French toast, bacon, maple syrup and creative writing...

in #life6 years ago

The weekend is here, the most pleasing segment of the week to some, certainly me that's for sure. OK, so work isn't too bad and I like my job and the rewards it brings me very much...But the weekend? Well, it's something else again! I tend to get after it on the weekends...What is IT? Life my friend. Life.

I've spent the morning (getting after it) by sleeping in until about 0800 (8am and yes, I'm a lazy bugger huh?) and then needed to go to the local shopping centre to collect my new glasses from the optometrist. I am wearing them now...Struggling a little but I'll get used to them. I also messaged with a friend for a few hours which is great because we have similar interests and thoughts on many things, but also completely opposite as well. It makes for enjoyable chats despite the vast distance between our respective locations.

Right now I'm in my friends café with my computer about to start a new piece for Steemit. The image above was taken just now. I tortured the friend I was chatting with, of course, by sending an image of my breakfast: French toast, crispy bacon, a couple of fried eggs all covered with maple syrup. A good healthy Saturday-morning breakfast. There was some food-envy and I belive the words they used were, "I hate you". I get it, I'd hate me too...(My friend doesn't really hate me of course..., Well I hope not.)

I'm going to try and write something a little different today. I've been thinking about writing more creatively so I am going to attempt writing a battle scene; Not one of modern warfare, but something from ye olde days when men were men and hacked away at each other with swords and differences were solved at close quarters with blade, spear, morningstar, battle axe and arrows...And without CNN to (mis)report every little action.

I'll write the blog here in the café. I get distracted of course but I like writing in public as it allows me to get distracted and if so then I obviously need a break. A little people watching and some stranger-gazing (as my friend would put it) and I'm back on point writing again. If I am engrossed in my work then I don't look up, hear the bustle of the other patrons or anything else. I just write. It's the best of both worlds really. Besides, I'm planning to have some cheesy-stuffed (crumbed) jalapenos for lunch and don't know how to make them for myself [Read: Too lazy to do so] so what better place to be huh?

Later this evening I have a black-tie formal event to attend. It's an industry thing and I happened to have made the finals for a particular category so I have no choice but to attend despite not wanting to. Sunday will be spent relaxing, a drive in the country maybe, and visiting my dad in his nursing facility. He suffers from dementia so it's never really pleasant.

Anyway, I hope you all have a great weekend planned and that you get the most out of it. Now, I have to write some stuff.

Sort:  

Enjoy your day and the formal event

Thank you on both counts. Have a great weekend yourself.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

When I was younger, I always wrote my poetry in public. Usually at 24 hour diners or really, really rough coffee houses...lol I loved the "needed to be distracted" element to it and a diner at 3am is the BEST people watching on the planet! Looking forward to reading some of your creative writing.

3am is for sleeping at my age my man...Not writing :)

I get it though, can make for some good inspiration.

3am is for sleeping at my age my man...Not writing :)

Lol for you and me both!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81