Yesterday I was so happy to see my hats on heads of the children from @schoolforsdg4

in #life7 years ago

Just a few weeks ago I had a pile of toys, clothes and warm hats in my living room in Sydney Australia.

Seeing them arrive at @schoolforsdg4 is wonderful.

IMG_20171217_081941.jpg

IMG_20171217_082156.jpg

IMG_20171217_082215.jpg

Seeing these photos made my day.

IMG_20171217_082205.jpg

IMG_20171217_082135.jpg

These were mostly collected or created by myself and my mother.

IMG_20171217_082110.jpg

As I am not very active due to illness my mother aka Granny was the person responsible for getting the parcel to the post office.


A while back I launched a Sydney / Syhlet Sisterhood initiative.

Prompted by the amount of wastage of perfectly good and usable items I observed being thrown away during our annual counsel clean up.

With the streets covered with stuff destined for landfill I decided to put out a call on facebook.

I asked my friends to look in their homes for personal items that they know they would never use, and to give them to me.

I hadn't anticipated the response.

As I write this I have been informed my former workplace has started a collection.

My mother is taking me tomorrow to visit and to pick up the items.

This initiative has reconnected me with my own community. Thank you @schoolforsdg4💜

We have a large array of things already.

PSX_20171218_141252.jpg

It is my hope that we are able to work towards sending a large shipment in the future. Storage in @azizbd is limited, so I hope to source items that can be instantly issued to the people in the slums.

A planned collection of specific items for the school and community.


Many years ago I worked with an incredible woman from Sierra Leone.

Her name is Fatima.

We are not in touch anymore, but she impacted me immensely.

She would fill a shipping container by saving her hard earned dollars working as an assistant nurse and collecting items to send.

One woman in Australia supported an entire village.

I don't see why I can't do that. With my mother's help.


This shot impacted my teenager.

IMG_20171217_082145.jpg
This shirt belonged to my child. Probably worn half a dozen times. Seeing it appreciated was a precious life lesson. She has a large collection of writing and stationary material. She went through her collection today and has asked for me to send them for the start of the school year in Bangladesh.

I'm proud of her.

IMG_20171217_082234.jpg
This little guy, wearing our little guy's gear. He is so much like him, my heart melts.


Thanks for reading.

I have already been able to send the funds for some new sharee for the mothers. I will forward the womans items this week too.

Any up votes or resteems will help with postage costs.

IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Thank you to everyone on steemit for making 2017 a year of gratitude and purpose in spite of some obstacles. X

Sort:  

Awesome. I'm very proud of you!

I love seeing the community coming together to help change lives. Bless you for what you are doing.

that's amazing! Warm hearts :)

Thank you for your resteem. Following

Really i appreciate to working ..I proud of you. Carry on your activity my friend ..Best of luck. Resteemit..

appreciate to working my friend ..Best of luck.

My grandmother used to knit us caps like this, slippers too. When we lived up north as kids, she also knitted mittens. All appreciated. I still have a pair of the slippers that she made before she departed this world.

Yeah well done @girlbeforemirror, what your doing is amazing. Hope you feel better soon.

Your efforts are inspirational and life changing for the recipients. They also illustrate how possible it is for us all to make a difference in our wonderful world. I admire and am humbled by you. Keep on keeping on and have a fantastic Christmas. Upvoted and resteemed with love xox

Excellent project!! How can I help?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44