The Cougar

in #life5 years ago

Secondhand Tales Of The Familial Sort



Source

In the grand tradition of modern family phone call scenarios, I often enjoy at least a once or twice a week conversation on speakerphone with both my parents. They live about an hour north of me, and due to our super busy schedules, I just don't get to see them as often as I would like. Speakerphone chat with the 'rents fills that lack of in person convo gap quite nicely. I mean, my parents and I exchange calls and texts throughout the week, so it's not like we don't keep in touch, it's just that the speakerphone interludes are like family meetings of the reunion kind or something. I've even written before about how my dad texts me like he is talking on a CB radio. Good times and a Texas sized 10-4 good buddy, over.

It was during this morning's rather long and rambling word exchange that I found my stomach rumbling and told Ma and Pa that I was signing off to go eat some morning chow. Dad, A.K.A. known in these parts as Rambling Ron said, "Wait a minute, I gotta tell ya one more thing, it's great!"

"Cool," I replied, "Shoot."

"Well, you know how my Mom saw the cougar earlier this week." my dad began.

In order to catch you all up on the narrative, let me first start with where my grandparents live. They live in a little trailer with an addition on the side of a foothill near Lake Pend Oreille. The place that they dwell in is owned by a woman I'll call V. V hails from Pennsylvania, and she and my grandparents have had all manner of adventures over the last twenty years.

Anyway, my grandma walked down to the edge of the driveway and collected the mail the other day, just like she does most days. Grandma is a pretty small woman. Like less than five feet tall and sub 100lbs in the weight department. Don't let her small stature fool you though, she is a total spitfire and is renown in family lore for her hair pulling, skillet throwing, SOB name calling abilities. Grams is a tough cookie.

About thirty minutes after the mail was collected Grandma let out a shout. A giant cougar was walking right past her kitchen window and mailbox! By the time my grandpa had grabbed his rifle the beast had moved on, but it had done it's apex predator job and frightened the starch out of my grandma.

Fast forward a few days to my phone call with Dad. "So anyway, V will hardly come out of the house now she's so scared. But Amazon delivered a package the other day." Dad rambled on. I did notice his voice was starting to rise as it usually does when he's gonna lose it when telling a tale. Mom was already giggling in the background so I knew something mirth inducing was coming.

"So, how does Amazon play into this tale?" I inquired.

"She ordered a couple of sirens for her and Mom to wear." my dad blurted out and busted up laughing. "You know the ones that go MEE MOOO MEEE MOO!"

The first image that flashed in my head was a scene from Despicable Me when those dratted Minions made an ambulance noise, the second was a image of my grandma wearing a flashing siren that was shrieking in a loud and hostile tone.

I couldn't help it, I cracked like a toddler dropped egg.

Dad continued, "Then the other day your grandpa was sitting with your aunt in a couple of chairs up by the shop and said, 'why the hell does your Mom have a snow shovel to get the mail!'"

Apparently grandma now walks to the mail box with her siren shrieking and packing a big plastic snow shovel. That big old cougar SOB doesn't stand a chance.

IMG_6962 (2).jpg

Not a cougar. Most definitely a murderer of mice.


And unless otherwise cited, as almost always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's rather amused and non siren infused iPhone.


Sort:  

I just gotta get me a family like yours. ENDLESS entertainment, and they don't even work at it. . What a long line of characters...explains a lot in the cat department ( :
Very entertaining, as per usuale'...gave me a much needed guffaw. I would sure hope to meet Ramblin' Ron one day.
But I fully understand Grams siren, as seeing the big cat in HIS/HER space is another whole baileywick for sure. I used to yell "hey Mr. Bear" in the woods alot, after spooking a mom and wee one. Never thought of a siren though. Then again, there was no Amzon Prime back then.
Hope all is well in C'ville, and life is only as busy as you want it to be. Cheers from the foggy side, Mr. Flatpannus de' Skillitosis

AHHH! I have missed you!!!!

How's that for enthusiasm? LOL! I am just so repentant that it has taken me six whole days to reply to your awesomeness, a trip to the shame penalty box is in order me thinks.

To be fair, per usual, a lot has been occurring. I have more stories galore, some even involve cows, er, steers, yay!

Grams hasn't had a cougar run in again, yet, but I am sure I'll hear about it. We did get to take a trip to the ER with my bro (he's fine, but it was a scary thing), and they gave my Dad and I masks (bad idea) and we saw and Alaska Bush people cast member in the hospital cafeteria. Interesting time.

Oof, I went on a ramble there, things are just peachy here in Katville, I hope they are swell on your side of the spine?

Peace Out Latitude of Panitude!

Oh, this was great! What visualizations! Well, the neighbors will know when the mail has arrived...

Ha ha! Thanks! I still giggle every I think about it!

I think I am going to get Grandma a new snow shovel for Christmas that has a picture of a cougar on it with a circle and slash through it LOL!

Great idea! LOL

"I cracked like a toddler dropped egg."

LOL! Thanks for the smiles today!

Would love to meet all the characters in your very amusing stories, but I fear I'd be run over...

And, minions! I love minions! :D
I really need a flock of my own...

😄😇😉

@creatr

That provided me with a marvelously-amusing mental picture. That cougar better mind his own business or Granny is gonna git him! Incidentally, one of my neighbors called me recently to tell me she saw a wolf cross her back field. I do think she knows one when she sees one.

I actually fear for the cougar, My Grandma is a hair puller of legend. That cat could end up with a bald patch and hurt feelings, or worse, LOL!

Hello @generikat, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81