Drinks and lunch at the Republic: "Last day ever" shenanigans!

in #life6 years ago

Yesterday I wrote a blog about my last day ever...No, not on the planet, just for 2018, as far as work goes anyway. I suggest you take a read otherwise you'll never know just what you're missing! Read it here - It's magnificent

I mentioned that I'm taking a work colleague for lunch which has now happened. I'm back at my office writing this before I leave for the last time in 2018 and start my holidays. Anyway in that post, which I suggest with every fibre of my being that you read because its magnificent, I made an open invitation for steemit users to join us at the Republic and if they did I'd provide a free drink, on the condition they uttered the magic code phrase. Magic code phrase or not I was having a cheeseburger. Here it is together with the sweet potato fries we both ordered along with our gin and tonics. if you're wondering...The gin was a local one from Applewood Distillery in the Adelaide Hills. Get on it!

I'm pleased to say my offer was taken up. I won't embarrass those steemit users who turned because it got somewhat out of hand...Alcohol may have had a hand in that, however I can say that for those lucky users the drinks, and good times, flowed freely. Once the magic code phrase was uttered drinks, and festivities, ensued as did the rollicking good times. I don't think my colleague knew quite what was going on but she played along and joined in. I'm not sure if we'll be able to show our faces at the Republic ever again as I think the repair bill may be a bit out of control!

So, the clock is ticking and I'm not long for this world...The world of my office in 2018 that is. I've had a productive year and my department is well on-track to smash last years figures. I have a great team who shine brightly, stand tall and own it when it comes to business. They're like a fat kid on cake (All over it). And personally...I'm currently sitting at 73% of my annual budget after only 50% of the financial year (6 months) so I'm on track to crush it which makes the Directors, and my bank balance, very happy. Or it will come the end of the financial year on June 30 2019, when its bonus time.

Speaking of 2019...It's drawing inexorably closer. It's my 49th in existence and I think it might be a good one...I have a few things planned and are also about to start planning a Euro trip for 2020 which will make that a kick-ass year too...Who knows, maybe I'll get to meet some of you Euro-users in 2020? I hope so anyway.

Here's a couple of images from inside...Before the chaos. You can see the lovely bar staff making my G & T and in the other some of the revellers.

OK, the gin and tonics have kicked in...Must close my office door for a nap! (Haha, not really, going home instead!) OK, so that's a lie because I only had one G&T...I'm not much of a drinker. Still going home though, that shit was legit! 😂

See ya, wouldn't wanna be ya!

Sort:  

maybe I'll get to meet some of you Euro-users in 2020?

wink.gif

You crack me up.

I love this end of the year atmosphere, businesses closing, people taking time to be with their families. It's pretty much the same here as well, but I was talking to friends in the US and many only get one day off for Christmas and one for the New Year. Otherwise, it's business as usual, which I find most annoying.

I know, this end of year time, the time off I mean, is great. A nice way to finish up the year as a whole. I heard that about the US actually, that they don't have any real break most. I'd hate that.

French friiiiiiieeeessss
I love it
May I teast it
My mouth is watering 🤤🤤🤤

And and and merry Christmas 🤗🤗🤗😉😉

Oh yeah, sweet potato fries are pretty nice for sure!

Merry Christmas to you too!

I would have turned up but I had last minute stuff I had to deal with. I'm glad you had a great time. I love sweet potato fries.

Have a Merry Christmas, Happy New Year and have fun in Europe!

Posted using Partiko Android

Last minute stuff always seems to get in the way, at the last minute.

You got a 37.74% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56618.92
ETH 2337.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40