Dementia - The thief of time

in #life7 years ago

                         

Image source

My grandmother is currently 95 years old.  She lives with us.  She is a wonderful person, and has done so much for me during my lifetime and while I was growing up.  We used to live next door to her, and we had a small gate in between the two yards; so we used to slip over to her house to go and visit all the time.  

She had an enormous yard with lots of fruit trees full of beautiful peaches.  One thing I can remember very clearly was these big square tables with the white nets, where she dried the fruit when there were too much fruit to eat.  In her kitchen on the top shelf she had these bottles full of peaches, that we were not allowed to touch. 

                          

Image source 

                                                      

Image source

Every Sunday, after lunch, she opened one or two of these bottles of peaches, so that we could eat as many peaches as we like.  She also had this outside house where we used to play house.  Inside were two beds and we used to play there for hours and hours.  All the children in the area used to come over to play at her house. 

 

                                                                

Image source

Oh..... and the chickens.  I mustn't forget the chickens!  She once had a delivery of 200 odd little chicks.  They were free range chickens and walked all over the yard.  They were so cute when they arrived....little did I know that we were actually going to eat those cute little chickens when they grow up.  

I will never forget the first time I saw my grandmother chop off a chicken's head. I couldn't understand this and cried terribly,  but after she explained the process I understood better.  (Perhaps this is the reason why I don't eat chicken today....lol) 

                          

Image source

She was a wonderful grandmother and I will never ever forget that part of my childhood. We used to be carefree and safe.  My grandmother was always there for us and when I went to study at university, I used to go and visit her often. 

By that time my grandfather had died and she sold her house and moved to a old age home. She was the queen of the palace!  She lived alone in a one bedroom townhouse and still cooked for herself.  She had lots of friends of similar age and they were all over the place.  I think she enjoyed staying alone and just having the chance to only worry about herself for a change.   

In 2006 I went to visit my grandmother for a weekend.  I noticed that she kept on forgetting things.  She changed her whole routine and did not sleep much at night.  I was worried.  Something about my grandmother changed.  She was not the person she used to be.....  

I spoke to my parents when I got home and explained the situation to them.  They decided that she had to come and visit them for a while so they could keep an eye on her.  My father is an only child and was obviously worried.  So during my next holiday, I fetched my grandmother and brought her down to my parents house.  She has lived there ever since.  We decided to sell her townhouse and one weekend my husband and I went to pack up her house.  

You wouldn't believe everything that we found.  She had money hidden everywhere.  She has been drinking medication for her blood pressure for years now and we found bottles and bottles of these pills everywhere that she forgot to take.  We could not believe everything that we found, but we knew that the person living in that house was not longer the grandmother that we knew.  

Nowadays she doesn't even remember her own name.  She can't dress herself.  She often seems lost and gets frightened by anything.  She still reads, but she reads the same page over and over again.  She can't go to the bathroom herself, without the risk of falling.  She can't crochet or knit anymore as she gets mixed up.  She can't build puzzles anymore, which she enjoyed so much.  She often screams in the night because she doesn't know where she is. She asks for food constantly and believe that we don't feed her - Often with the plate of food in her hands.  She has become a child again....

If I had to compare her memory and her actions with a child, I believe that she is on the same level as a three year old.  My grandmother has dementia. 

What is dementia?

Dementia is a term used for a decline in mental ability.  Sometimes Dementia is called Alzheimer's.  This decline in mental ability is so severe that it has an impact on everyday life.  Dementia is not one specific disease, but rather a range of symptoms associated with a decline in memory and thinking skills.  Dementia is often confused with senility which is incorrect.  Serious mental decline is NOT a normal part of aging.   

What are the symptoms of dementia?

The number one symptom is memory loss.  Loss of communication skills and the ability to focus on one thing is another symptom.  Dementia patients do not have the ability to pay attention to anything for a long period and they don't have the ability to reason about anything.  They often have a problem with their short term memory and can forget what they did ten minutes ago, but often remember things about their past.  They also have a problem with visual perception and needs help when walking because they might fall down.     

Early signs of dementia?

Forgetfulness like forgetting special dates, and asking the same thing over and over again.  Often dementia patients forget to take their medication.  Some people may experience trouble remembering numbers and forget to pay bills and is in general much slower in completing daily tasks like cooking. They often forget what they were busy with.  

Dementia patients often confuse times and places, and often gets lost, because they forget who they are, why they were there or even how they got there. 

Having a problem with vision is often a sign as they have difficulty reading as well as judging distance.  Dementia patients should not drive anywhere.  

People with dementia often have difficulty following a conversation and they do not communicate the way they would normally have done.  They often repeat themselves and sometimes forget certain words or call things by the wrong names. 

A person with dementia often puts things in unusual places like putting the phone in the fridge. (This however doesn't indicate that you have dementia, because we have all done that)

A person with dementia may pay less attention to themselves and often goes for days without bathing or cleaning themselves. They may also be confused, suspicious and anxious.  They also get easily upset.     

What are the treatments for dementia?

There is no cure for dementia or Alzheimer's.  Certain drugs may help improve memory or behavioral symptoms. Researchers are constantly searching for new treatments to change the course of the disease and to improve the quality of life for these patients. 

                                                                     

Conclusion:

Dementia is a very sad disease. Your whole life is lost and the quality of life, is not what it is supposed to be.  You become a burden to others as caregivers or family members often gets irritated with a person with dementia.  All that I can say is that we are all going to be old one day, as this is not something that we can bypass.  If you know anyone that has this disease, please be patient with them.  They do not realize that they are a burden and they don't realize what they do.  

If you have time, please watch this video attached.  This is an advertisement that was created by John Lewis.  I cry every time I watch this! 

Please follow me 

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing.
Very impressive article.

Thank you @slowwalker, I just had to build up the courage to actually write about this. Have been wanting to write about this for months now but it makes me so sad so I never did.... thanks for the comment.

Lovely , yet sad story

It truly is sad. The worst of all is that she is as healthy as a horse. She is strong and she might outlive us all....lol...

Did you not like my holiday pictures to Portugal Yvette as you never commented and were really special to us. Thought you would have really liked them

Hi there. I have been extremely busy today so I only checked regular posts now before going to bed. I saw the post and up-voted but went to look in detail now and I left a comment. You have a very lucky wife!

I feel for you. It is a terrible disease. My gran forgot who she was in the end and had to be cared for 24/7 which was taxing at best. The worst is that the person who they were has gone by then and it is truly like being robbed of them.

That is the truth...very sad and terrible disease....

Before reading the following quote
"If I had to compare her memory and her actions with a child, I believe that she is on the same level as a three year old. My grandmother has dementia. "
I was exactly thinking this as my close relative is suffering from it, he keeps on talking about the incidents 50 - 60 years back in his life.
But the family is exactly like yours giantbear they are taking a good care of him and they (two sons, my uncles) always say that he looked after them when they were babies and now their dad is just a like baby in a bigger body and its their turn to payback a little.
Keep up the good work and don't loose the opportunity to serve and take care of your grandma. Such incidents are the tests of life. God will bless you big for it:))

So much love in one comment! This is greatness. Dementia is truly a sad state. Happy commenting!
https://steemit.com/life/@giantbear/dementia-the-thief-of-time

It is true. She will leave her food to eat sweets just like a 3 year old. 😂

She needs to be looked after just like a 3 years old.

Beautiful Article, very touching. I, myself care for patients with Dementia and see how rapid this disease progresses, it's so sad to see how much a person can change from month to month from the person you once knew.

Hi @aineyann this is so true, but she still keeps us on our toes. I would not be able to do the type of job you are doing. Kudos to you!

Your post hits close to my heart. I lost my Mother 2 years ago, suffered with alzheimher's for 16 years. Great post. I will follow you

Hi @happyhousewife! I am so sorry for your loss. In the end I believe that you mother is now happier than she was for the previous 16 years. Due to this disease you have lost her much sooner....strongs and positive thoughts!

Yes she is in a happier place @giantbear Thank you. Take care

Thank you for writing this story. More and more families are being impacted by the consequences of dementia. I actually wrote a post last night about this same topic.

Oh that is interesting I will go and have a look. It has a great impact on any family! Have a great week ahead!

Reminds me of my grandmother. She died at the age of 97.
(Yesterday was her birthday, so that would make 100.)

My son also had his birthday yesterday! He turned 19! 97 is quite an age. I really don't know if I want to live to that age...

Happy birthday to your son!!!
I don't think I would like to live up to 97, especially after experiencing what you are going through now.
We also took our grandmother to live with us last 5-6 years of her life and it was just the same situation you've described so... wishing you all the very best to all of you. Take care.

I think this is one of the most difficult situations to deal with. They look like the person you used to know, but are entirely different now. You don't know what reaction they'll have, when such things were a given all your life. It's hardest on the caregivers. The affected person has no concept of their words or actions beyond immediate expression of needs and wants as relates to themselves.

My husband's mother is showing definite signs of memory issues and faulty decision making. She's 85 and otherwise healthy. She currently lives alone. All the kids are worried, but not sure what to do. She'll fight them tooth and nail whatever they decide, because she knows she's not entirely in control anymore. That scares her, so she fights. I've even offered to be the 'bad guy' and be the one to put my foot down, since I'm an in-law. That would let the kids team up to 'help' her. But, not yet, they say. I'm scared what 'yet' is going to look like.

No matter how you look at it, it sucks. Positive thoughts on the way to you for patience and strength.

You are very right. My grandmother can not do anything for herself and is totally dependent on us. It is a 100 % commitment from our side and you should think about this long and hard if you ever want to take this on. Would it not be possible to let a nurse or a caregiver stay with her to help her? The longer they can stay on their own the better. You should not try to be the bad guy...you also want to help her so you are definitely not the bad guy. The sucking part is true. One of us always have to stay at home as we can not leave her alone, but we are committed till the end. Good luck to you and it will all work out for the best! Things have a tendency of working out the way it's supposed to....

Fingers crossed the kids get things sorted out. She's already singled out one of her sons as 'trying to put her away'. In reality, he mentioned a senior assisted-living community a half mile from his house. Basically, it's an apartment complex geared to seniors & they have people close by to help when needed. In her mind, we're locking her up so we don't have to be at her beck and call. Sigh..... My being the 'bad guy' would be to re-direct that fight onto me so he and the other kids can get her situated. I'm not worried about long-term animosity from her, as I don't think she can sustain it. I hesitate to say it, but it would almost be easier if she wasn't aware of what's happening to her. We're in the in-between space now and trying to tread as lightly as we can. At some point, sooner rather than later, that's not going to work anymore. I surely hope you're right about things working out. My hope is we can get her safely situated with a minimum of turmoil.

My hats off to y'all for doing such an awesome job with your grandmother. It's stressful and wears you down. I'm glad to hear there are a few of you so you can take turns. I would imagine having a 'breather' now and then is vital to recharge yourself. Bravo for being there for her!

Sometimes you just have to be blunt. Sit her down and tell her exactly what everyone is planning and why they are doing this. It is a difficult situation really...just imagine your independence being taken away from you...but if it is better for her she would also realize this at some point. I hear you when you say that it would be better if she doesn't know what is happening to her....this is one of the most permanent difficult situations that you might ever have to make....good luck in making this decision. xx

You're right about that conversation and that's the one thing all of them are avoiding. Hence, my worry on what 'yet' is going to look like. She's already left the stove on & walked away.

Thanks for the well wishes as they're going to come in handy!

I'm very sorry for your grandmother. Very touching article.

Hi @inna-yatsuk, she is actually very happy most of the time as nothing bothers her. We look after her very well, and she has everything that she needs. It has an impact on the family because we miss out on family time, but life goes on and we are committed so it is just something that we have to do...we were dealt these cards so we play with it. Thanks for the comment.

Just me your story reminded me of my grandmother. I also took care of her for a long time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28