My Global sisterhood Initiative. Sharing resources and reducing waste.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Connecting communities

Bringing a wider awareness of @schoolforsdg4 to my community.

I've been chatting with @azizbd about the mothers programme at @schoolforsdg4

Over the week while we've been talking I have been researching Bangladesh, specifically Syhlet.

What a beautiful place.

IMG_20171127_061524.jpg

We all live in our own bubbles to a certain degree. I wanted to know about his country and understand the customs of the woman I wanted to connect with.

Particularly with reference to gift giving I read that often there is an expectation to reciprocate. That people are proud, and an overly generous gift would leave them obligated. Gifts are humbly received and are often not opened in front of the person who gives them.

That sounds a lot like how I feel about gifts too actually.


We have had a biannual clean up in my area last week. I was astounded by the degree of waste. People were throwing out so many items that could have been given to charity stores and sold to someone who wanted them (post to follow).


Something else I had read about gift giving when visiting Bangladesh, was that beauty products and cosmetics are a gift all woman across the social divide liked to receive in Bangladesh.
I looked up some local stores and found that brands that we come across easily in Australia are highly sort, by even the affluent woman in Bangladesh.

It got me thinking about the things I have in my own home that I haven't even used.

PSX_20171126_134157.jpg

As a low maintenance type of girl I imagined some of my friends medicine cabinets were no doubt overflowing with products.

After seeing the excess waste on the streets and also wanting to be sensitive to the obligation of gifts, I decided to put a call out to my local friends.

I asked them to consider clearing out their cabinets ahead of Christmas and to bring unused items to me, to share with my new friends. These women do feel like new friends. Following them on steemit and their children has been an honour.

Yesterday I put this on facebook to create a sisterhood between our communities.

Not a charity.

Not a gift.

An initiative to share with other women, the items we will not use.

An effort to also reduce the amount of waste in my own community.

IMG_20171127_053650.jpg

IMG_20171127_053708.jpg

I have heard from a number of friends, some who I haven't spoken to for a while, so I was pleased to have the opportunity to reconnect too.

A number of them are comparative fashionista compared to me, so I'm excited to have them on board.

A few people are now collecting within there own groups as well. I have asked for as new items only and for them to be sourced from their homes.


I have also had the opportunity to share the wonderful story of the school and it's passionate founder @azizbd and the courageous mothers who are working with him to secure a future for their children.


When I first asked @azizbd for ideas for an appropriate gift to give the mothers he suggested a new year gift of a new sharee each.

I researched the wonderful world of Bangladeshi sharees and was bamboozled by the array of styles.

I decided to commit to saving up the SBD from all my future posts until I have enough to transfer to @azizbd so they can buy a sharee of their choosing.

So the earnings from this and all future posts will go towards the New Year New Sharee initiative.

A new sharee for the coming year sounds great.

IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Tea plantation shot credit -maxpixel.freegreatpicture.com

Sort:  

I really love this initiative @girlbeforemirror
I'm going to approach a few of my friends to see if we can't help with some shipping costs.

Thanks Mereji. I almost called you Mezza, oh I did it! 😆it's a Bogan Australian thing. We shorten a name as a form of endearment. If the name is already short, like Erin or Adam, or Sharon, you get Ezza, Adz, and Shazza. It isn't always well received. But it means I'm a fan.
Love you Mezza xxxx

LOL - Love it
Considering that my Korean relatives call me Meh-deh-deh, I think Mezza is an improvement. HA!
I read one of your posts that said you're still homebound...but at least you're home, right? How are you feeling?

Oh! I think I recall a post or video on the subject of your name pronunciation in the family.
No offence here I hope. Yes I'm doing okish. No great shift except into the acceptance of hearing the word chronic and not biting a clinicians head off and spitting it at the next one waiting.

I have started going to a rehab with hydrotherapy and grannies in swim frocks. I bought some floral numbers to blend in. I thought I did a post about it but apparently I just took the pictures Blending in better than I thought perhaps.

ROFL grannies in swim frocks! The visual running through my head was definitely Lucille Ball-ish. :D Hydrotherapy can be amazing. I love being in the pool but it's been entirely too long since I tried to stuff my sausage body into a swim suit. Anyway, I'm glad to know you're home. Don't push yourself too hard...though I suspect that goes against your DNA. :P

No offense taken about the play on names. Things like that have made me the warped being that I am today. ha!

@girlbeforemirrorI love what you are doing and in some way I want to be a part. I will preface this by saying because I am trying to move soon, my time is limited but I would like to create some stretchy bracelets to go with the sharees. If you know the colors please update me. I have lots of beads and I am a jewelry maker/designer. And later when I get reestablished we may be able to come up with a line of jewelry for the mothers and the school. This is a great work. Count me in. Also another good idea would be from women/sisters all over to donate their works for the creation of some chapbooks to sell giving 100% proceeds to the school. If this is something you want to do I will help you. I represent one of your sisters in America/USA/ Athens, Georgia. population...123,371. #globalsisterhood

Hi
You definitely sound like a sister of mine. I wish I could do more. I am trying to make something of my crafting, I made my first wire wrapped gem pendants last week (a little rough). I have also been trying to move for the looooongest time. My health has hindered both of these.
My sbd and the steemit community support I received was used for my medical expenses. I am so grateful to this platform. Some people have asked me, Why do you trust that your money will go where you think it will?
Steemit trusted me, and I am not only grateful for the support, but I am so amazed by the trust.

I have little to lose and so much to gain by keeping a belief in people. I have been through a time when my most treasured memories were proven to be built on wickedness. When you find goodness through such misadventures it is something to be treasured.
I am mistaken for being naive or idealistic sometimes. I'm not. My eyes are wide open and I can't close them to things that are not OK.
Terry aka the steemit prophet known as @surpassinggoogle said, everyone has something to offer. I am almost completely housebound. Maybe this in itself presents an opportunity to be able to spend some time, online, finding purpose within my own frustration.
Terry isn't himself in the best of places regarding his health. But his perspectives born of hardships provide him with a truth only seen through adversity.
Wow, that was a ramblin'
This post features several mothers and shows the beautiful array of colours they wear.
https://steemit.com/education/@schoolforsdg4/monthly-mothers-meeting-at-school-for-sdg4-part-2
Thank you for joining the #globalsisterhood.

Great initiative. Thanks for sharing. Following, upvoted and resteemed. Have a nice day.

This is a great inititive,those mothers will be so happy, God bless your kind heart @girlbeforemirror.

@girlbeforemirror This is good initiative as many are in need, a book i read said that any of our belongings that we don't use for six months is of no use to us. we should extend helping hands to the needy and a lot of blessing comes from it. @theheralds

This post received a 10% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @clayboyn from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17