Fruit and veg Monday with @lenasveganliving

in #life6 years ago (edited)

My idea of good food.

I am no foodie.

Previously working as an eating disorder nurse, I have always steered away from the idea of good food and bad food.

I know about the benefits of nutrition from a variety of sources. I think most people do.

I've also witnessed the devastation of isolating food groups, demonising food and creating rules around food intake and behaviours.

These are usually linked to emotions or grief, but the reinforcement of the ideas of dietary intake by the larger community can have terrible ramifications.

For this reason I haven't engaged in too many food related posts during my two years on steemit.

My motto

There is no good food or bad food, it's just food.

PSX_20180506_072824.jpg

Eat it, enjoy it, nurture your body.


During recent times when I have been quite sick I have slightly altered my view on good food.

When you are sick and struggling to cook because of pain and fatigue, or away from family for medical treatment, there is one type of food that I prize.

Food made lovingly by friends and neighbours.

... And in this case... Strangers.

My child goes to a day care that is run and by a church.

We are not members of the congregation in fact we are openly atheist.

This hasn't stopped them from becoming the most consistent supporters of my family during this protracted difficult time.

Last week my husband picked our child up after work and received this gift as well.

IMG_20180505_113436.jpg

Home made soups and baked fruit loafs and the fruit in the above picture as well.

It didn't say who made it, just Bless.

Yesterday my lovely neighbour Elli stopped by to simply give me this beautiful sour dough fruit loaf and a hug.

PSX_20180529_135313.jpg

Monday Fruit and Veg that definitely needed documenting.

Support and food for the body and soul.

You can check out Fruit and veg Monday here -
https://steemit.com/fruitsandveggiesmonday/@lenasveganliving/3tvqbl-steemit-fruits-and-veggies-monday-competition


IMG_20180215_045251.jpg

Sort:  

@girlbeforemirror You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

Hello friendly bot.
Thanks!
I have never used a bidbot or paid for an up vote. Thanks for the recognition .

I love apples too!

Much success!

I really enjoyed reading your post and I agree, food made with love is the best kind. I wish you all the best and I hope you feel better soon 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

However, there is lots of bad food out there that is not good for our bodies, the planet and most of all not for the innocent creatures who are kept in slavery and eventually killed. Meat, eggs and dairy are products of cruelty and they are really bad food!!!
1 Collage.jpg

Hi @girlbeforemirror amazing post
I appreciate your blog.... best of luck
I am resteemit your post my dear friend

Your blog content is very helpful for all people specially for health consciousness people...Thanks for another good selecting content @girlbeforemirror

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33