Saturday, literature, guns and coffee

in #life5 years ago

Have you ever seen a more eclectic group of words lumped together before? Saturday, literature, guns and coffee. There could be stranger combinations however most people probably would not group these things together. I'm not most people though, and so I do.

20190615_102919_2.jpg

Saturday
Today started like any other day, I woke up [always a good day when that happens] and I got straight down to the serious business of Saturdaying. Household chores? Hell no, bra! I mean hard core weekending. Living life! I love weekends and work hard tirelessly conscientiously a lot a little bit throughout the week to permit me the feeling that I deserve the weekend and the impetus to full-frontal attack it. And I do.

Literature
I've recently picked up a book called The Count of Monte Cristo. I have no clue as to why it's taken me 49 years to pick it up considering it's one of my favourite stories however that's the truth of it, I have not read it yet. So, the morning consisted of a little reading over breakfast and coffee. It feels good to be reading, always feels good to be reading, and to have finally started this book. What a cultured Saturday morning.

Guns
I read for about four hours until 10am then went out to my workshop/garage to get organised for the next phase of operation Saturday. I shoot most weekends, normally 1-3 times a week actually, and today I had a club match at my range. It was a practical handgun match. If you're interested to see what it looks like you can review this post right here which was me shooting last weekend at a big event.

I shot well today, probably to the best of my ability, although that's bullshit isn't it, because one can always do better, find a little more dig a little deeper, be faster, more accurate and such. So, I shot well and will probably place reasonably out of the 70 or so shooters.

After the mandatory shit-talking-sesh at the range with my fellow shit-talkers (aka. mates) I headed home to clean my handgun (CZ Shadow 2 as pictured above) and pack away my gear.

Coffee
I'll admit that this element of Saturdayness was deployed throughout the entire day. It's one of those elements that can't be reserved for one singe evolution but must be liberally dispersed throughout the entire deployment of operation Saturday. It's a lot like my ethos, which you can read at the very end of this post...It has to be well-executed and liberally applied...

So, it's late Saturday afternoon here folks and I've been writing this with the idiot box (Television) on. An idiot flat-panel I guess these days. I'm going to smash out a Netflix movie right now, Act of Valor (2012) whilst I'm waiting for my wife to come home and then Saturdaying will continue once more...Probably with some Indian food and deployment of operation Saturday-night.

I hope you've all got something awesome exciting perfect perfect enough planned that keeps you happy, energised, interested in life and thankful that you have the choice to live it largely in the way you decide.

Happy weekending y'all. Get after it!

Today's soundtrack by: Five Finger Death Punch, Atreyu and Shinedown (thanks @honeydue for that tip).


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

Sort:  

Sounds like a pretty epic Saturday! Mine has barely gotten started. I got up at 4:00, which is pretty standard, and I'm having tea and catching up on browsing my feed, and in a while I will go milk the goats, and we'll see what exciting adventures await after that! I don't have weekends, really. I work every day, but my work involves hanging out with goats, so I don't mind never having a day off. That's not true. I would love to have a day off now and then!

Everyone needs a day off! You should treat yourself. Get someone else to goat-mind while you go get after a day off!

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you want to fly over and hang out with goats for a couple of days? Hee hee.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmm, long way to come for goat-minding...If there's some home-cooking involved you might be able to tempt me...😁

Posted using Partiko Android

One of my favorite books. Looks like a good day.

Always a good day when one gets to shoot and read. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Own the weekend mate👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Giving it a good crack! 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

😁👍

Posted using Partiko Android

😁👍

Posted using Partiko Android

The Count of Monte Cristo is one of my favourite books of all time. Alexandre Dumas' classics are always worth a read. I saw the movie one time and I regretted it. The book came out tops in the contest.

You have a pretty active Saturday. Lucky you. I woke up, opened the doors and windows then went right back to bed. I just woke up now. Wrote on my diary, tapped at my computer for some few minutes, trying to force life into a story I started a few days ago then walked away from it. I am going to do some laundry next, look for something to eat, wander about the internet, looking for who to chat with, write some more, do a bit of trading. Nothing serious.

Days like yours aren't bad either. I have them too. Sleep in's are awesome and I'll be doing it tomorrow!

I liked the 2012 Monte Cristo movie, enjoyed it but I find books always offer a little more, as you say.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Literature is a gun, if used correctly 🙃 and coffee works im every circumstance. Again, glad you're enjoying the music, but then, it's in the job description, innit? 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, yeah you're right on all counts! Really diggin' Shinedown.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.446 which ranks you at #2091 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 2096).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 166 contributions, your post is ranked at #51.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Ahhhh yes..... 5 F. D. P. "UNDER & OVER IT"

Working Hardly 2 day. Maybe a 5 Hr. Death Ride. Then the last few hrs. Sunday morning to Kansas City.

I am going 2 spend my Sunday afternoon at Cabelas near Leavenworth KS. Where I deliver this load of Woodcraft Cabinets monday at 0700 cst.

Do Ya'll have Cabelas Downunder...?

https://www.cabelas.com/stores/Kansas/Kansas_City/008.jsp

They have big truck parking, how cool is that....?

Posted using Partiko Android

We don't have Cabela's down here but I bought some stuff online once. Some hunting clothing.

Drive safe mate. Get some 5FDP playing to keep you company.

I love: Bad Company, Wrong side of heaven, Got your six, No sudden movement, Diggin' my own grave, I apologise...All their songs really!

You should check out Shinedown. Not as full on as 5FDP but good rock nonetheless.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 5.29% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63