The unfolding story of how I became a professional artist (week 21)

in #life7 years ago

Welcome back for another week! I tried doing a bit of the more graphic style again for this first one. I really like the control I'm able to get with a brush pen but I also think it goes into a more comic book type of space. This isn't a good thing or a bad thing, just different, it's fun to try out different styles.


I went from that to a mostly watercolor painting. I think I got the most important parts with the limited time I had so I'm happy with it. It has an almost ethereal look to it.

I wasn't able to get outside to paint as much as I did last week but I did manage to get this very sunny patch of trees. I'm really getting into painting outdoors. It feels great to experience the way light changes as you sit and paint. There's a little bit of pressure like figure drawing the live model but it's also very relaxing.

The next four were challenging. I'm still letting the watercolor work "soak in", pun totally intended. I've been enjoying the way they come out and it's difficult yet rewarding when they respond the way I want them to. There's a fine balance between the wetness of the paper and how diluted or opaque your colors are. Brush wetness or dryness also comes into play and you get varied results with each combination. I've also seen some artists who will use salt to make the water behave differently. I'm looking forward to learning more as I do more painting.




Thanks for checking out my paintings, I look forward to sharing more with you next time. Enjoy your week!

Sort:  

Hello @fumansiu
You have been added to @artlink, an account on Steemit dedicated to share and promote new and aspiring artist on the platform just like yourself.

I love your nude sketches:) We have drink and draw sessions in my city. You come. there's free beer and a nude model to draw. It's really a great experience. I usually use graphic materials, but I whishone day I could draw nudity with watercolour like you do =) You've got a new follower in me, thatks for sharing your art =)

Hi @inber Thanks for the follow! I used to go to a drawing session where they had beer and food but I haven't found one that's as casual around where I live now yet, I might have to make one! I love the drink and draws. I only recently started using watercolors so I can tell you it's not easy, but it's not the worst thing after a few weeks of getting used to it. I started with one of those refillable water brushes and a cheap watercolor set to get going and I'm still learning. I would encourage you to do the same if you're looking for a challenge. Thanks for the comment, I'm glad you liked my art!

I use watercolour fluent and have a big variety of it, but not with nude models, I just need more time, and the longest pose of session is usually 20 minutes.
But yep, when I started drawing with it it also took me some time to get used to. There was a moment when I thought I'll never deal with this medium, but then I tryed to use it to create non-realistic art and it worked for me =)

@inger I just checked out your blog and realized I made an assumption, so sorry! I love your R2D2, awesome stuff. You have also gained a follower, I look forward to more of your work. The fish ideas were also super cool, I like your imagination.

It's not a thing to worry about =) And thank you for for kind words =)

Oh my God, now I'm really sorry and feel awcward. I kept thinking what fishes were you talking about untill I realized thet the only fish of mine in this blog yet is a oil fish that got into frame where my dogs photoes are. And then understood that you meant resteemed fishes. They're not mine, I've resteemed @coldmonkey, check him out, he's amazing. I see you already got that by yourself and edited your comment, but I felt guilty so decided to write this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67