Girl Before Window

in #life5 years ago

Living with a chronic condition paired with depression and anxiety is like living in a room with no door –

Only a window to see the outside world.

-Howl

IMG_20170311_202725.jpg



I haven't posted much lately.

It would apear that I have been absent from steemit. But the truth is I do check in everyday, and I think about posting ALL THE TIME!

I just haven't quite managed it lately., but I ruminate about it a lot.

I seldom link other people's work or words. If I son't have my own content I don't post.

Lately I have been working towards a few posts, but my situation presents difficulties that limit me immensely.

I came across a Mighty post today that very much speaks for me.

A blog from K L Howl

She wrote about the conditions I too have and how it can make you feel redundant, locked away or discarded.

This box is reserved for those of us who have quite literally hurt ourselves to help others, only to be tossed away like toy a child has outgrown.

-Howl
https://themighty.com/2017/04/isolation-ankylosing-spondylitis-ehlers-danlos-syndrome/

She also found community and compassion online when the "real world" discarded her.

Thank you steemit for extending my world beyond my window.

Steemit has allowed me to retain a dimention of self and maybe the possibility of growing into something new too. A continued that doesn't feel like charity. There is healing in being treated like a person of equal worth and being seen as someone.

Chronicity is deviance and redundancy in our culture. You become invisible or worse, an unpleasant malingerer.

Being seen again is not without it's vulnerability too, it requires a risk when you have become accustomed to being viewed a particular way.
I am grateful for this space.

Thanks so much.


If I have missed your recent work feel free to link it here for a little uppity click. My 2 cents worth so to speak.

IMG_20180215_045251.jpg

Sort:  

🙌

Fortress, warrior!
Blessings and a big hug, @girlbeforemirror!

@girlbeforemirror,

You become invisible or worse, an unpleasant malingerer.

Malingerer!?

You are amongst the strongest people I've ever met ... and I've met some strong ones. Honestly, I don't know how you manage to stay as sane as you do. If it were me, I'm 100% certain I would not have fared as well. You are a lioness caught in a cage and the constriction all the more galling given the length of your stride.

Marg, you're one of the most impressive and intriguing people I've met on Steemit ... and you are at the very core of "my tribe."

I will go have a look at that linked article.

BTW ... I'm all but finished your poem. I need a picture of you know who. Nothing goofy. Something noble looking. Hi resolution.


EDIT (Quote from that article):

I felt so alone when I realized that once you become sick, hurt or diagnosed you get put away in this box.

Ol' Quill will never put you away in a box. I know what you are ... and I will never stop prodding and poking you, even if you take out a restraining order against me. :-)

Quill

Dear friend @girlbeforemirror I hope that you are okay as of currently.
It is hard for me to walk now, the pain intensified a bit so I am trying vitamin D with vitamin K to help me bones absorb calcium and alleviate the pain. I am in a panic mode because of this and I hope that it would work.

Take care now.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I had depression and nervous breakdown from age of 23 to 32 yrs old. God healed me and now I am free. Remember God loves you and will help you too. I. will pray that Jesus bless you with healing.

If you start something let me know. I want to support you.

hey there! Hope you are doing well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54