Obsessism - Are you also obsessed with certain things?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I have always been somewhat obsessive about certain things in life.  There are only a certain number of ways something should be done, and if it doesn't happen that way I usually get upset.  I might not be the easiest person to live with, but if everyone just stick to the rules, then it is fairly peaceful to live with me.  I am quite obsessive about other people using my "stuff" and my family members know this.  My kids know NOT to touch my computer, my tablet, or my phone.  

I know that it's only worldly stuff, and all is replaceable, but God forbid something happens to any of it. I know that I will not take anything with me if I die, but my stuff is my stuff....I have worked very hard and I think that I have earned the right to be possessive over certain things.  My earphones is an absolute no-go zone, as I am totally obsessed with earphones.  

                                   

Image credit

When I was younger I was not so obsessed about things, and life was easier.  Things however changed and I have become more possessive over time.  I have never been very good at sharing, and I have tried being more lenient but that caused me just to lose a lot of things. People have the tendency to borrow things, and then they have the tendency NOT to give it back.  I am absolutely obsessive about lending out books .......

I love books.  Since I was a young child, I have always loved reading, and I have forever loved books.  I have also lost many a book because when someone borrows a book, they have the tendency to claim it as their own.  So eventually I just stopped lending out things altogether.  I have boxes full of books and could possibly stock half a library.  If you however want to borrow these books, I suggest that you go to a real library to go and "borrow" from them...you will surely be more successful over there.  

I am also obsessed about cleaning.  When I was young I used to share a flat with my brother.  I love my brother with all my heart, and I will do anything for him, and I am sure he would do the same for me...however...I NEVER EVER in my whole life want to live with him again.  He did not find cleaning very important. I used to spend hours cleaning the flat, and then in a matter of minutes, he would mess up a room again.  So indirectly, I became obsessed with cleaning because of his lack of cleaning.  

His lack of cleaning skills, motivated me to teach my own kids to clean up after themselves.  Since a very young age, I have taught them how to use a vacuum cleaner, a broom, a mop and a feather duster.  They even know how to wash clothes.  Don't worry...I don't let them do all the cleaning, but they are fully equipped to clean a house on their own.  These days men and women both have jobs to keep the pot boiling.  Therefore I believe that there is no longer such thing as a "woman's job" or a "man's job"

                          

Image credit

There are quite a few negative things regarding obsessiveness but on the other hand there are always two sides of a coin, so there are also positive things that comes out of being obsessive.  

Negative aspects about obsessiveness

  • People get obsessed with other people.  They might have such a fascination with someone that they may turn into a stalker, and that has never turned out great....   
  • To be obsessed with something can take over your life.  If you are so focused on only one specific thing, you tend to forget that there are other things that are also important.  This takes away family time and nothing is quite as important as to spend time with your family.   
  • Some people get obsessed with money. They will go out of their way to stay wealthy.  This might cause them to commit a crime like stealing or even fraud.  They are so obsessed that they will not stop at anything.  

                   

Image credit

Positive aspects about obsessiveness

  • If you start a business and you are obsessed with it, then you will surely succeed.  An obsessed person usually focus better as nothing else really matters.  In the end it is a win-win situation.  
  • You learn how to complete things. If you are obsessive about something, then you will carry on until you succeed.  Whether it be a new game, or a puzzle. An obsessed person will not stop until they succeed!  I am like that.  I do not give up easily....I will continue and struggle until I succeed.  
  • You learn how to focus.  An obsessed person do not quit.  They are usually very focused and will complete something without any disturbances.  To be focused is a good thing.  Just make sure that you focus on what is important, and don't forget to keep a balance.  

Sometimes what we see as a bad thing can also be a good thing.  But...... too much of a good thing can also be a bad thing.  So try not to overdo it.  Life is complicated enough as it is.  We all try our best to succeed in life and a little obsession here and there, has never really hurt anyone.  Just stay focused and set goals.  

Stay balanced!

If you enjoyed reading this please follow me @giantbear

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56697.29
ETH 2390.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29