Birth and the Painful Fractions, or whatever you'd prefer to call themsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Large, over-sized green eyes are staring at me from across the room. They don’t blink. They just stare on looking attractive with those long lashes, but intense. Maybe the pony belonging to the green eyes is trying to say it is unhappy about its missing tail.

Pin the tail on the pony will be happening in about sixteen hours. A three-year-old birthday party is a special thing. I just finished painting ten yellow tails. I wonder how pony will feel once she has all ten stuck all over her. Talk about extremes.

IMG_20180313_235421.jpg

Tonight is a special night to sit idle with the pony, because I know exactly where I was three years ago. And I know exactly what I was doing. Around my house and my yard I was wondering, with a belly ready to burst. Erratic contractions were taking their time at stabilizing. I was living in a fog of hormones—emotions and fears. Drastic change was on the horizon, and that is hard to cope with. I would have been a wreck, but then my people showed up.

First, my mother arrived, having driven like a mad woman 70 miles to appear at my door with a car load of groceries, plans for a week’s worth of meals, and psychological comfort that no one other than a mother can provide.

There is a comfort in being with women that have all been through it before—my mother three times; my midwife six. When in the company of such women there is a ceremony to birth—a rite of passage—rather than a burden. In moments of worry I thought back to my origins. Grandmother Elizabeth gave birth within her small farmhouse in the middle of nowhere seven times. Great Grandmother Rosa gave birth as the dirt poor immigrant of a foreign city fourteen times.

And so, on this night three years ago, the ceremony began. The midwives were settled in one corner of my bedroom, speaking in hushed tones so as not to disrupt me, while I sat on my bedroom floor. Some of us have an instinct to be on the ground in times of pain, and so there I sat. Hours fluttered by while I sat on the floor with no desire to speak—it would have been a waste of energy.

IMG_20180623_233609.jpg

“Just before dawn it was time,” I told my almost three-year-old this evening at bedtime. The house was quiet and dim. The bath water was warm around me, and the smiling face of my excited midwife was there before me. “There were lots of contractions, and the contractions pushed you out of me, and you were born in the tub in my bathroom,” I told her.

She had listened intently throughout, but at the end of the story she stared at me with wide blue eyes. Her little face looked so serene, similar to how I had first seen her. Then she spoke in her garbled up toddler voice, and she suddenly looked concerned.

“I don’t want to do the fractions. Let’s not do that again,” she said.

“No, baby,” I leaned in to kiss her as I laughed. “I don’t want to do the fractions again either.”

20190302_225745.jpg

Birth is a sort of painful magic. A birthday is a sort of snag in time, when reminiscing on the painful magic is easy to do. I’m very glad to be sitting on the couch here tonight, looking at the big green eyes of a paper pony.

Just me and the pony, and none of those painful contractions, or fractions, or whatever you’d prefer to call them.

Sort:  

Happy birthday to your Daughter, and Happy Mother's Day to you. Thanks for writing about your birth, really well done, has me in tears here...what a blessing...

Thank you! Birthday/mother days are always times for reflection, and this blog is such a good outlet for that. Thank you for reading.

Congratulations @ginnyannette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

I wasn't such a big fan of the fractions either, but the result is so worth it! Happy birthday to the tot!

Very true. Thank you!

Fraction seems to be an appropriate term... basically you gave birth to a fraction of you.... hehe

That's a great interpretation. She is an even 1/2 me and 1/2 her father in personality.

Thank you for posting this weekend! You have been featured in our Steemitmamas Sunday Shares. It is awesome to have you as part of our Steemitmamas community and an active contributor of great content!

Your post has been resteemed and upvoted! You are also entered into the draw to win 1 SBI for a lifetime of votes.
20180516_002249_0001.png

@ginnyannette thank you for sharing a beautiful birth story. It so wonderful how many manage to have home births. Mine were both at the hospital. I guess that is just normal practice in Malaysia. I am expecting my 3rd one this year. Happy birthday to your little green eyed pony!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm in the US, and home birth isn't too popular here either. I think it is 1 percent of births. It is a wonderful experience though, for women that are considered low-risk.

I wish you lots of luck and happiness with your next baby!

That was beautiful.

Thank you. The fun part of writing something when you are sleepy (which is basically the only time I ever have to write), is the confusion as to how it will look in the morning :)

wow, so beautifully described!
My mother was with me at the birth of my son too :) <3

It is a special thing to have an older generation witness the arrival of a new one. I'm so glad my mom was there, and I imagine you were too.

Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51