Paying it forward - It is the right thing to do!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

                              

Image source

Who of you have seen the movie "Pay it forward"?  


If you haven't seen it, then it is an absolute must see! It is a wonderful story about a teacher who hands out an assignment to his students to change the world for the better, and they have to put their plan in action. The story unfolds when a young boy comes up with the plan for paying forward favors. His plan consisted of the following:

1. A person would do a favor for someone else without expecting anything in return.    

2. Then the person who received the favor, would do a favor for someone else. 

This causes a chain reaction of good deeds that in reality never stops, until someone stops paying it forward of course. 

How many people have you helped in your lifetime?


We are all so engaged in our own lives that we hardly see things around us anymore. The world has taken a turn for the worse and things that should NOT be acceptable has now become reality. There are people living on streets, old people in old age homes that are lost and forgotten...children that go hungry every single day of their lives. There are kids that are so lost to the world that nothing is going to bring them back to reality.  

Most of us see these things, but what do you actually do to help people out of these horrible conditions? I know that it is quite impossible to help everyone, but what if we started our own trend of paying it forward. Just in a different way. Instead of doing a favor for someone and asking them to pay it forward, we could each go out and do one small thing for someone.  

Let me ask you this:  

Have you ever paid for someone else's groceries while you stood in the line waiting to pay?

Have you donated money to charity?

Have you donated your old clothes to a charity shop?

Have you visited and old age home recently?


                               

Image source

I can make a long list here of questions that you might not be able to answer.  It is our duty as humans to help our fellow human beings and animals. Life is screwed up. Things change in a second, and you never know where you are going to end up. 

                                               

What if you land in a situation where you needed help?  Would you want someone to help you? 

If you had the opportunity to help someone now, what would you do?

Sort:  

Yes, that's it.

Many different situations, lifestyles, society​ status​ make us blind to see the need around us. I like what you are saying how you try to challenge us.

We need to see more the people​ around​ us to train our eyes​ to actually see it.

To be selfless, without expecting something​ in return.

Yes indeed, i agree, great positive post.

Watch this. Arabic kid changing a tyre. And refusing a reward! Also, he was cheerful throughout. THAT's paying it forward!

Positif post.
good thing you do, it will double that you get.

Absolutely, Blessings @giantbear...
Thank you for sharing. Looking forward to watch the movie.

If we paid more attention to the needs of others we wouldn't be so focused on our own problems.

That is the absolute truth!!! Thank you!

Pay it forward was one of the best "life lesson" movies I have seen. Even the smallest act, like a smile, can change someones day.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Oct 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $17.27 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 05 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Does paying it forward work, you wonder. If I do this will I get anything back or will I be hosed you wonder. paying it forward is something one should not really need to think about. At some point in your life you are going to be where you can be a help, or you can ignore the situation. It is your choice.

Does paying it forward work? Yes.
About 16 years ago I was in the Electric Company to pay my bill. There was a young woman in front of me at the counter with a baby in her arms crying and pleading for them to not cut off her electricity. They did not care they were going to shut her off.
As I approached to pay my bill after she had left in tears, I asked if I could settle up her account for her. To my surprise they said no. She had to come in and pay it herself. I asked how much she owed. I was surprised that they actually told me. I paid my bill via a check.

I went out doors and saw her in an old rusty truck from the early 60's crying in the passenger seat. I walked up looked inside saw a very old man, (her father) at the drivers wheel.. I tapped on the window, and she rolled it down. I told her I overheard her problem at the pay window and wanted to help her out. I handed her an envelope with $600.00 in it. I told her take care of her electric then take her dad out for dinner, then use whatever was left however she saw fit. Then i went to my car and drove home instead of buying that new stereo I wanted, and did not think of it again.

If I do this will I get anything back or will I be hosed you wonder. If you need to think about a reward, then you are doing nothing, and nothing will come back.

If you scroll back you will see a short post I did about someone helping my wife and myself out over the winter while I was in the hospital for surgery, and helping while I recovered. Did I think about helping that young mother out? No I just did it because I could make at least one persons day a little bit better on that day.

Good for you on doing a good deed! You shall be blessed!

Lovely post, this has been my life-long mission, trying to make the world a better place. So rewarding when you empower others who are less fortunate and see them blossom :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67144.34
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69