Yakudoshi or "unlucky year" in Japanese culture

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday my German landlady decided to turn the flatshare where I live into two separate appartments and I have to move out. 

I lost my part time job, my professor doesn't like my recent work, my arm tendinitis is back and I'm still not sure if I'm in a long distance relationship with my boyfriend or if it's all over. Haha :D 

Yes. This year is my Yakudoshi (厄年), I have just turned 32.

Yakudoshi is a so called "unlucky year" in one's life belief in Japan that first appeared in Heian Period, so about a thousand years ago. A pretty long standing belief :)

 These "unlucky years" come several times throughout life, but happen at different ages for men (24, 41, 60) and for women (18, 32, 36).  Moreover, the years before yakudoshi and after are also considered unlucky. Sort of a warm up for what is going to come :) The ages of 32 for women and 41 for men are considered to be the hardest, and people going through them should be careful, especially with their health.    

Most Japanese usually visit a shrine and participate in a yakubarai (厄払い), a ritual to ward of unlucky spirits. A friend of mine told me that when she was turning 18, her grandma took a photograph of her to the shrine and performed the yakubarai ritual in proxy. The same friend hearing of all my recent misfortunes kindly sent me a yakuyoke (厄除け) lucky charm. So I'm hoping it's doing its job in protecting me and warding off unlucky spirits (like my German landlady maybe?). 

Usually though it is considered to be a transition period, when our bodies and life under go necessary change.

 So I hope all of these things that keep on happening these last two years are going to lead me to something better. Or at least, perhaps, a better and more affordable room, nicer part time job, healed arms, and a stronger relationship :D  

What do you think? Are you also going through something similar? 

Sort:  

I really hope with this re-start at Steemit it'll be luck from you from now on.

thank you for the support @edje :) I hope it is all luck rather than "misfortune", just something to correct the direction and bring me there, where I need to be :D

"After Rain comes Sunshine" that saying is not for nothing created :)
I hope the sunshine is around the corner for you.

Thanks for the share of this to Steemit Blogger Central. I am the guy running that, figured swing by and follow you and let you know I am posting your article for you now. Great write up, look forwards to seeing more from you

nice....your post deserve upvote and resteem...

thank you @lautenglye I appreciate your support :)

u r welcome...

Great cultural information. I've visited Fukoka and Nagoya Japan and understand how "luck" and "health" play into the culture. But for you to describe a personal experience how you did, I find so interesting. I certainly hope next year is your lucky year!

I've lived and traveled all over the planet and by far my favorite cultures are from Asia. You are all so kind and respectful. Simply pleasant to be around. Right now I'm in Central America. They are quite the opposite, rude, thuggy, and lacking morals, obviously not all but generally speaking.

On a further note, I'm new to Steemit and after a week I finally have got this platform figured out. Tomorrow I'm doing a big push with a fantastic new introduction article. If you could follow me or at least make note to check it out it would be greatly appreciated. I'll be posting it around noon eastern standard time. Thanks in advance- Dan Gardner "World Travel Pro!"

Thank you for your comment @world-travel-pro... I hate to disappoint you but I am actually hailing from Russia. I do agree that Asian countries are more polite and restrained in general, but in the end it comes down to actual people and how they were raised, and what they are going through. Arrogance can happen to anyone at any given point of time and space :)

I was told that to soften the yakudoshi your friends should organize a birthday party in the year. Then you should retribute it organazing the birthday party in the next year. Thanks for sharing and good luck! 気をつけて下さい!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86