You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still Pissed Off About That Time You Did Something Awesome and Nobody Noticed?

in #life5 years ago

Hey man, I have many posts I've spent hours and hours on, that mean a lot to me and figured it would be wrong to repost them. This is a good concept though and provided they identify it as a repost I reckon it's a winner - And follow your guidelines of course.

Since curating for curangel I've been looking a lot harder for good content but I just can't promote a single blurry photo of a flower with the text A flower at the bus stop or some such thing. I see so many posts that with 150-250 words of thoughtful text, an explanation maybe, I would be happy to promote and upvote. Many are just lazy and so I leave them to their 0.04 payouts and move on. It's a shame but a reality of the environment now I think. I can't count how many times I've seen a single photo post and said in my head just write some damned words!

I'm not sure if I'll repost any of mine...Time will tell, but I see it as a good opportunity for others. Hope to see some good ones.

Good post mate.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

We all have those posts. Now that you've built up a larger following and hopefully this concept gets rolling so a few new eyes browsing the tag can see, on a day that's meant to kick back and enjoy some long form content, why not show it off again. Most will probably want to make it better as well. Combinations of shorter posts, maybe with a similar theme, why not make a post of it. To me, when done responsibly, it's normal. Even with movies one can watch it with commentary, or with the deleted scenes included. So many different variations of the same content. I trust people will be able to find ways to make old stuff work again.

Those simple one photo one liner posts... I've voted for some in the past but now it's like — I can't. Not when the post next to it probably took the producer a few hours to put together and that time doesn't even include the time spent producing some of the content within, like artwork, or processing actual photos, editing video, whatever. I don't mind a one photo with a decent amount of interesting words post at all. I've done that with my art quite a few times. The art probably took half the day to produce!

Your bro did a post recently where he took some photos that he's used here in the past, arranged it all, made it look cool... and I was thinking why don't more people do stuff like this? I was impressed with that post, even though I'd already seen some of the content. It was still a new experience.

And yeah, it's totally up to you. I don't think I've annoyed you folks with a repost before? Some of those are jokes. It sucks if you already know how it ends. I try to be careful. There's also the part about me not seeing a lot of good stuff from the past produced by others. Most of the folks commenting here today, and plenty of others, I know for a fact I haven't seen all their stuff. I'm hoping to see some interesting stuff, maybe.

I guess we'll see how it goes.

You convinced me...I'll make it happen and see how it goes. You make some valid points about my greater following and the promotion of this tag so yeah, I'll find something I like and make something of it. Thanks for the inspiration.

EDIT: P.s. @nonameslefttouse I tried to start a tag #whereonwednesday a while back. Tomorrow my ninth one will go live. I thought it may give people a good excuse to post about something in their life...Anything. Anyway, I do it and enjoy it. I see your tag as a good opportunity and hope it catches on. I have one picked out for this Sunday already. Will work out how to present it. :)

Well, I'm happy to hear that. I'll be voting only for that tag on Sundays. We all know I don't have the most powerful vote on the platform so I can't make people rich! I just hope it catches on and more curators help make it worthwhile. I mean, I'm already looking forward to Sunday now and for me, that's a day when I actually have time to focus on reading and curating. Most days I'm in a rush.

Since this post is currently trending, I'll upvote your comment to the top and maybe that'll get some eyes on your tag. #whereonwednesday!

Thanks mate, I hope you like what I have selected. I'm working on it now actually and will post a link to the original also. I'll post it Sunday my time, Australian CST, not sure where you are so you might have to search for it. :)

All I'd have to do to find it is write #showcase-sunday in the post editor, click the link in the preview, and away I go to the Showcase Sunday trending page. Or I can come to this post and click the links here. Different time zones might mean I'm late but I'll be there... eventually!

Cool...Surprise surprise mine's an historical post...A topic I'm passionate about. You'll see. :)

I will see but for now, I think it's time to catch some z's. Been a busy one here today. Might have to hire an assistant...

Go catch them. :)

@whatamidoing has (or used to have) a dead post contest where on his comment section you would share posts that you thought were great but didn't get attention for whatever reason.

It was lots of fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16