The Hands Tick on the Flu ClocksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

I have an estimated twelve hours left before f-day arrives. Estimated, because maybe my body is going to really show out—maybe I will get a little more time. Or maybe—whispers some small voice of hope—I have some level of immunity. Maybe.

Mothers like me, we always go down. Flu-day takes us, because no one else gets a cough directly to the face, and no one else invites a virus into their bed. So mothers like me rest here with the light off, watching the hands on the flu clock slowly tick. Yep, twelve hours.

The flushed, feverish skin of the boy’s face is to my right. The steady nasal snot-snorting sound of the tot to my left. The uncomfortable boy had wanted me close as he drifted off to sleep, and sleep had come quickly. I am free to take my leave, but I can’t decide what I ought to do with my remaining twelve hours of good health.

20190915_021042.jpg

“What’s that?” The tot just grabbed my face and angled it toward her. Her wide blue eyes were as alert as ever as they blinked in time with her snot-snorting rhythm.

“It’s your papa in the kitchen. Go to sleep,” I whispered. I turned my face away once more in a clear body language message of go to sleep.

I considered my options:

I could get up and clean the bathrooms in preparation for f-day tomorrow. No sick person wants to look at their chores they don’t have the energy to do. No, that’s lame. Why would I want to spend my remaining twelve hours of feverless time inside a toilet?

If only the French bakery was open. I definitely want to spend my last twelve hours of good health with an almond cream croissant, and possibly one or two other very worthy pastries. That almond cream croissant can always be heard crying out from behind the glass case. “You—yes, you. Take me. You know you want to. In your mouth. That’s right, lick the cream off. Oh yes, just like that…” That sort of tongue pleasure is definitely how I should be spending the last twelve hours.

“Mama, what was that?” The tot jerked my face back in her direction again.

“It’s my stomach growling. Go to sleep.” I turned my face away again, because eye contact is the one sure way to keep a toddler awake for the amount of time it takes to satisfy multiple almond cream croissants.

Maybe I should do something I never have time to do anymore. Like paint. I could slap together the beginnings of a painting, so that when I have a fever I can be impressed with my personal accomplishments. Who knows, the fever might even inspire how I want to finish the painting off. I can call it something like In Anticipation of F-Day. That sounds very obscure, and painterly.

“Mama, what was that?” Again, the old face jerk.

“The sound of sleep,” I whispered, leaving my face before her as I closed my eyes in demonstration.

Demonstration never stays demonstration. Rookie mistake.

Now I’m down to nine hours, it’s the middle of the night, and I’m still undecided. I think I will just rest here while listening to the breathing of the two best things I have ever made, let Big Dog get in a few face slurps, and write a useless post about it.

And the rain is falling hard against the roof. This might just be perfect, if only I had that almond cream croissant.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

“You—yes, you. Take me. You know you want to. In your mouth. That’s right, lick the cream off. Oh yes, just like that…” That sort of tongue pleasure is definitely how I should be spending the last twelve hours.

Congratulations - You just hit 12%. 😊😊

So, There's a place here called the Adelaide Central Market which is a fresh-produce market of the most legit kind. There's a French patisserie stall in there with the most amazing custard-filled almond croissants. I can't recall how many I had when I was serving on a murder jury late last year in the nearby court district, although I murdered many of those tasty pastry treats!

I hope you're not sick, and if you are well, you'll probably wish you did your chores earlier. Hopefully the flu doesn't stick around. I'm glad you decided to write a useless post...When you feel better go get that croissant.

Lol. I think that was 13 percent, to be precise. One percent over the standard - that's what happens when I write in the wee hours. That inappropriateness filter starts to break down.

That place sounds like heaven. I have been working one day a week outside of my at-home job and probably too much of that money has been eaten up at bakeries. I told my husband I would blow my extra spending money at fall festivals with the kids. He was thinking festival games. I was thinking festival food. Lol.

I made it safely into today. But the tot is starting to get warm.

Yep, let's call it 13%.

I like how you go out to work, slave away, then spend it on pastries. Legit use of those funds for sure. 😉

Glad you managed to make it through flu-day...Well done!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh no. F-day is awful, especially when you can see it coming for miles and can't get out of the way. And kids always bounce back from it so much faster, so by the time you're down they are jumping on your bed wanting you to get up and feed them already. I hope it's mercifully brief, or that it has mercy on you and passes you by entirely.

That's exactly it, one by one the kids will get sick, and then when it is my turn they will be ready to party. Knock on wood, so far so good for me. We shall see...

I really hope you stay well. This brings back memories of a camping trip where we all caught a 12-hour flu except my pregnant mom who decided to sleep in the car. Dad was left to handle us in the tent and he had it too. We were all okay when we went to sleep that night and then it was vomiting (projectile) every hour. Yuck!

Oh that's terrible. I think any parent with more than one kid has faced this nightmare at some point, but while camping - that's extra specially horrible :)

Almond Cream Crossiant.... mmmmMMMMmmmmm that sounds delightful !

Oh my ! the F_.... so early. It was fun how you wrote this thinking on how to spend your precious few hours before being sick. Too Cute !

"That sounds very obscure, and painterly." THAT made me laugh... but yes.....

I rarely ever name my silly art because I don't want to limit what someone else sees in them Well... that is because they usually aren't something specific since they are abstract..... but a few times one or two named themselves.

Sick art.... yes.... that just might have worked out. LOL

It is really early this year. I suppose that could be good, get it done, and hopefully have no more the rest of the season.

I don't like naming things either. I can never encapsulate the thought in one simple sentence. Therefore my posts always have weird nonsensical names.

You should give sick art a go. Who knows what will happen :)

Make vitamin C your best friend while on the F-day! Get well soon!

Thanks. I am taking Vitamin C and elderberry. Not sure if it is helping, but elderberry is delicious so no complaints :)

Ha..oh no, did you come down with it? hey "an almond cream croissant" sounds like a dream come true!

Some how the tot and I escaped the flu...so far.

yay! so your prediction was totally wrong this time, thank goodness! Maybe your immune system is getting stronger from all this?

I don't know. I'm suspicious about it all. I feel like I need to find some wood to knock on.

Yes, you've learned from experience the strength of the virus! I suppose taking supplements to boost your immune system is fruitless?

I do, elderberry and vitamin c. Maybe it helped. Who knows.

Oh that helps for sure. You just need to add D3, the gel caps in 5000 IU and take them several times a day. I know you get enough sun but it still boosts your immune system. Plus they're dirt cheap. lol.

Yes D3 - forgot that one. I do take it, but I am very forgetful. Need to do so more regularly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99