Can you please spare few minutes to read the story of a humble soul?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Yes Friends... His paintings have reached far away places on this planet, his students have become the celebrities in this world, but he is still the same 'down to earth' person, a simple and humble soul as before!!

He is none other than my beloved father, and @firepower's grandfather Mr. Gangadhar Rao Kodikal.

I've started writing about him on this platform with the pics of his great Artwork in my series of posts # Meet my Dad and look at his Artwork.

He worked as a drawing teacher in a Government School, and after his retirement he opened his own Art School and has taught drawing and painting to a huge number of students. He is having his students spread over various parts of the world, who still have a lot of respect for him. They never mind meeting him even now though some of them have become the great celebrities!!

image

One such celebrity is 'Master Chef Vikas Khanna'. An internationally known chef with Michelin starred fame.
He was a favorite student of my Dad somewhere in the 90's for one or two years, but he still remembers my Dad. Once in a year in the month of April, when he comes to Manipal, he makes it a point to meet my Dad and takes his blessings even now. This is the photo of one such occasion last year.I've seen even some other students of my Dad, who often call him even now, and talk with great respect, love and care.

Though he was leading a very poor life then, he never charged a great amount of fee to teach art and painting. For those who were not able to pay fee, he never minded teaching them for free. Mom was an ideal wife to him and she used to supply food from her kitchen for those poor children who were coming to Dad's school to study Artwork.

You know my dear Friends, the only vehicle my Dad had was a second hand bicycle. He had it until his 70s,then he sold it.

My hard work and a good job has fetched me many luxuries in life. When I first learned driving about 20 years ago and I made him sit in my Maruti 800, it was his life's greatest pleasure then.

Now though he likes to sit in my small car Maruti Alto, he feels more happy and comfortable with my son @firepower, in his beautiful Ford Fiesta. Whenever my son calls him for a drive, he soon agrees and gets ready with great pleasure.!!

One more thing which has inspired me much about my Dad is though he had brothers, who were much more rich, he took the responsibility of looking after his parents and they (my grandparents) preferred to stay with us until their last days.

So it is my duty now to take care of my parents and to see them happy and healthy.

I've told my Dad about this platform and I have started to write about his Artwork. Am daily showing him the comments I receive for my posts. He feels so happy when he gets some praise for the real hard work he has done throughout his life time.

So my dear Friends... Please check my blogs daily, even if you vote with 1% upvote it's fine. But please read the entire series, have a look at his Artwork, and please don't forget to leave a comment, which in fact reaches my Dad and makes him happy at this age.:)

He has received a number of prizes and honors for his Artwork. Also he has managed to get the appreciation and autograph of our first Prime Minister Mr. Jawaharlal Nehru, on the portrait he made in 1957. I am going to load these details in my future blogs.

**With much love and regards to each and every one on this platform, @geetharao **.

Sort:  

Congratulations @geetharao! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I love his artwork! Following!

My father is also a government teacher and I can understand the humbleness of any teacher. I was a pleasure reading this post.

Wow wow wow! Chef Vikas Khanna!!!? Your dad is really a superhero sister. Chef Vikas is such a famous figure in the food scene!

Hi Bro... Yes, I was thinking... For sure you will notice this.
And yes, Chef. Vikas Khanna is a great celebrity in the food scene. He treats us as his family... He too used to call me didi like you, and my son as Bhanja (nephew)... :)

My parents are also retired teachers, and I can relate with the feeling. Teachers guide and support so many students. And the love and adulation they receive from these students all their lives is what makes them the happiest. I am proud of being the son of teachers, just like you.
Its great to read about your parents ma'am, and much best wishes and regards to them...

Hi Sir... @jznsamuel. It's great to know that your parents are also retired teachers. I have a great respect for teachers. Are you from Karnataka or a Goan? I think you are an Indian. Is there any link to your intro post?

Yes, I'm Indian. From Chennai, born and brought up in Jharkhand ma'am :)

Thank you Sir. Your command over English language is pretty good. I like your writings. Please check the blogs of @nehab on this platform. (I don't know if you are already friends). She is a very good artist and she writes beautiful poems along with her art work. I've seen her old blogs. You may like it.
So are you settled in Chennai now?Anyways... Thank you once again.

thank you ma'am, your feedback is much appreciated. sure, will check her blog out... Yes ma'am staying in Chennai.

It is great to read this wonderful post madam. I appreciate your efforts to keep your parents happy. Convey my wish to your parents. May god bless them with peace, health and happiness for many more years.

@geetharao , your father is a humble soul . He is a true teacher. I always believe that a teacher cannot be created in a classroom through degrees. Great teachers are born with the wisdom of empathy. Your father is blessed by God and his talent as an artist and as a teacher is great, And you are an amazing daughter to him. And @firepower , the super grandson cannot be forgotten ;) :D . The best thing bout your family is that all of you support each other. This is commendable. May god always bless you all :)

Thank you so much @nehab. Am showing your posts to my Dad every day. He likes it so much. Best wishes to you too.
One more thing... If you have time, please check the blogs of @jznsamuel. He is a great photographer and philosopher like you, and also writes beautiful poems. One of my good friends on this platform. I've told him also about you... :)

I will definitely check your friend's blog 😊.
And you are most welcome @geetharao. My pleasure to be acquainted with your dad and your family 😊

Hello @geetharao!

I'm happy to choose this post for my "Care To Read "Crossword Puzzle Contest No.5. I'm posting a link to this post in all my posts related to this contest.

Thank you for writing awesome content!

(BTW, anyone who read this post have an edge in participating in this contest as they have already completed some required task by reading this post 😊)

Ha ha.. Ok friend or brother @xyzashu... You are welcome.

But pl keep in mind. Don't ever send that tip to my account in future. I want to work on my own, giving good content and original one with maintaining some standard of quality as my son.

Thank you for your support here as a steemian.. :)

No, I won't!
My intentions weren't to hurt anyone. If you're still feeling that bad about it, I won't mind if you return that back to me. My sincere apologies to you and I wish all the best to you for your future on Steem.

There is always a difference of perspectives and we mostly think from our own perspective only. But anyway, I consider all feedback seriously. I have discontinued using that bot since you objected. Perhaps you haven't noticed that my post footers do not carry any message regarding my tip offer since the day you expressed your displeasure.

But I'm still open to any alternative bot for this purpose. You haven't provided me any suggestion for that yet. Until then, I don't have any option to continue with that. So no worries at all! (I haven't got enough balance in that bot and am not recharging it anymore, so either I'll withdraw it all or if it's too less, may be a few tips ...or a single one with whatever is left could be made from me. But please be assured that it won't be you).

Thanks for understanding me!

Hi.. Please read this carefully. I didn't get hurt in any way. But there may be so many minnows or newbies who have just joined, and they really deserve such support from us. So if you choose some one from them, I'll be more happy... :)

Good to know this! As I said, we all have different perspectives. To be honest, I don't do it for anyone whether a minnow or a whale. I do it for myself, for my pleasure. Being myself a minnow, I'm not in a position to strongly support other minnows and this is not an act of support from me. For that, there are whales & dolphins like you 😜. But yes, you've given a message to me here. Thanks for it!

Hi listen again from my side. Please be cool. I'm also not a whale or a dolphin. I am also a humble minnow, just joined 4 months back.
But after joining, for first 6 weeks, I spent all my free time atleast 6 to 8 hrs a day, to read all the posts mainly in 'trending', and all other important posts, of the whales, giving good comments.

During this one and a half months so many have asked me who I am and why I've not put my Intro post yet.
After building that curiosity, when I came forward with my Intro, I was welcomed in a good way. That's all.
Even now, after completing my work at home, (I don't like the concept of servants and do everything on my own), I sit with my phone for hours together though it has started affecting my eyes.
Sometimes I feel bad that when I was writing about flowers, or animals, I was getting more upvotes and now after I started giving good content it has come down. But anyway I am happy that am doing something here.
There was no intention of hurting or annoying you in any way. If I've done so, then I feel very sorry for it. But I thought at least I am doing something here, and some newbies may deserve that tip from you, than me.
So please don't feel bad, am sorry once again if you got hurt. Hope you understand me.

Hey, peace! No hard feelings anywhere. I respect everyone's choice and you have every right to make your own choice. Now, I got the reason and your generous thinking behind your denial, which in turn has increased my respect for you.

Thanks a lot for elaborating your initial working strategy for Steemit. I can understand that you have put a lot of hard work ...so here's a good news ...You are a Dolphin now 😊. With a SP of over 2,000 & over 4 M vests, you are already a dolphin. Congratulations for acquiring this status so soon. Kudos to all your hard work! But do take care for your eyes, which are more important. IMHO, you should opt for a laptop or a desktop instead of a mobile for prolonged usage. Take frequent short breaks (for capturing more flowers & animals 😉).

But yeah, keep steeming on 👍!

Hi Friend... Son has already gifted me, one., But I am yet to use it.
After my retirement, I went for a course, Ms office, but it is 15 years ago and never touched laptop, as I was always busy. So have forgotten what I studied in my class. Yes my posts are nearing 90. So now I have to sit with it now, to learn. Hope I can do it within 2 to 3 days... So that at least I must be able to post my 100 th blog from my laptop!! Wish me good luck.
Thank you so much :)

Thank you for sharing the personal side of life, indeed very touching and glad to know. His artwork is also good, I liked it alot.

Your dad is awesone @geetharao
He is a genius man, and a good teacher
I can tell from looking at photos on this platform
Excellent 👏👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43