My Finished Toothpaste Taught Me Lessons

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Once the toothpaste is out of the tube, it is awfully hard to get it back in. - H. R. Haldeman

This was my fate this morning when I woke up and wanted to brush my teeth. As usual when I get up from bed the first thing I do is to take care of my teeth then go have my bath but this morning was quite different; my tube was empty, there was no paste in it. I noticed the reduction in the paste as I kept on using it three days ago and hoped to buy another one but I was penniless, I was without any cash to buy another toothpaste and the price of things had spiked up.


credit

Inflation is like toothpaste. Once it's out, you can hardly get it back in again. - Karl Otto Pohl

Seriously my toothpaste getting finished at this point in time thought me several things just as it has thought me about inflation. Things rise fast at every slight opportunity, but finds it very hard to drop to its normal price when things regularizes itself.

I had to brush my teeth and I had no money on me. Asking my neighbors would have been a good idea, but it would look awkward and I keep my self-esteem high, so I had to borrow some quotes.

That if desperate times call for desperate measures, then I'm free to act as desperately as I wish. - Suzanne Collins

When you're at the end of your rope, tie a knot and hold on. - Theodore Roosevelt

I decided to cut the tube of the toothpaste to enable have access to the remaining toothpaste, on a good day, I would not do that but I learned a little about economics and made sure I did not waste the toothpaste.


credit

I was able to brush my teeth today and I hope to buy a new toothpaste today. My everyday life is full of different experiences that I learn from.

Would you do the same thing I did if your get finished and you have no cash to purchase another one?

If no, what would you do?


Thanks for reading


PLEASE YOU CAN UPVOTE, FOLLOW AND RESTEEM THIS POST. ALSO YOU CAN VISIT MY BLOG @gbenga ON STEEMIT


I ALWAYS WELCOME CRITICS AND COMMENTS, ALSO IF YOU FEEL THERE IS SOMETHING I NEED TO DO TO IMPROVE, PLEASE INCLUDE IN YOUR COMMENTS


Regards
From small-4605-5908eb3da2bfa.png

Sort:  

I remember cutting a tube of toothpaste once; was as desperate as you. The circumstance didn't generate any deep thoughts though :) Good post!

i had no choice but to do it. thanks a lot for sharing your experience with me

It should be called teethpaste, and you know it. :D

that i agree..... thanks :)

What I have done before is to hold the tube against the wall and the with the smooth part of my toothbrush drag the toothpaste from the back to the front. I enjoyed this post

thanks for sharing your experience, i have done that before i guess

Of course I will do it. Even so, not for money but because we need to use our recourse in the most efficient way, avoiding leaving leftovers.

If all we use ours recourses in a way more efficient we not need to use more materials of the planet and we can live good.

that's true, i do not support wasting at all... thanks for reading my post

I like it and i up voted it

thanks friend

thanks a lot for reading my post

Cool post, I've been there many times myself too! I use very little now, even when I'm fully stocked. I learnt I don't really need very much to get the job done.

cool indeed... i really appreciate your time reading my post... thank you very much

Haha thanks for sharing ! Upped ! I thought this was going be a story lIke : when you say something , but wish you could take it bake ! LOL ! Like , once the cat is out of the bag ... Non the less , great story , I liked it ! Steem on my friend ! 👍👍👍💙

i raised your hopes!!! that's good. thanks for taking time to read my post

LOL ! Your welcome ! 👍😂

I decided to cut the tube of the toothpaste to enable have access to the remaining toothpaste, on a good day, I would not do that but I learned a little about economics and made sure I did not waste the toothpaste.

I always do this type of stuff. The packaging is usually designed to waste product and get you to spend more of your hard-earned money sooner! Nothing to feel ashamed about. That's just being wise!

That said, I mostly use hydrogen peroxide these days as "toothpaste", and if we need something grittier, we even make our own with borax, baking soda, peppermint oil, and a few other inexpensive ingredients!

wow!! that's brilliant... i would love to learn hoe that is made. thanks for sharing

there are many recipes you can find if you google around, but in the end you sort of play around with the ingredients til you find one you really like. Sounds like I may have to post about it at some point. But for now, here's one example that's sort of similar to ours:

https://wellnessmama.com/2500/remineralizing-toothpaste/

thanks for sharing, i'll check it out....

thank you very much for reading. i hope to see you continuously

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72