Our big move. Colour Challenge Red. Introducing Princess Billie.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Using the #colorchallenge this week I am doing a pictorial rainbow of our move.

PSX_20190115_223251.jpg

I have spoken of my health and my family's commitment and support before, and have benefitted immensely from support here on steemit.

We made a big move a few weeks ago, just before Christmas.

The move was a huge challenge physically on my health and has inhibited how much I can do. Even typing and simple tasks are tough.

We have a bigger space which is excellent, but the small amount of extra walking, and stairs has proven very hard on my joints and connective tissue.

I was hoping to blog a whole lot about our "Tree change," and I will in time.

I think it will be great here.

I have decided to utilise a week of colour challenge to enable me to get started. All the photos I share in the spectrum of this week's colour challenge will be of our new home.

So here it is.

It is the height of summer.

Some days have been over 40 degrees Celsius and our westerly facing backyard is BURNING HOT 🔥

PSX_20190114_171840.jpg
My son @littleblue brought his little herb garden over. It is waiting for a cooler day.

I have also learnt the value of insulated housing. In the absence of that, a superstar handy husband to install blockout curtains when the afternoon sun hits our living room.

PSX_20190116_005754.jpg

That sun blazes the cushions, yoga mat and single mattress that configures our current lounge suite.

PSX_20190116_003000.jpg

We have a full spectrum of colour in our garden already. It's a little bit wild, but lovely nonetheless and filled with potential ...and broken clay pipes from tree roots that caused a spot of mischief with the sewerage, and insufficient storm water drainage, which explains the unusual choice in tiling in the hallway. But I am focusing on the positives... I have met 2 lovely plumbers.

PSX_20190114_172602.jpg

PSX_20190114_173406.jpg

PSX_20190114_173205.jpg
This umbrella is no match for the heat. Thank you @bluerinse, it is a lovely ornamental feature.

PSX_20190114_172858.jpg


Forgive me, I digress.

I did commence with an introduction.

This dear steemlandians is princess Whilhelmina.

PSX_20190115_223140.jpg

But we just call her Billie.

PSX_20190115_080013.jpg


PSX_20190116_005358.jpg


It was also our 18th wedding anniversary.
We observe it based on the traditional themes. 1st, paper, we made books.
2nd, cotton, cross-stitch
Etc.
We had a bit of drama when Stainless Steel was taken a little too literally and... Well let's just say, for the sake of preserving relations we have a blanket rule now.

No kitchen utensils!

We also decided for the same reason to choose a piece together each year to commemorate.

This year was a bit chaotic.
We ended up going to the local salvos (Salvation Army charity shop, or thrift for those who speak American), and chose gifts with the kids.

We love bargain hunting, and have found some cool shops. I am so excited, I think it's time to bring back # thrifty Thursday.

I think @azurejasper did well with this one.

PSX_20190114_173900.jpg

This year was porcelain.

Thanks for checking out my stuff.

Up voting is most welcome, but I know they are precious. I really love comments actually.

Leave a little howdydoodee if you can. Or are they tricky too now? I did read something about comment restriction. I don't tend to get involved too much in the politics of steemit, but it does leave me a little under informed.

Sending out good vibes. I can do that, even with my dodgy Wi-Fi on the blink blink brink.

IMG_20181205_094114.jpg

I couldn't sign off without sharing this beauty.

It gave my toddler scary dreams.

@bluerinse's handy work. She took this on a tour of the neighbourhood.

She is a menace.

IMG_20181124_183137.jpg

I've just discovered #dogsofsteemit, by supernovastaffy.
I'm excited to be a dog person.
https://steemit.com/dogsofsteemit/@supernovastaffy/episode-53-dogsofsteemit-challenge-extended-every-monday


Rainbow collaboration with @littleblue ❤💛💚💙💜💖🌈

PSX_20180116_145615.jpg

Yes I know red is late and I am behind the game before I start, but that is how I roll. I have to become OK with that. Otherwise I will never post. It took 2 days to complete a simple post, but I will spare you the uninteresting obstructive reasons and follow up with a beautiful orange sunset from my blazing hot balcony very soon. X

Sort:  

Hello Princess Whilhelmina, it is nice to meet you!
I am a little envious of you hot weather - I'm say here typing wearing 2 jumpers. Your Crocosmia looks wonderful in the garden - the red is very energizing, it will be many months before I get to see mine in flower.
Your anniversary gift looks lovely - the stainless steel issue made me laugh, i think NO kitchen utensils is a good rule :D

A howdeedoodee from the doodledoodlelaydee herself, I am honoured.
Ahh the stainless steel! It has proven to be a top quality dish rack. Has gone through the good and the bad and survived mostly unscathed, along with the rest of us.

Hello @girlbeforemirror!

Congratulations! Thanks for using the #dogsofsteemit hashtag! This post has been chosen as one of the winners for Episode 54 of the #dogsofsteemit challenge.

Can't wait to see more dog photos from you!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 123 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

@girlbeforemirror,

We had a bit of drama when Stainless Steel was taken a little too literally and... Well let's just say, for the sake of preserving relations we have a blanket rule now.
No kitchen utensils!

:-) Guys are more pragmatic, literal and result-oriented than are girls ... hence, a new spoon is not 'obviously' a 'bad idea' in the male mind given the restrictive parameter of 'stainless steel.' I think any man, irrespective of level of enlightenment, would struggle with 'what's a good stainless steel gift to get your wife?' When it comes to shopping, women simply have to lower their bars of expectation ... it's too much to ask that we compete on your level. :-)

As an aside, who the Hell came up with stainless steel as an appropriate anniversary gift? That was just begging for disaster.

BTW, Happy (belated) Anniversary.

They say a picture is worth a thousand words and, sure enough, that unicorn with a rainbow / STEEM logo coming out its butt speaks volumes ... a passive/aggressive metaphorical commentary on an economic/ideological reality. Perhaps I'm projecting ... but I don't care.

Notwithstanding the plumbing, it seems like a lovely home. And, you won't get much sympathy for living in the midst of a Garden of Eden. I'm surprised you haven't yet received photos from the snow-covered Northern Hemisphere with suggestions about what you can do with your 'it's too hot in my back yard' grievance. :-)

Quill

Todays bom Warning- Effing Hot.

Today BOM, Bureau of Meteorology's forecasts 47C in outback NSW as heatwave sparks ozone gas warning in Sydney's west.

The extreme heatwave is expected to become so unbearable this week, the director of Environmental Health Richard Broome urged people to stay indoors and minimise physical activity.

https://www.google.com/amp/amp.abc.net.au/article/10718504

risk of heat-related illness... conditions likes these can cause severe illness, hospital admission and even deaths.
https://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2019-01-15/heatwave-across-new-south-wales-to-topple-temperature-records/10714798?pfmredir=sm


Did make for a quiet afternoon.
Partied out.
IMG_20190117_224705.jpg

@old-guy-photos & @girlbeforemirror,

Ol' Guy, do me a favor ... post a picture of your back yard in a reply to this comment. The grass is always greener on the other side (of the equator). :-)

Quill

I can't walk too far yet, but weather permitting, this look out spot has dirt road car access. I shot a video from the Kia too. Lazy persons bush walk. I will have to figure out how to host moving pictures. 10 minutes drive from us.

As usual with my phone, it doesn't do it justice.

PSX_20190120_234437.jpg

PSX_20190120_233657.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59