You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MEMES are great. When used sparingly. Non-stop memes on everything irritates me. Am I the only one?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Yup. Memes are ridiculously overused. I enjoy them but one of my biggest pet peeves is people have been saying "When you're so upset you can't take it..." and that's how the sentence ends, it doesn't end! When you're so upset you can't take it, what? People speak in memes now and it's simply a degradation of language. Just like George Carlin said, "If you can control language, you can control thought." Politically correct culture, now memes in pop culture, everything is getting dumber and it isn't an isolated action by any political group, they're all guilty. The powers that be want to dumb us down so we're smart enough to do our jobs but not wise enough to question the world and the information that's being given to us.

Sort:  

Just like George Carlin said, "If you can control language, you can control thought."

I like that quote. Very fitting in this case.

Thanks man. I live my life by many wise sayings and comedians hold a larger percentage than people would think but my mantra is this one.

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit."
-Aristotle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60629.29
ETH 2636.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51