Life of a Service Crew

in #life6 years ago

My mother and i went to the market to buy groceries. It was early in the afternoon when we decided to eat our lunch at Jollibee. It is one of the most famous fast-food chain here in the Philippines.

GEDC2342.JPG

While we are waiting for our turn to order, I remembered my work experience when i was still part of this store. I remember how it felt like being a service crew.

Two years ago, my family gone through some financial problems, my father lose his job, and my mother is the only one who is working to support our daily expenses including my school fees. I was a bit worried that i might have too stop schooling because of this crisis that we're going through.. So I was thinking of a way to help my parents financially. I decided to apply for a part-time job in different Fast-Food Chains at least near in our place. I submit 5 résumés to 5 different fast food chains. 2 responded and i took the exam, i passed it but i failed in the interview. I almost lose hope. But few weeks after, I got a text from the staff of one of the fast food chain i applied telling me that i have to take a qualifying exam that afternoon. I got a bit nervous that i might fail again. But i really wanted a job so bad. I gotta take this opportunity. I don't care if i fail, at least I've tried. So i took the exam and passed it. I have the interview and luckily I passed this time! I was very happy. :D I signed a working contract of 5 months. Finally, I got my uniform and work schedule.

11760046_980966168601604_1491735287762572340_n.jpg

The vacation was nearly end when i started working and in few days i will go back to school already. So i have to ready myself to a challenging role as a working student. In my few days of working i found that this kind of job was never really easy. People are always in a hurry, costumers keep coming, managers are always keeping an eye, even if you are tensed, you have to give your sweetest smile and serve the costumers with joy.
When classes resumed i try to manage my time in school and work. My classes starts from 7AM and ends at 5PM. After my class i immediately go to my workplace which is 1 hour travel from school. My work schedule is from 6PM to 11PM. I even arrive late sometimes and it is being deducted in my salary.

As the days pass by, I'm getting closer with my workmates, we spend our time together after work. We are like one big family.
12107209_1022548997776654_7660249286788455883_n.jpg
Some of them were like me who is working to help their parents financially.. Some of them are working to send their selves to school.. They are also a part-time students, but they don't depend on their parents, they strive to support their own expenses. Some are regular workers who have been there for many years, they are working to support their own family, their sons/daughters, or their brothers and sisters.

They share their experiences in work and all about their struggles in life. There, i have found out that no matter how bad you think your problem was, there's always someone else whose going through a worse problem than yours. I just remembered how amazing these people are. They are always smiling and active while working. It's like they didn't have any problems at all. But behind those sweet smiles and endurance hides their untold stories.

12143145_1023744730990414_3808147462825609462_n.jpg
12088006_1023744170990470_2388110420357003815_n.jpg

When i was still working there, i have witnessed and experienced a lot of embarrassing moments. I have seen costumers who are complaining, costumers who are easily angered and keeps on glaring like they wanted to eat you alive. When i was in my 3rd month, there is one time i worked with a newly hired crew, we are assigned in the counter when one costumer, shouted at her and called her stupid just because she unintentionally punched a different meal. She walked out, went to the CR and cried. That's the saddest part of being a service crew, you're being judged without being understood.

As for me, being a service crew at the same time a student, its very exhausting. There are times that i wanted to give up my job and focus in my academics. Because i noticed some of my grades are getting low, I was triggered that i might fail any subjects. So i exerted extra time in studying. Imagine going home very late, sometimes the manager ask me to take over time, how can i resist it, its an extra income. lol. Then when i already got home, its not time to take a rest yet, i open my books and study for the exams on the next day or doing some school projects and assignments. I can't get enough rest, I only take 2-4 hours of sleep in a day. Working 5-6hrs a day cost me a salary of 2000+php. I never got a salary beyond 3000php. With all these restlessness and struggles, i never made quiting as a choice. I always put into mind a verse in the bible that gives me courage to face each day..

“And it shall come to pass that everyone who calls on the name of the Lord shall be saved. For in Mount Zion and in Jerusalem there shall be those who escape, as the Lord has said, and among the survivors shall be those whom the Lord calls.”
-** Joel 2:32 **



Image Source

The semester ended as my contract ends. I'm very glad that i was able to pass all my subjects. :) It's a great achievement for me. I was able to help my parents and i was able to pursue my studies. The manager even recommended me to become a regular worker there, but when i told my mother about it she didn't allowed me. She said it was enough, doesn't want me to struggle all along. She told me to just focus on my studies.

Great thing i've learned is that how bad the situation is, always bring the good out of it.


Image Source


Thanks for taking time to read my story. :)

This is your friend,
@geeyang15 ;)

STEEMIT FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

I love it when people share a piece of themselves and let people take a peek of the challenges and triumphs you faced in your life.

This is such an inspiring tale of perseverance, humility, never giving up and working hard. I applaude you.

I wish you more success in your life and I know you are doing awesome.

Thank you so much @maverickinvictus :) Wish you all the bestin life.. God bless and more power.. :)

So proud of you mdzm! You took the initiative to help your parents to be able lessen the pressure of the given challenges! You see, after that experience, you can now attest that every experience has something to contribute to our lives. In every challenge, it is just right to remind ourselves that:

"This too, shall pass."

Aja giiirl!

Thank so much ate @namranna.. :) Yes, every challenges takes a great lesson and advantage with it.. :) God bless and more power.. :*

You're welcome dzaiii <3

Thanks my friend.. :) godspeed..

hi @geeyang15.. I love Jollibee , this is the company that really helps me alot.. I admire you for your perseverance , you're a great lady. Keep up your good work remember this quote "I believe in hard work, not luck factor. The best efforts will reap the best fruits." ( source:Rakul Preet Singh)

hello @regine :) Thank you so much.. yes that true.. i love that qoute, agreed.. stay awesome.. God bless and more power.. ;)

Its great. Dati din kasi akong service crew sa jobee

good to know.. :) di madali maging crew, hehe san ka na assign?

Thank you so much for featuring my post.. :)

Good job, keep up my friend, I like your post.

Thank you so much.. :) Godspeed..

It's so hard to be a service crew, but you need to be good crew even you're tired, just give them a beautiful smile.

Indeed.. :) It's part of the duty to serve people with passion and joy.. :) Thanks for dropping by.. :)

This post has received a 0.03 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by yjovannie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.73
ETH 3108.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50