You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fermentation Adventures: Growing and Expanding Ginger Bugs

in #life7 years ago

Thanks for the photos. I really love ginger and don't know why I've never dabbled with brewing ginger ale. The only thing I've fermented over the years is bread starter (wheat) which is super easy and very satisfying (and yummy). Can you grow ginger there since I assume it never freezes? Thanks for the ideas.

Sort:  

I can grow ginger here I just have to suppliment with water during the dry season because it likes very moist conditions. starting a ginger bug is as easy as starting a bread starter.

Have you ever used irrigation ollas? If you ever get the urge to try it might help with moisture consistency. I'm in Texas and outdoor potted plants are nearly impossible because it gets so hot. Clay pots work by keeping the soil evenly moist and cool. :)

It's something I've considered. Or making some sort of wicker pot for the ginger so I have a lot of control. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34