How To Avoid A Christmas Kat-tastrophe

in #life4 years ago

Generikat's Guide To Holiday Time Self-Care


IMG_8060 (2).JPG

Tis' that time of year again, the season of overall welfare beatings. I, like a bunch of other insane people, spend most of December fluttering about engaging in a marathon of holiday things like a simpering first world buffoon. Presents are to be procured, made, wrapped and distributed, parties are to be attended, food is to be created, crafted, and consumed, and functions are to be attended all in the name of Holiday Cheer.

Now don't get me wrong, I love this time of year, and often, when I am in the midst of the festivities I am having a blast. Last night I was an elf in our local Christmas parade with my children and a bunch of other library folk. It was fantastic and I love it! However, there is a dark side to all the merry making.

B565DD70-DBF6-4588-AE86-4B81991BECD2.JPG

This key chain has less twists than my current state of living.

Friday I went to the doc for a routine physical. I will begrudgingly admit that I might not have been eating or drinking like I should, there's just so many things that need my attention. It was blood draw time, a thing that I have had done to me at least twice a year for most of my life. I don't mind needles and am one of those people who can watch my blood be drawn. I mean, I live on a farm, so I give shots to creatures on a frequent basis. The poor medical professional lady could not find my veins. Anywhere. Finally, after using a butterfly needle and jabbing it into the vein at the base of my thumb she was able to get a drip of blood. It took five minutes to almost fill one tube. During that time she had to move the needle around quite a bit. I'm not going to lie, it smarted a touch, but I just smiled like I always do and chirped away.

After a couple of minutes of the sorta torture I realized that I couldn't hear very well. After the great Fetal Pig Formaldehyde Incident during my sophomore year of high school, I knew what was coming! (I got formaldehyde in my bloodstream from a cut on my thumb and fainted in front of my entire high school). I mumbled something to the young PA, for my vision was starting to fade. NO! NO! NO! I internally chided myself, You will not pass out, that poor girl is a rookie, she doesn't need this today!

I passed out.


I vaguely remember the nurse coming in, a lady I have known for years, and she arranged me on the office chair. "Kat, you are severely dehydrated, I'm going to get you some OJ. When did you eat last?"

"Tuesday?" I murmured.

"She's so cold and clammy."I heard the young PA whisper to the nurse.

The nurse came back and gave me a mini Ritz cracker with peanut butter in the middle. I nibbled on it whilst laying on the office chair and immediately started feeling alive again. Alive and embarrassed.

My nurse came in with a bottle of OJ and had me take a few sips. I started chirping that I was feeling much better and she replied by saying, "I don't want you sitting up just yet, just lay here in the dark for a bit, I'll check on you soon."

I felt like a chastised preschooler who was forced to take a nap time.

IMG_7996 (2).JPG

Crazy Cora re-enacting my shame.

Later my doc came in, a woman who I have known for a long time. "So what's up?" she inquired.

I don't know if it was because I am was in my chastened preschooler state, but I just burbled out a bunch of stuff. I told her that this past week my great uncle died, my friend was declared terminal, I was trying to take care of everyone and everything, because the need is so great and I can't walk by a person in need and I love to bring people joy.

In that moment, as I word vomited my justifications for my current pathetic mode of existence to my doc, I realized that my propensity to give my all to help those around me was once again taking a toll on my form. She didn't lecture me because she didn't have too. I get it. I cannot be the Savior of the world, or even to those around me whom I care about. Just because I have a desire to care for people doesn't mean I can leave myself on the side of the self care road.

Ugh. Can I just get bit by a genetically altered spider or hit by some magical meteor or something?

IMG_0292.jpg

It's okay to stop and inhale the lavender. Hmm, and maybe put together a nice charcuterie tray to nosh on too...

That said, this time of year a lot of us go a little bit harder than we should, and even if it is for benevolent reasons, it's still wrong to not stop and make sure you are doing all right on occasion. It's perfectly dandy if you don't get all your presents done, or your cookies delivered, people will still love you. Take a bath, read a book, or go make a snow angel in your back yard. Don't let the perceived stress of the season melt your whimsy or harsh your Mojo.

And on that note, I think it's time to find myself something to eat. Before I go have a snowball fight with my kids...

TL:DR You can't take care of others if your don't take care of yourself. Tend your form or you'll adorn the doctor's office chair instead of your office party.


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's currently incandescent from being transparent iPhone.


Sort:  

Ah, the everbusy Kat, I'm glad you've slowed to a major blur now ( :
Bummer at the doctor, but those things happen. Glad you didn't land on the floor, seen that happen. Yowch. But the good news, free crackers and OJ, can't beat that. I've not passed out YET at the doctor, but did fall fast asleep in the MRI machine. Comfy little sleeping chamber.
I do hope your holidays are shaping up to be a good one. And I also hope you send me a 40 pound box of KatCookies, but we know that's not possible, so I will make my own. Or buy some. I truly think cookies are one of the best inventions, besides the bicycle, in the entire history of this human race.
Well madeere, hope all is peachy in this holiday season, and talkatcha lateron. Cheers from the flat side of comestible prep domesticals

Ha ha! A major blur for sure! Maybe I will attain full a full camo effect. That would be something.

Ahh, I've never had an MRI, a cat scan yes, heh, but never the tube of magnetic wonder. I think I would like it though, cause I love cozy little spaces and naps, cause Kat reasons.

I would love to send you a 40lber of Katcomestibles. However, I bet dddelights are beyond yummy, and wish I had a few to nosh on. Yesterday we feasted on the about twenty pounds of homemade lasagna I constructed, along with a roast and ham and about a thousand other things in a shop Christmas party at my grandparents. We got out my grandpa's poker table and my dad, AKA Rambling Ron, was the dealer. It was pretty epic...

It is so good to hear from you, as soon as they get my interwebs back online I will hopefully return to my almost frequent posting. Gonna fly over to your nest and see if you posted one of your wonderful missives as well, they have been missed:)

I hate when that happens, a nurse cant find the veins, poke here poke there 😫

Sorry you had to go thru such situation

Same here, I cant wait to be spiderwoman too. We gotta start hanging out at labs or something 😉

Oh, thank you so much! It was mostly my own fault, but the sympathy is beyond appreciated.😊

And we'll just have to arrange a Steemit meetup at a lab somewhere, for...reasons...lol!

I hope you will have the best time on coming Christmas

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

I had a wonderful time on Christmas, I sure hope that you did too! Thank you so much!!!

Oh yuck. When I was much younger, I had to lie down every time somebody wanted to draw blood. I guess I got tougher over the years, but I do remember that sensation of little black spots in front of my eyes before I toppled. My list of things to do before Christmas has shortened as I have gotten older. I don't know if it's because I'm wiser, or just tireder, or a bit of both. I decorate the inside of the house a bit, put up a tree, go to the annual free Christmas concert at the local college, wrap presents, maybe bake some cookies, and that's about it. My shopping is usually done early, or online; I despise dealing with traffic and crowds in town this time of year. I no longer feel the urge to drive around and admire others' Christmas lights like I used to do, nor do I intend to check out the Christmas tree display fundraiser in Spokane. I haven't sent out Christmas cards for three years. I may or may not get around to it in January. By all means, give yourself a break, feel free to say "no" to a few people, and relax a bit.

Well, it only took me ten days to reply, total fail, lol! Honestly, between the internet failure and Christmas craziness, I have totally not done any of that relaxing stuff at all. Tomorrow I have to drive my Grandma home to Western Washington and then back the next day, just in time for another party. Eee. However, my brother and I have come up with a restful for Christmas solution. We are going to rent a house on the Oregon coast next year and escape. I like this plan. Hope you had a glorious Christmas, and I am going to make it over there for that cup of tea!!!

I look forward to it!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25