The Shaving Of The Beef

in #life6 years ago

Moo Bear Got A Hair Cut


IMG_3205 (1).JPG

We're in the final stretch! It's only 6 days until fair!! In the last seven days I have bought a new one ton flatbed pickup, made a ridiculous amount of stall decorations, waded through the murky swamp that is 4-H project books, prepped our travel trailer for arrival at the fairgrounds, and left at least a morsel of my frugal soul at the local farm and ranch store.

Hmm. Context might be useful at this point. My kids are in 4-H. My husband is the shooting sports leader for our club. I, insanely, was talked into being the market beef leader for our club. I say insane because although I love cattle and know how to raise them, I had absolutely zero idea about showing them. Let's just say that knowledge bank has increased over the last few months. If you would have asked me a year ago what leg adhesive was I would have stared blankly in your general direction. Now I know more than I ever wanted to know about cattle beautifying products and things like average daily gain, but that is a post for another time.

Today's post is about an event that I scheduled and helped with last night, the show clipping fete! I have six beeflings (what I call my beef kids) in my group, and only one of them had shown a steer before. It has been a learning experience for us all. One of my beeflings told me a few weeks ago that she knew a girl who would come over and show us how to clip our steers. Show clipping is not like getting a crew cut at your local barber shop. Things like blending and tail trimming have to happen. Of course I was game for the idea and planned the meeting to happen a week before fair, as that is the ideal time to show clip your animals, for it gives the hair a couple of days to grow back in in case you mess up on the clip job.

Last night I rolled into our friend's lovely little estate to a yard full of hefty beeves. Instead of flamingos or garden gnomes, my friend's yard was adorned with fourteen and fifteen hundred pound bovines and their handlers. There were extension cords, clippers, blowers, and hoses everywhere. The steers have all met and were cordially mooing among themselves as they got primped before the shaving commenced.

IMG_3206 (2).JPG

Colt

My favorite part of the evening was when one of the moms, a beefling, and I were sitting on some porch stairs and I ended up holding Colt. Colt is an Angus steer that weighs in at a massive 1510 pounds. He doesn't know me too well and decided that I needed an inspection. Apparently I am acceptable as after an initial tentative sniff, he licked me from ankle to elbow. My pants took on a shiny hue of cow slobber and the loving beast began chewing on my knuckles and knees. Good times.

I have to say, the little gal that volunteered to help us with the show clipping was beyond an amazing kid. She wanted to just volunteer to help us and got really feisty when we threw money at her. Heck, I wanted to give her a bag of gold! She was so full of knowledge about things like tail hair shaping and how to use a blocking blade. In a few hours almost all of the steers were looking pretty fancy. My daughter's steer Moo Bear really looks spectacular! I will post some pictures of them both during fair, as you can tell I am pretty proud.

IMG_3210.JPG

Another thing that blew my mind is how all my 4-H kids and their adult handlers came together throughout this entire year. While I was sitting on my friend's porch going through my beefling's project books, signing off on things like Animal Science checklists, one of my beeflings and his mother went to pick up my daughter and Moo Bear so he could get clipped. My husband brought an extra show chute so we could trim two steers at once, one mother lined up a date so that we could trim the last steer in my group that didn't get trimmed because it got dark, and the list goes on. So often you hear about how people are horrid, selfish, and all out moronic in general, but I have to tell ya, I see examples of the awesomeness of people quite often, especially so in my 4-H group.

And now I must run, I have to edit a 4-H story or two for my daughter that she typed up for her project book. Part of the reason my posts have been so sporadic is that pretty much every waking moment is spent on something involving our impending fair invasion, and don't think I am whinging about being busy. Quite the contrary, I am loving every moment of this, as I know it won't last forever:)


And as somewhat more frequently than not, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's Moo slimed iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

I was looking forward to seeing a picture of moo bear with his fancy do. Yes I find making community a priority brings out the best in children and is keeping them as busy as mom. My son is currently undertaking his harvest of male pumpkin flowers. No female flowers yet ... I think our dream of growing our own jack o lantern may not come to fruition but he is learning a lot about growing things:)

Oh, I so hope you get a pumpkin, what a diligent guy your boy is:)

Today I ran all over town with my crew getting last minute fair things. Moo Bear is to be the recipient of all sorts of beauty products, lol, lucky guy. There will most definitely be a picture, probably lots of them!

Hope you both are enjoying a lovely evening:)

The shaving of the meat this sounded very funny hahaha

How are you? a few days ago that did not happen here

I had not heard nor had I attended an event before shaving would be something very interesting the good thing is that you were accepted by them hahaha

Ha ha! I am glad you got a laugh out of that, it was the first title that popped into my head, and I usually go with what comes up first.

I'm doing great! We are just super, super busy getting ready for fair. It's evening and I just ate breakfast, it seems like every day I am running as soon as I get out of bed. How are you doing? Well, I hope!

LOL! I am also glad that the steers accepted me too!

Oh this is an interesting event who was going to imagine the shaving of the meat I would like to attend a shave of this great safe experience

I see that you are sharing a lot in family and it is good that everyone collaborates

Ah, you are so very kind @andrina! I hope you get to see some cattle clipped someday too, it's actually kind of cool to watch a steer get a haircut:)

I love collaboration among family and friends, and I agree, it is good!

Hope you are having a marvelous day!

I would like to attend some day and also try to shave a cattle should be a unique experience I think that even I feel nice and relaxing

Thank you I hope you are also well

Hi, I'm new here on your blog, I was struck by the name of this article

The shaving of the meat so I had to go in here and read what it is all about very well I see that it is an awesome festival every day I learn new things

Well, that is wonderful, Hello:)

I am glad you enjoyed the cattle haircut post, lol, it was a pretty fun time. I also learn new things everyday, and I am so hoping that you are having a fantastic day!

The shaving of the beef hahaha really so funny .
This is an interesting event you know . Thanks for sharing @generikat

Ha ha! I am glad that you enjoyed that title:) Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement:)

Sounds like Colt mistook you for a human salt-lick lol.

Ha! Most bovines always think I am some form of a salt lick, I am starting to think that it says something about my disposition, lol!

Hope you are having a fantastic weekend!!!

Hey we can all be a bit salty sometimes ;) lol.

I so look forwards to a post soon about how to wax and pull the hairs from a large bovine's leg, to add to the beauty of the situation. I had NO idea that was possible. Leg adhesives, who knew cows got the treatment like a spa in Geneva.
It looks like a whole lot of fun, messing with the bovinidae. And I agree, wholeheartedly, all we ever hear about on the news is negativity, and in general, people are pretty nifty to one another. Always nice to hear about it, to un-skew our point of view skews. And your attitude about it all is so great. They're growing fast, enjoying it to the max is the only way to approach life. Though I marvel at your energy level. It is epical. Well, I'm off to do chores. But only half as busy as my favorite b'K. Have a great weekend, and large beef's onward, to The Fair...

I, until this year, had no idea about the various beautifications that show cattle got to endure. My girl has her steer's hair so well prepped that my mother sent me a text last night exclaiming that he felt, "like velvet".

dd, you are always so kind to this b'K, and honestly sometimes I don't feel so deserving of such accolades, for there are moments that I definitely am prone to a hiss or two, but I really do try to have an attitude of goodness most of the time. It helps when one has such marvelous friends:)

Got to run, it's stall decoratin time! Hope you are doing something most enjoyable this weekend!

It seems the devil is always in the details...

And every specialty has a plethora of 'em!

Good luck at the fair!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Awe, thank you my friend!

The fair craziness has really ramped up, we are getting ready to head down and decorate all the stalls, which to be honest is probably not my favorite part. I am not much of a Joanna Gaines for sure, lol!

Hope you are doing well down in your magnificent part of the world:)

Things are well here, Thank you. ;)

This reminds me of the community effort that goes into the drama productions with which I've been involved. Everybody pulls together, and great things happen! And I do understand how the fair prep basically takes over your life for a while. Looking forward to your posts about fair food and people watching!

Ah, that is a fantastic comparison! The amount of to do's in both of the productions is quite legendary, but so far I have avoided any sewing. Well, for the fair prep anyway, I did have to sew some of T's costume for yesterday's cosplay adventure, but that is another post altogether, lol!

Hope you have been getting in some leisure time:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76