Build It, Bicycles, And Benadryl

in #life7 years ago

The Wind Blew Over The Cuckoo's Nest


IMG_0229.JPG


Tuesdays are my busy days. I spend the entire day in the library as I help the marvelous Miss M run her children's programs and see to a couple deliveries of courier items. As a person who loves almost chaos, I truly enjoy most Tuesdays, as there is no end of tasks to be completed and crises to be resolved. This to-do soup makes for a fulfilling day indeed!

However, as I was getting ready to depart to the library yesterday I received a text message of imminent doom:

My manager was taking a sick day.


I am sure that there are those out there that enjoy when their boss is away, but there is this little caveat when my boss is gone: I am the boss!

There were no fantasies of playing book dominoes before I opened the library for the day, nor were there any daydreams of kicking my feet up on the counter as I ate ice cream whilst sitting in my manager's chair and randomly assessing fines to unsuspecting patrons. I tend to have fun in most situations, but there appears to be an unwritten rule that is instituted when my boss is gone: random weird stuff will occur.

On a good note, Miss M and I sailed through a packed story time unscathed, and as I sat down to enjoy my lunch I was feeling pretty positive about how the day was progressing. I mean, I had earlier received a courtesy call from the Mother Ship, er main branch of our library network, letting me know that the courier delivery would be late due to construction. That fact was no bigger, and as I took bites of my curried, fried cauliflower rice I noticed that it was a touch breezy outside.

It so happens as I was mid-bite of my lunch that I heard this huge crack and thump outside the staff room window. Being the child of a timber faller, I have heard manifestations of that sound my entire life, and instantly my mind thought:

"Whoomp! There it is!"

Source

With no small amount of hesitancy I strode to the window and beheld the non-coniferous carnage. One of the ornamental trees next to our library had decided to shed one of its tops. Thankfully is shed its bark skin at a moment that did not include squashing the landscape guy that was weed-eating at the time, that would have been even more inconvenient.

Before long I was on the phone with our district's maintenance man, and shortly thereafter I was out in the tempest asking the landscapers if they would take the tree top with them as they departed for the day. I also made a little note to self to always check the weather forecast before adorning myself with clothing for the day, as it just felt sort of diminishing to fight with my circle skirt while trying to appear professional. At least the weed-eater dude was smiling at my impromptu Marilyn Monroe impression.

The day progressed with all the fervor of a coyote stuck in a dumpster, the crashing tree a symbol of what was to come. I dealt as best I could with odd patron problems, a co-worker with crashed blood sugar, a co-worker with hives from their cold, late courier delivery, and the list goes on. Maybe I would survive this day sanity in tact!

Oh, the fanciful thoughts one tends to entertain when things are progressing nicely! I had just returned from monitoring the after school program with Miss M because of course a certain patron that causes problems decided to show up. I was feeling rather calm as I had spent the last twenty minutes coloring a picture of a koi with a few after school kids while listening to Miss M deal with a surprise USDA inspection. My mellow was harshed fully when I heard these dreaded words uttered at the front desk:

"Someone stole my bike."


While one of my competent co-workers took all the details, I, as acting manager got to call police dispatch. Within a small frame of time we found footage of the bike thief on the security cameras and @jacobtothe and I spent a few restorative minutes uttering oaths of retribution regarding the mobile property pilferer. There is something so incredibly malevolent about a person that would steal a child's bicycle, may the stings of ten thousand rubber bands fall upon them!!

IMG_9079.JPG

My positive resolve was holding, but barely at this point. Life likes nothing more than to poke its fingers into your ribs when your gasping for a bit of rejuvenative breath, and sure enough I felt the sting of those humorless fingers. My co-worker was hosting an after hours computer class for seniors, and there must always be two of us present when the library is open. My boss was supposed to be the other person present.

Well, thought I, I'll just have a few extra hours to put on my time sheet, no biggie. Attitude stabilized, bicycle situation rectified, I proceeded to process holds. It was then that I pretty much gave up on Tuesday, for I discovered that I had to call my favorite patron, the lecherous lout. It was late enough in the day that I thought he might not be able to make it to the library to pick up his holds before closing. I was wrong.

This ill-mannered barnacle is normally pieces of cake or me to deal with, but on this particular day the inebriate article sorely tested my resolve. I was right in the middle of helping a patron who was paying her fines when the drunken dolt marched in and slapped a pile of change onto the counter in front of the poor patron that I was trying to help. In the middle of making change for a twenty I began to see red, even Kat's have their limits, and rude, boorish behavior will ignite moi. Thankfully, before the hobbit harpy exploded, one of my lovely co-workers must have sensed the imminent carnage, for she hustled the hulking horror over to the far side of the circ desk. Never have I been so grateful that we vacuum the rugs at the end of the day, for I don't know if I could have taken the non-melodic, vodka-soaked wise cracks from Sargent Douche at that moment.

Everyone has tough days at work, and in reality mine wasn't too bad. However, you can bet your last toaster pastry that I hope my boss recovers quickly!


So, do any of you have any tales of absent boss terror to share? I will gladly express empathy and commiserate with you all in a most comradely way.


And as always, unless otherwise cited, all the images in this post were taken on the author's windswept iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Nice summary of your day ,and I wish your Boss a quick recovery.

There is something so incredibly malevolent about a person that would steal a child's bicycle, may the stings of ten thousand rubber bands fall upon them!!

I so much love this👆👆

Ha ha! Thank you @smiles563!

My manager recovered, so yesterday was an absolute breeze, er without the tree blowing down part!😊

Hobbit harpy? HAHAHAHA! You should be writing books. You always have a few new lines that I've never heard that make me laugh.

From the other side of your situation, whenever I missed work I went back with a feeling of impending doom because I just knew things always went wrong when I was away. Even worse was getting that phone call, knowing the crap had really hit the fan. I had to be deathly ill to miss work since it seemed these problems rarely arose if I was there. I don't know what I ever did to have karma tell me you think today's bad, wait till you go back to work tomorrow.

Ha ha! chops! How did you know? I do write books, I have just never put them out there for people to read. That is probably not awesome, I know, but I am in the process of remedying that non-book offering! Thanks to some encouragement from some other Steemians and some verbal flintlocks (rear) kicking from people that know me in real life, I am going to start publishing a novel on Steemit in installments. I've been taking an idea I had and formulating it into a plot over the last couple of days, and as an experiment I am going to post it as I write it. The whole idea's kinda equally parts exciting and terrifying, but I'm gonna go for it!

I have to say though, no wonder your hair vacated, it sounds like it needed a much less stress kinda nest, I am so glad that you are (hopefully) taking it a little more easy now, or at least in a situation that has moments of less impending doom! Appreciate your replies as always my friend😊

Glad to hear about your novel. Can't wait to start reading.

Oh my, that sounds like a day that ought to end with a bubble bath and/or a glass of wine and/or chocolate. I do hope Wednesday went more smoothly.

How about option C, all of the above, ha ha! Wednesday went much more smoothly. I think it was the two hours of volleyball and a bubble bath that made me feel human again😉

Hope your trip was awesome!

Amazing, blue eggs
Thank for sharing @generikat

What's that friggin 'egg my brother?

That would be a robin's egg my friend.

Oh yes, good work my friend!

Oh yes, good work my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62135.43
ETH 2418.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58