Greetings From WSU

in #life6 years ago

Adventure Time!


IMG_4412.JPG

Adventures, no matter the scale, are the greatest, and right now I am in the midst of one. My nephews are both in PHD programs at Washington State University in Pullman, Washington. Now, I've been under the influence of too much to do-itus for quite some time, so when they invited me to come for an escape, the answer was a resounding YES!!!

I've only been here just a little over 24 hours and the amount of awesomeness that I've engaged in is staggering! We're talking blog post fodder for days!

One of my nephews is in a radio chemistry PHD program, so when he asked me this morning if I would like a tour of his lab and WSU's libraries, I might have let out a squeal of pure rapture. Before you could say electrons I found myself wandering one of WSU's many science buildings.

IMG_4414.JPG

The giant light up periodic table made my inner nerd joyous!

My elation grew as I met scientist after scientist. My nephew got permission for me to go into the secure lab where his office is, and there I got to look at his research and hand out homemade cookies to the staff that were still on hand.

IMG_4421.JPG

You see, it's winter break, so other than some die hard workaholic students, the only people around were faculty. It gave the giant campus a mysterious air, and I relished both the atmosphere and chance to speak with esteemed nuclear scientists as researchers!

IMG_4423.JPG

I have so, so much more to report about, but it will have to wait til I get home to my trusty laptop. I hope that all of you have a magnificent weekend!


As most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's slid down a mountain trail on the ice like a boss iPhone.


Sort:  

OK, you now have my inner nerd salivating! :D

Also, I am seriously glad that you get a bit of a break, with some interesting new surroundings... Enjoy! :)

😄😇😄

@creatr

LOL! I hear ya my friend, I totally nerded out, while my nephew handed out cookies I read his research paper and studied the showcased studies that lined the lab hall walls. It was glorious!

And that break was amazing, thank you so much for the well wishes, and I hope you are doing something most excellent today!:)

I'm reading your reply today... That is most excellent! ;)

OMG! I think I just squeed!!

Lucky duck! Enjoy the nerdiness!!!

!tip

Hi! I did enjoy the nerdiness! Like to the max, lol! We also painted, cooked yummy food, went on a hike in the mountains, the list goes on! It was like a combination of The Big Bang Theory meets an Eddie Bauer catalog or something, lol!

Thank you so much for the tip, I hope your day is going super swell!!

Oh, yes!!! You certainly win this round! What a fun time! It helps that they were nerds and get it! Ohhhh! Hiking and painting and cooking yummy food? Did you need my phone number so I don't miss out the next time?

Well, glad you got away for a much-needed break and yes!! My day is awesome and I am sitting in the chaise, feet up while making one of the kids peel grapes and feed them to me. Oh, I wish. I have to keep remembering that is not why I bore them. It was for this unconditional love thing, all the while reaping the benefits of the tax write off! Score.

Oh, I kid.

The day is good and I am just waiting for the little fat man to come down the chimney and bring me the New Year. Merry Christmas!

🎁 Hi @generikat! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Beautiful Sunday, Sublimely So Christmas Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank Youuuuuu!!!

Oh yes! That is where the real magic happens!

Cause SCIENCE! LOL!

Sorry, still a little elated from my visit, lol, can you tell?

I haven't been to WSU for years. My brother graduated from there around 1968. I imagine it has changed a bit!

Ooh! That was just a hop, skip, and a jump back in time, right? Since they kept the whole brick building motif, I am sure it would feel similar!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84