Thank you @quillfire. For replenishing hope.

in #life6 years ago

I have spent the last couple of days trying to formulate a literary response that justifies @quillfire's post from earlier in the week.

He told me he was including some of my writing in a curation post had been working on. I kept an eye out for it. We all enjoy a post recognition...

What I didn't anticipate was a post dedicated to entirely to me.

He knew I had been struggling a little personally with some health issues and he also knows I am a fledgling when it comes to writing. I can spin a word or two together when needed, but I am new to creative writing.

The sum of my creative writing can be found on this blockchain.


The last couple of years has been life altering, and has coincided with my time on steemit. Locked in this chain is a transition from a life lived, (I initially wrote, in relative balance, but that is not really true). It had all the appearances perhaps but it was on the decline. But it had social, professional, sporting and community aspects.

It has transitioned to one of relative isolation, but for the coming and going of my family, the too frequent doctors appointments and, well... Steemit.

That sounds like a sob story, and sometimes it straight up is.

But if not for the stripping away of everything that was not what it seemed, perhaps I would not be consciously holding on to my children and husband each day and beholding them as treasures with the sheer gratitude that I have.


I would not have spent the time I have engaged here meeting SO MANY AMAZING PEOPLE!

...and I would probably not have found my love of words.

I have always been a talker. But I wasted words for the sound of my voice. I never took the time to choose them and frequently flung them around with little thought.


Quillfire's post has put the pressure on to produce a master piece of poetic verse.

But I have resisted attempting a half baked, half edited, ego driven rhyme.

Instead I have reverted back to what he describes as -

fooling around with your knitting, painting, scrap-booking, doodling, free-writing and all the other artsy-fartsy stuff ...

I doodled a thank you quill.

PSX_20180923_154747.jpg

Thank you to everyone who sent kind words and encouragement. Everyone of them has helped me through a tough few weeks, and those who know me previously, those weeks turned into years very quickly. The longevity of a struggle can be hard without having good people around you.

I'm fortunate to have landed here.

IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

I will write a poem about the replenishment of hope... tomorrow...

Sort:  

@girlbeforemirror,

I would like to leave a pithy and poignant response about your beautiful artwork but ... the images are not downloading. Even I can't BS my way around that. Have no fear, this is just Steemit being lazy on the weekend. It happens during the weekdays too. I will check back frequently throughout the day. :-)

Quill

@girlbeforemirror,

OK, I finally have graphics.

Marg, it's beautiful. I absolutely love it. And ... that's EXACTLY what my pen looks like!

I'm going to copy-paste the image into an email and send it to my daughter. I've been recounting the story as it unfolds and she's hooked. If, one day, I forget to mention it, she'll ask, "So, what's the latest with Girlbeforemirror?"

As I mentioned to @tygertyger, I hope my "passing remark" (BTW, thanks for so conspicuously highlighting it) about "... knitting, painting, scrap-booking, doodling, free-writing and all the other artsy-fartsy stuff" doesn't set off a rebellion amongst knitters, painters, scrap-bookers, doodlers, free-writers and miscellaneous practitioners of the artsy-fartsy.

It would be a Hell of a way to go ... skilleted by crochet needles and lying in a puddle of paint. BTW, if there's a graffiti mural next to my corpse, my daughter knows who to tell the Mounties to question first @lymepoet.

Quill

Heheheh, thinking that I might have caught it on camera?

It's a crochet hook by the way, not a needle. Knitting needle, crochet hook. But I've always taken great pleasure in calling it a stick, it's amazing how much it bothers some crochet enthusiasts, which provides me with a devilish joy and reinforces my irreverent use of the term.
I call it a Stick thingy, knowing full well that it's a hook. Crochet rebel that's me.
I've almost finished this for my new nephew.
PSX_20180828_091717.jpg
It is in St George colours. I do not follow foosball, but I was raised on Rugby League, and my siblings are into it.
IMG_20180928_105647.jpg

YOu deserve posts dedicated to you <3 how is you <3https_%2F%2F68.media.tumblr.com%2Fbb95bfbbb20f1dae6fa26dd0daf38b56%2Ftumblr_o2up9qHTjX1sjn7hto1_500.png

@tygertyger,

I'm going to pay for having made fun of "all the other artsy-farsty stuff," aren't I? :-)

Quill

@girlbeforemirror You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

@verifyme,

I have NEVER used bidbots. I've written articles against using them. I came up with an entire system of reforms to fix Steemit ... including the banning of bidbots! I took a LOT of flack for all this.

UPVOTE ME TOO!!!

Have you seen the size of my wallet?

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72