Your inner voice and what it does to you.

in #life7 years ago

Inner-voice.jpg
source

As human beings, there is this voice in our head giving us one guideline or the other. It could be the good or the bad guideline but one certain thing is that you just can’t get that inner voice to keep shut.

In life we love, sometimes we want to hate those that have hurt us; we want so much to revenge the hurt that has been done to us in the past. So many a times we want to give up; even blame others for the mess we are into.

Many times we want to always win, but then we see ourselves failing in some aspect of life. Friends come and before you know what, they are saying goodbye. Before you know what is happening you are all by yourself.

Funny enough I have come to realize that no matter how many friends you make, how many laughs you share but you are not your own best friend, trust me you don’t have a friend yet. You are the only one that can tell yourself the best story; you are also the only one that can pick yourself up after a hard fall.

A throw back to my diploma days, had a couple of friends I practically shared everything with. We shared the best part of our lives together; went out, laughed, joked and even quarreled and got back together. As of then all I knew how to do was be with them, never knew there was something called self companionship.

But one faithful day, things decided to turn soar. We disagreed but this time there was no agreement and I was left solo. To them I was supposed to come back begging and asking to be taken back but at that moment I just knew I had to find a friend in myself.

I started spending more time with myself, I rediscovered some things I never knew I had and I started doing the things I was afraid to do on my own. Some things I didn’t do well and right at the first attempt but I kept on trying until I became better at them.

Well don’t ask me how hurt I felt initially; because I was badly hurt and just as human as I am I wanted so bad to revenge. But at the end of everything there was absolutely no need for that as I was able to come in contact with my inner voice.

In this context, it simply means that there are times you just have to drop or let some friends drop you in other to find your best friend in you. But the good thing about life is that, somewhere or somehow there is just at least one person that will always stick by you apart from the best friend you find in yourself.

Just like magic, this person becomes your second self, understands why you do the things you do and appreciate the person you are and help you pay attention to that voice in your head. In fact you will begin to hear and listen more often because there are no more distractions. Like I mentioned, the message might be good, bad or even conflicting but with the absence of distractions you can be able to make a better choice.

So many people find it difficult to get good results because there are so many opinions from a hand full of friends, and at the end of the day you are left with nothing but the wrong message.

Good friends are like gold seek them, at the same time being mindful of the number of friends around us is necessary as this would determine who we are and how the inner voice affects us.

How can you listen to that inner voice?

how-to-listen-to-inner-voice.jpg
source

Sift your friends

The bitter truth is that all those much of a friend might not be necessary. You just need the ones that can keep you straight and believe you me you can’t find them with a river of people around you as your friend.
friends.jpg
source

Let them go

If you have to find yourself and eventually you inner voice you have to let all those friends go, its either they drop you or you drop them.
letting go.jpg
source

Enjoy your company

You are your own best friend; you are your own everything. Just enjoy your company that just it.
solitude.jpg
source

Listen and embrace who you are

After you have let the distractions slide, then you can now listen. When you do this always you will see that there is a new you, the you that was only discovered through self companionship.
listen to self.jpg
source

Find yourself… listen to that inner voice always.

generic.gif

Sort:  

Good for you. I like the post and the topic you have chosen. People want to have so many friends not realizing you only need a few. There is not enough time anyways. Close family is to me the most important. And time for myself.

That's the point, the fewer the better @cyclamen

it's hard to trust your inner voice but, if you do, it might take you to places you never imagined :)

Trust me it is @tantra. We all need to listen and trust more too.

I never regret listening to my inner voice NEVER!

Very good advice...I, for one, am always happy with my company.
One question, if you'll allow me - why do you refer to your college years as "the best part of our lives"? How do you know life has nothing left to offer?

@ladyrebecca Well at that time it was seen as such, but as one continue to experience more in life you just find out that even the best of the best is yet to come. The truth is that every moment is one's life is best as always.

Thank You @gloglo

You are your own best friend; you are your own everything.

This is fantastic

Thank you

Very true wow! "I just knew I had to find a friend with myself" This sentence is so powerful! 🔥 Each advice stated in your post is very true! Listening to our gut feeling is the key, as most of the time, it is right 😘 Thank you gorgeous !

Good read! I find I spend alot of time by myself. I think it makes me a stronger person. Or maybe its because I work in customer service and am interacting with many people all day long and I just need some quiet time. Lol!

What I believe you have discovered is self-compassion. Most of learn about compassion as children as we are raised by our caregivers.

Self-compassion comes when we learn how to be alone and notice our own pain. Once we notice our own pain, it is easier to become aware of the pain others are going through.

I have found it difficult to do it the other way around. I had to be trained by others to have compassion for self, too.

Congratulations on breaking through some of the taboos against knowing who you are.

Thank you @digitalfirehose, its amazing to see what you have added. self-compassion is one of the best thing that a person can do for self.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45