You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do Americans Read Books? Can They Even Name a Book? ANY BOOK?

in #life6 years ago

Have you read anything good lately?

I read for entertainment and love a good story. A series that stood out to me recently is the Bobiverse series. The idea of putting a human consciousness into a spaceship that can gather resources and duplicate itself is really cool to me.

I primarily use audiobooks, but if I don't, I read ebooks on my phone. It's possible that a lot of the people that you assume are texting or listening to music are actually reading. I absolutely love that I can go for walk and "read" my audiobook at the same time.

Sort:  

Story is my passion. I studied film in university. Originally I wanted to be a filmmaker, but then I realized that it's just story that I love. But I'm also interested in learning about the world itself, so I try to balance my fiction and non-fiction reading.

I'm really drawn to speculative fiction and sci-fi. I think it's a great vehicle for philosophy and examining the human condition when done right. Your recommendation sounds interesting! I haven't heard of it.

Some of my recent reads include:

  • The Expanse series by James S.A. Corey. It's a great story bogged down by occasionally mediocre writing. Plus, it doesn't go as deep as I normally like my sci-fi, but it's still worth checking out. Though I honestly prefer the TV show.
  • Who Stole Feminism: How Women Have Betrayed Women by Christina Hoff Sommers. This is a really excellent book. It was written in 1994, but feels so current. Sommers is a classic "equity feminist" who writes about how the new breed of "gender feminists" have derailed the movement.
  • Outer Dark by Cormac McCarthy. Anything by McCarthy lives in its own realm of excellence. I've read most of his books, but there are a few gaps that I'm trying to fill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90