You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello?

in #life4 years ago

I haven't been there yet. Not sure what I am going to do, because I don't want to spend any time thinking about it for now.

I'm in exactly the same boat Jacey. I have enough on my plate right now without having to work out what to do about the Steem/hive stuff. I just don't have the energy for it. Good to hear you're still making art. 💙

Sort:  

Hi Gillian !

Thanks for stopping over and leaving a comment for me !

It IS too much.. isn't it ? I haven't produced enough art for a while, but it is building up in me and I fell a lot will be coming out of me before too long.

I have a bunch of unfinished art in my backroom, some finished art too, but it is so cluttery in there I can't really tell what all I have anymore. LOL !! Silly.... right ? Anyway, a few weeks ago I was looking for a photo of something else and came across a photo on one I had never finished. It was kind of fun looking, but at that moment, I thought it was one I didn't finish and painted over and I was sorry for a moment I had done that. When the day came I needed to clear a corner for my incoming work desk, I was moving things around and.... happily I found that I had indeed NOT painted over it, so I brought it out to my living room where I can see it and ponder on what else I might do to it to finish it. It is about a 22 x 28... so not a small thing. I know it needs something else.... or I think it does, but I am also afraid to touch it....in fear I could send it off in a bad direction. Anyway, it's making me happy to see it out here. Time will tell what happens to it.
cropped 2.jpg

I remember a conversation I once had with a local artist, Jessica Zoob. She has sinced become pretty successful. Some of her paintings take 7 years. She adds layers and layers and then sands back. But she pours paint over really beautiful bits and I remember asking her once - " how can you bear to do that"?

She said "you have to be willing to lose it all".

I've never forgotten that and it often gives me courage when I get a bit precious about a painting. 😍

Although I totally admire the attitude, it seems that it could be one of those things that is easier said than done for many. Definitely have to be brave and then quickly accepting when you realize you took a vastly wrong turn in the poor over. I suppose in being totally realistic, once you DO go over, there is no going back, so you might as well not stay and dwell on it... .but go forward. Makes sense, but much of art is emotionally based, so it is not always so easy.

At the time I started the one I showed, it was a paint over of another one whose direction I wasn't happy with..... so swish, swish, over the top came a new beginning. Some are obviously wrong and are easy to let go.... others, take some pondering time.

I nearly never have a vision of a finished piece when I start one, so most of them sway, wind and turn in various directions before ending. I thought I KNEW this one wasn't done, but I liked the start at the time and now it has been quite a bit of time so there is no continuance of feel. Time to get a new feel... right ? LOL

I know there is no rule or time or anything that tells an art creator when something is done, it is more a feel or simply a personal decision.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98