You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hack Your Life in 3 Easy Steps!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello, @sorin.cristescu, I wanted to stop by after having read your article "Best Way to Grow on Steemit" --Brilliant. I would recommend anyone to read. I very much agree that the greatest effort/ payoff ratio is in shrewd curation. That being said: you touched on a couple of points which I think deserve re-mentioning.

I like how you portray curation as a way for anyone to participate in the beauty of Steemit. As you mention, perhaps not everyone is a great writer, or has some other quite so "visible" talent--but, following certain guidelines, anyone can search and find quality content and support it. (ok, perhaps still not everyone, but, a healthy number). In fact, it is precisely, I would guess, this disparity in number between creators and curators that even allows the platform to operate effectively--there will always be more "consumers" than "producers"!!

Secondly, this knowledge surrounding effective curation is important for the author themselves; their view and operation. In other words, understanding and acquiescing to the fact that, in order to have a successful "production," he or she must have some humility; i.e., "support their supporters!" A symbiosis, as you said.

This is, of course, quite an old wisdom; yet, of course, many still do not believe it or follow it.

That being said, I do think, from a creator's perspective, there may need to be a period--in the beginning--when they are a bit more "selfish," to put it frankly: in other words--almost in order to get to the position to where one has the "power" to make these substantive changes, he or she must themselves be quite protective; doing things like up-voting herself, for example. I think early on, this is different. It is when a Steemian is super-whale status, and they seem to be going "hog-wild" with it, that it becomes the "abuse" we speak of.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. The problem with this platform is that there are so many "loose ends", so much "unfinished business" yet those who have the power to improve it seem to have lost focus and interest.

Subsequently it is extremely hard for minnows to climb in the hierarchy whether through authorship or curation. When you start from a very, very low base, it takes forever. So in the end, while authorship is good for the ego and curation is efficient (proportionally speaking), the most effective way remains the one which is not available to everyone, buy steem and power up ...

Self voting (I do it currently, when I feel that my contribution is not adequately rewarded, because it's possible) shouldn't be possible. And when you are a whale I'm sure it's quite difficult to refuse yourself an easy payday.

Right? Yes, it's "human nature," some might say. That being said: I find it very difficult to believe that all the "whales" here only became that way because they were financially well-off before the fact--I have to have some faith that, through hard work ,and yes, "chance," but some got to where they are through talent and hard work. I have been "Curied" three times in the approximately three months I've been on steemit. Summing probably close to.. idk, upwards of $150 sbd--I have also put in approximately $40 USD of my own money. I have 55 steem power--my goal is 5000 in the next couple years. Idk if that's feasible lol. Probably not a t this rate... BUT I think we are both overlooking one key factor when getting mired down in this pessimism---namely, the possibility (plausibility?) of Steemit doing very well; i.e., increasing in "outside world" value. Do you not believe those who are participating now, before the "take over" occurred, so to speak, would not flourish?

At the end of the day, I must say that my involvement with Steemit has done nothing but improve my life and my financial circumstance. I may not be privy to all the inner-working of why that may be, exactly; but, I'm not gonna stop now :))

They didn't need to. They just had to come in early. In 2016 inflation was 100% if I remember well what I've read. So that was a quick doubling of their SP, nothing to do. I think I saw somewhere that the price of the MV was something like 180 Steem at some point. Now we are at almost 500 Steem per MV. Then in march 2017 the price of steem was 1/10 of what it's now. Those who bought then (congrats) and power up made a x10 ! Then when the platform only had 70 000 users, if you knew a couple of whales it was much, much easier to get upvotes from them (simply because there wasn't so much content around to fight for the votes)

But I agree with you that I was tired when I wrote that and let myself be brought down by pesimism. I fully agree with you on this one:

Do you not believe those who are participating now, before the "take over" occurred, so to speak, would not flourish?

At the end of the day, I must say that my involvement with Steemit has done nothing but improve my life and my financial circumstance. I may not be privy to all the inner-working of why that may be, exactly; but, I'm not gonna stop now :))

Neither will I ! :-)

:) Good to know ;) And yes, that was basically what I was implying: many benefited from huge upticks in STEEM value. What's to stop us from experiencing the same?? :)) (granted.. this may be a bit overly optimistic, too--which can also be a problematic attitude to take lol

Yeah you are right tho.. But sometimes its a bit frustrating for people that steemit are helping finacially. Steemit was of great help to me january when i juste entered a bit frustrating now tho but all the same its a worthwhile platform. Maybe with time

Really? What happened to change things? You mean you made more income here in January, but now not so much? Any ideas why?

My dear. The reason was because of steemit openmic.. It was friendly to me as at that time cause i was new. It helped me alot though in school cause i self sponsor mysfelf in school.. But i began to notice some trends about steemit generally. It was the openmic that made me get some money .. I solely depend on steemit for my survival now.. You have to know some top people on steemit to be able to make so much for even a post that doesnt make much sense. Another thing was am in school, studying maths and january school just resumed and so when school got intense i needed to focus so i stopped posting much on steemit. But am done with exams now, finished today i am tryna make some few posts. Sometimes it aint all about the money on steemit tho... But at times its disappointing but its all good

simply because of the price of steem. Steem was at 0.0005 BTC around that time and the BTC was $12K ... Of course, that's when I bought my first 1000 steem (human brains being what they are ...). Fortunately I've also bought the 0.0002 BTC dip with the BTC around $7000

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86