig service - English proof reading - if you need help with spelling or grammar

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your story! I have fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue syndrome, and herniated disks that cause a great deal of pain. I am still walking through the pain but not much walking goes on. I wish I had a scooter too!! 3 years ago I had cancer which left me with lymphedema adding to the already every day struggles of life. But I never give up and I am glad you did not too. Keep on, keeping on!!

People in my area are very rude and sometimes downright nasty when they see me on a scooter in the local grocery store. So much so that I stopped going. A friend does my shopping for me now. But I am resolved to start doing more for myself again this year. I have my ceramics and pottery business online, which I enjoy even though it is a constant battle to get down and back up the basement stairs to my shop.

Tomorrow I am getting out in my car for the first time in nearly two years. I can't wait!! Maybe next week I will try shopping again. Never give up!!

God Bless!!

Good on you! Great post. Keep driving and enjoying life.

Thank you.

Life is good

I use a power chair. I've been living on wheels for 10 years now. I am invisible to many people. They just look over my head. Well done for making the most of your life!

Sorry to hear, people can be a-holes

I try, my family make sure my life is fulfilling

@gmuxx
This is an inspiring story and I appreciate your sharing it! My father had a stroke about 5 years ago and I hope I can get him a scooter someday soon.

Have a wonderful day!

Thank you.

Sorry to hear about your father and hope he gets a scooter soon. It's given me my freedom back and I am not so reliant on other people.

You're welcome!

Yes, thank you! I think it would be great for him so he can experience some independence. I would need to find one with a seatbelt because he has balance issues from his stroke. Very happy that you have found this new freedom to enjoy!

Glad to see you got to get out and enjoy the zoo with your children, they look like they had a great time @gmuxx!

Thanks, it was a great day

Your story reminds me of my Great Uncle Alvin who passed away two years ago. He also suffered from MS, and yet to see his smile, it was hard to believe he was suffering. The most beautiful moment I can recall was him dancing with his daughter at her wedding reception. To see the joy and pride and love, I still tear up to think of it. His body may have been trapped to a chair, but his heart could never be constrained. Stay strong for your family, never be ashamed. I'm so glad you have found a way back into the world, appreciate its wonders daily.

Thanks for sharing your story with us @gmuxx ...nice to learn more about people we meet everyday on Steemit ^_^
Your children were undoubtedly glad to do the visit on your knees, it's like going to the zoo and the carousel in the same time, so how fun is that..?! ;-)

My daughter loves it, I often drive her back from school when she has had a long day

@@ -106,17 +106,18 @@
en they
-a
+we
re tired

Are you open to Chinese medicine? ever try?

I am open to anything that might help. Conventional Western medicine has done little to alleviate any of my symptoms

if you come into the chat i will tell you what I can

Just a moment, I will be there soon.

Thanks

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $20.64 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59106.19
ETH 2538.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37