You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Paying it forward - It is the right thing to do!

in #life7 years ago

Does paying it forward work, you wonder. If I do this will I get anything back or will I be hosed you wonder. paying it forward is something one should not really need to think about. At some point in your life you are going to be where you can be a help, or you can ignore the situation. It is your choice.

Does paying it forward work? Yes.
About 16 years ago I was in the Electric Company to pay my bill. There was a young woman in front of me at the counter with a baby in her arms crying and pleading for them to not cut off her electricity. They did not care they were going to shut her off.
As I approached to pay my bill after she had left in tears, I asked if I could settle up her account for her. To my surprise they said no. She had to come in and pay it herself. I asked how much she owed. I was surprised that they actually told me. I paid my bill via a check.

I went out doors and saw her in an old rusty truck from the early 60's crying in the passenger seat. I walked up looked inside saw a very old man, (her father) at the drivers wheel.. I tapped on the window, and she rolled it down. I told her I overheard her problem at the pay window and wanted to help her out. I handed her an envelope with $600.00 in it. I told her take care of her electric then take her dad out for dinner, then use whatever was left however she saw fit. Then i went to my car and drove home instead of buying that new stereo I wanted, and did not think of it again.

If I do this will I get anything back or will I be hosed you wonder. If you need to think about a reward, then you are doing nothing, and nothing will come back.

If you scroll back you will see a short post I did about someone helping my wife and myself out over the winter while I was in the hospital for surgery, and helping while I recovered. Did I think about helping that young mother out? No I just did it because I could make at least one persons day a little bit better on that day.

Sort:  

Good for you on doing a good deed! You shall be blessed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.62
ETH 2642.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59