You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dragonwood: A family friendly game that's great for children (100 or so more followers to 10,000!!!!)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I know as a kid I would’ve liked this game. I grew up with board games and puzzles and junk. Today kids grow up playing violent video games, but its good to see games like this are still enjoyed by some

Sort:  

I love games today even from my childhood

The above games are very good I would love to play them every day

But... It doesn't have to be like that, black & white only view... I mean, video games can be educational and all... Age of Empires... most RTS games are also a big nice brain workout at the same time... I don't mean to say I dislike board games, in fact these are my favorite kind, alongside Risk and Monopoly...

True. It’s just i feel looking a screen so much isn’t good for child brain development. Of course i say this while using the computer lol
But age of empires was one of my favorite games a little while back. It’s a good strategy game. I just feel puzzles and board games help to actually stimulate brain activity and real human contact and social interactions with kids. But there definitely can be a balance of both

Well, I'd say some social interactions I have online are definitely better than some I have in real life. xD I mean, there is people around me with whom I don't even speak, while online I can chat with a lot of people, like you, an Argentinian friend on Discord, or my best friend who moved to Texas so we get together to play Age of Mythology from time to time... The Extended Edition kind of sucks, but we found a way to play without GameRanger, and it feels great. xD

I mean, I understand what you say, maybe the screen per se is not that good for a child's brain, but that happens whether he is playing video games or just using a modern cell phone, or even watching TV... And of the 3, I definitely would prefer him playing PC games.

On a different note, I too loved the Age series, and have recently found I totally LOVE Age3; just went through the 3 chapters of all 3 campaigns, and regularly play it on GameRanger... AoM as I said has never really been off my brain, and I found a way to play Age of Empires Online, even though Microsoft and Ensemble Studios (or was it Robot Entertainment?) ditched it... There is a well & healthy community growing around this, it's called Project Celeste (formerly Project Penelope, I think...)

Ill check it out for sure. But yes. You’re right. There are some better conversations on the internet or through games than in person. Sometimes its easier to talk to people online and i certainly understand that

Well, maybe systems are more focused on conversation... For instance, I type here and you read there in an instant. :)

I speak through a mic and 3 other friends hear me in Colombia, Texas and Spain (happening right now), so a conversation can happen quite fast around AOM or any other video game...

But yes, of course a real life conversation is important, and a flesh and bone person in front of you is required to develop much needed abilities...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67