Freaks. We are all freaks.

in #life6 years ago

“No turtles!” A woman screamed at the top of her lungs in a deep, gravelly, caustic voice. Her approximately eighteen-month-old daughter toddled away from the exit of the playground back over to the slide. Visions of the turtles in the nearby pond were glistening in her hopeful eyes.

Her mother, the one with the deep, gravelly, caustic voice, was a large woman. She looked a bit like what people from other countries must think Americans look like if they’ve based their ideas on redneck memes circulating the internet. She was the redneck meme spokeswoman. And so began my introduction to the park this afternoon.

IMG_20190122_215755.jpg

Ah, the park. In particular, this park is always an adventure, for adults and children alike. Children see castles and jungles and mazes in the two-story playground equipment. Adults see one intriguing character study after the next, just waiting to be picked apart.

I sat on the astro turf, me and Old Man Dog, basking in the warm afternoon sun. We were over next to the swings, out of the way. It didn’t matter, the meme spokeswoman immediately captured me with her voice from across the playground as soon as I sat down.

“How sweet,” she called out, “Your kids are taking turns on the slide. Mine will just shove each other out of the way.” I nodded politely, not really sure what to say to that. Her voice seemed to bounce off the metal equipment, booming against anything in its path. I eyed her physique with intrigue. The waste line of her pants cut into an oddly spherical midsection, dividing it in half like an equator. The northern hemisphere looked to be on the verge of spilling over, but the southern hemisphere was equally uncomfortable.

IMG_20190122_215856 (1).jpg

"Look at this stick hit the water!"

A third party joined us. She was a meek looking one. The poor thing, I could see it happening before it happened. She clearly was inexperienced on the playground—her son looked to be only about two—she was naïve yet. She left herself wide open sitting within ten feet of the meme spokeswoman. She stood there in her skinny jeans and a comfortable sweatshirt, perfectly normal, perfectly mild, perfectly available to be the listening end of a one-sided conversation.

“Watch out for that boy!” The normal woman called out to her son, who was edging close to another boy on the slide.

“Oh don’t worry about him, you can be mean to that one,” the spokeswoman said of her own son with a chuckle. And so it began. The poor normal woman, held hostage by a conversation full of distastefulness.

Then came a grandma with two frilly poodles. They yapped at Old Man Dog, who looked on at them like the perfect family man. He puts on a good show at the park. He doesn’t let anybody see what he does when the mailman comes…

“They just like to bark to say hello,” the grandma said in a heavy northeastern accent. I tried not to cringe. Each word rolled off abrasively like sandpaper against the smooth words of the south. I nodded politely at the rabid poodles. A thin man followed her and they settled down at a bench. The man took the reins to the poodles and she began a thorough explanation of her rheumatoid arthritis symptoms, berating a few doctors, and making good use of her free hands by gesture.

IMG_20190122_215907.jpg

I looked.

Then came a man. He walked ahead of his two children like a fearless leader. He had a football in his hands, held firm, like it was too precious to trust with either of the children following behind him with erect posture. I’d met this weirdo before. He berated his daughter for touching my dog, although she had my permission. Dog touching apparently was some sort of breach in the moral code. He walked on, leading them across the playground, but before long he led them away again. Perhaps something did not meet his approval.

I wonder what they all thought of me: the woman sitting over in the corner with her bag of homeschool supplies, letting her dog lap water out of her cupped hand, secretly or not so secretly watching all the bystanders in silence.

Freaks. We are all freaks.

Forty-five minutes later normal woman’s son peed his pants, and like that, she was set free.

Sort:  

What a day! I love your description of redneck meme spokeswoman and unfortunately this is kind of what I believe Americans looks like so you gave a good picture :D (just kidding)

When I happen to be around such 'freaks' I also wonder what they might think about me. BUT I have realized that most of people ignore others and don't pay the slightest attention to what is happening around them..

Great post again! Your writing is so unconventional.. :)

I agree, I think most people don't notice me noticing them. And I'm glad. I feel like my surroundings, whether animate or inanimate, are always just sitting there, waiting for me to tackle them.

Thanks for stopping by again.

I really felt I was in your park sitting beside you ginnyannette. Loved your writing.

If only you had been, then we both could have watched the characters and compared notes :)

Would have loved to be sitting beside you admiring all the different characters, what fun.

Oh what a boring world it would be if we were all the same. People watching is fun from a short distance.

If we were all the same we'd have so many friends we couldn't go anywhere without finding them. That would get old I think. I love a good bit of people watching too.

Hi ginnyannette,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Ahh people watching. The joys . There are so many weirdys about the place .

Posted using Partiko iOS

I suppose everywhere has the park with the weirdos. It's one of my favorites. There is a park for every mood: the peaceful alone park, the stressful your-kids-will-probably-get-lost-here park, the guaranteed-to-meet-friends park, and the freak park.

Your story reminds me off a Dutch song by Acda en de Munnik. Singer sitting at a cafe and watching others while he creates a song about everything he notices at other people. Really like that song just as your story ;)

That song writer and I must be kindred souls. :)

Thanks for stopping by.

Don't think you would understand anything their singing in the song, but this is the song I was talking about:

Interesting. Thank you :)

Maybe if you get to know each other through a nice discussion about a common issues like new facilities for "moms" at the park, it's not freak anymore😉 just people who still teach the children "don't talk to stranger" 😊

Nice park you have there @ginnyannette 😉 old man dog like an elder bro to your children😉

Some people just don't mesh no matter the circumstances, but at least we can watch each other peacefully and write blogs about it.

Old Man Dog is a bit like an older brother and a helpful babysitter :)

Ahahahah It was a fun day!

A park on a sunny day is absolutely fun, whether or not there are some good strangers to watch :)

but the strangers makes the whole thing funnier... specially when you're not the one having to deal with the blah blah of the crazy ladies!

That poor normal woman...

As I always say, every head is a world. You have a very interesting way of writing. the photographs are beautiful. thanks for sharing

Very true. Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94