Enthusiastically Entering the Nasal Passages of Unsuspecting Victims

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I was jarred awake at 5 AM by a terrible sound: ninety’s dance music.

It was blasting from my husband’s alarm clock. For mysterious reasons he prefers to wake up to music that is the opposite of what he would normally listen to. It is a good thought process I suppose, as you are more likely to get up and turn off what you don’t like. But, it doesn’t work. He lets the damn thing play for twenty minutes, seeding my half-alert mind with crap that lingers the rest of the day.

IMG_20190124_212809.jpg

Random unrelated sunset picture #1 from my drive home yesterday.

Even worse, at 5AM the tot awoke to the noise as well. No tot should be contemplating “What is love?” at 5AM. No tot should be contemplating anything at 5AM. But still, the music kept on. What is love? Baby don’t hurt me, don’t hurt me, no more…

It had been a rough night. The pine trees are blooming, dropping delicate yellow powder down onto all possible surfaces, and enthusiastically entering the nasal passages of unsuspecting victims. I sat on a swing underneath the offenders yesterday afternoon, gazing up at the three-story tall trunks, their green needles glistening in the sun. I had a feeling they were up to no good. What is pollen? Baby don’t hurt me, don’t hurt me, no more… Damn that radio.

For unknown reasons my brain likes to treat any head congestion present at night as something much worse. Excess mucus?! The brain says. Clearly we have a case of the flu! Begin chills! I didn’t have a fever, but I walked around the house with a massive case of the chills anyway, teeth chattering. “Must…get…under…covers…to…maintain…homeostasis…” This fortunately was before that nineties song was seeded into my head. Prior to 5AM it was just me, the pollen, the mucus…and the tot.

IMG_20190124_212734.jpg

Random Sunset Picture #2

So, it was a rough night. The tot woke up four times, because the pollen had infiltrated her too. Those sneaky little yellow particles. She was tossing and turning and complaining and fussing and I had to trot across the house each time, semi cognizant, shivering from the chills, stumbling in the dark, sitting at her bedside with a head feeling something like a balloon, waiting for her to settle again. Round four, and I threw in the towel. To bed she went with me. What is love? This.

We got settled into bed. I was once again beneath the covers that were preserving me from hypothermia. The tot was warm as a heater and snugly as a teddy bear, so we were drifting off to sleep, just me, the pollen, the mucus, the tot, and then…the song.

What is love? Baby don’t hurt me, don’t hurt me, no more…

For God’s sake.

Now it is 2PM, and I am sitting here typing this, just me, the pollen, the mucus, and that damn song.

Sort:  

Last house we were in we had a massive pine tree on our front lawn and clouds of green mist that we discovered were pollen. Did you know trees are male and female? I didn't and I studied Botany at university...It only lasts for a while though, but more annoying was the pine we had in the house previous to this one that dropped pine cones everywhere - they, of course, had to be picked up. But they were beautiful, as were the green clouds of mist. Now,, we have a very demure Christmas tree in our backyard that gleams with lights in December and shelters birds through the winter. It's very well-behaved and I have to say I can't help loving it :)

It seems like I've heard that about male and female trees before, but I had long since forgotten it. I will have to look into it. I get the feeling mine at their prime fertility :)

My husband hates the cones, but I love them. Free fall/winter decor. Great craft base for children's projects. Excellent kindling. The uses are endless. I say this, but I'm generally not the one to pick them up.

There's a nice children's book about an eccentric looking fir tree that protects various animals through the winter. Yours sounds very nice.

That would be terrible ! I detest being jolted awake, so I wake up to classical music which is almost safe. I then immediately hit "snooze" so it goes back off for 10 minutes...... twice...... and then only leave it on when I get up.

That's a nice idea, wake up to the music and keep it going while you brush your teeth, etc. Sounds like it sets a nice mood for the day.

There are some songs that just do not go away, song that are not liked but have this catchy words and tune. I hope it does not play in my head all day.

I wish you the best of luck at keeping that song out of your head. Even the rhythm of the blasted thing bounces around in the mind.

I know exactly how you feel. During a stressful period at work, I woke up to Twisted Sister one morning. My heart leapt into my throat and that was the last time I woke to music.

That really made me LOL.

I really do think alarms are best kept alarming in the old fashioned way - a nice, obnoxious buzzing.

NO ONE should be contemplating anything at 5AM, especially with that song!! Also, pollen have infiltrated in me too :|.... the mucus party is real!

Do you still have a voice? Mine went through first cracking, then strained, and now I am at the whisper stage. Spring has sprung so very early...

I'm starting to recover my voice, spent 5 days with 0 voice.... my throat still screwed but at least people can somehow hear what I say now 😅

Only goes up from here :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Oh jeebus now that is stuck in my head. Baby don't hurt me. That is seriously a dangerously catchy song LOL you infected me

Oh no! Quick, before it is too deeply buried, turn on the radio and catch something else! Wait, maybe that isn't helpful... :)

Hello @ginnyannette, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

hahaha! is this supposed to be a funny one? l hope so because it sure struck me as such but then again I don't think it's nice to be laughing at someone's misery! lol. Was it the allergy that was giving you chills?

I never tag anything as humor, because I pretty much treat everything as humor and I like to think it is implied :)

Yeah, any significant amount of head congestion gives me chills, including allergies. Annoying.

I see...and how often do you get that congestion, once a year or when different plants pollinate? Does your husband read your posts?

As far as I know he only reads my posts when I specifically mention for him to. But he does have an account here, so who knows, maybe he will respond :)

howdy ginnyannette! wow he's a steemian too? dang, I had no idea. Most couples are both on here though. Mrs. J wants nothing to do with steemit lol. Is your husband dedicated and consistent like you are?

No, he's never on. He's barely used his account. I wonder if Mrs. J sees the time you devote here kind of like a mistress. There he goes again, spending time with her...sigh ;)

howdy tonight ginnyannette! well Mrs. J doesn't look at Steemit quite that kindly. lol. She is sharpening her axe as we speak so if I retire from here or become very part time you'll know why! I mean this is great for people who don't need an income but that's not really us. ha!

Yeah I've cut back lately, just lost interest. Mrs. J and I are on the same page :)

So anyway... What is love? (LOL)

Apparently it is a thing that gets stuck in your head and rarely ever leaves, so both real love and the What is Love song have something in common...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80