Walk.with.me #11: Phantasialand (Part 3) - A Mechanical Gondola, Scenic Monorail, and a Spinning Coaster in Dragon Phenie's Realm.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

this one.png

Time check — 11:30!

In 1.5 hours, we had sat on 5 theme park rides!

That took longer than I'd expected given the super short wait times (no more than 5 minutes per ride), but it made sense since we had to walk around to locate and head to each ride, stop for toilet and water breaks, and take photos of course! =p

What’s Next? A Timely Break!

The boys had munched on a couple sandwiches after riding Black Mamba. As @cobalus suspected, their churning bellies were no better off for this move. The break had to be extended!

While they sat nursing their bellies in mute discomfort, I enjoyed the view of the splashing fountains under the the merry-go-round. . .

IMG-20170805-WA0012.jpg

. . . and observed the decor of the Berlin zone. It appeared to be of a vintage theme. I got a photo with an old car model.

IMG-20170805-WA0034.jpg

Along came a little group dressed up in the previous century's high fashion, pushing along baby dolls in their buggies. At my request, they posed prettily for me.

IMG-20170805-WA0032.jpg

When I came back to the boys, they were feeling a little better.

”We should check out the Fantasy zone!”

We headed through a covered walkway decorated with lots of plants to Fantasy.

IMG-20170810-WA0007.jpg

Since Fantasy boasts a number of kiddy rides, the boys’ bellies should be able to survive and even enjoy a couple!

IMG-20170810-WA0016.jpg

We went to Wirtl’s Taubenturm (Wirtl's Pigeon Tower) first. It is an interactive mechanical gondola ride. The gondola is connected to an assisted pulley rope. You hoist yourself up to the top and let yourself slide down using the rope.

IMG-20170810-WA0009.jpg

IMG-20170810-WA0010.jpg

After that, we rode the Würmling Express (monorail)!

This monorail was probably the mildest ride that we sat on that afternoon. It travels at such a tortoise pace that you don’t even need a safety bar unless you’re a small child.

IMG-20170810-WA0011.jpg

IMG-20170810-WA0012.jpg

I loved the scenic views we got from the monorail ride. The pond was so calm and peaceful to gaze upon!

Then I spotted duckie paddle boats!!!

IMG-20170810-WA0014.jpg

And a water play area with boats moving slowly around in the distance! "How interesting. We must go there too!" I told The Mann. He agreed, probably because it looked nothing like Black Mamba. =P

IMG-20170810-WA0013.jpg

But first, a detour!

We took a stroll to Wuze Town. Dragon Phenie, the zone's mascot, stood ready to greet us!

IMG-20170810-WA0018.jpg

Dragon Phenie was not the reason why we went to Wuze Town. We were there to ride Winja's Fear & Force — the spinning roller coaster! Once renowned as Europe’s best indoor roller coaster, this one starts off with a dizzying ascent followed by a meandering ride which spins riders through dark areas and then down the heights of Wuze Town.

Winja's fear.jpg
Photo Source

How did The Mann and Rusty fare?

The Mann came away feeling fine. Rusty was close to mutinous about sitting on any more fast, twisty or spinning rides. Apparently, those are the ones that get to his stomach and head the most.

Now it was time to explore the depths of Section Fantasy!!

In Part 4, you will see what we found in the far ends of theFantasy zone. :)

Thanks for reading my post! If you liked what you read, there's more! Click on the picture below to see my previous posts in the Phantasialand series:

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

Walk.with.me #10: Phantasialand (Part 2) - Walk.with.me #10: Phantasialand (Part 2) - RAIK, River Quest, Black Mamba, and A DRAGON!

IMG-20170805-WA0027.jpg

Walk.with.me #9: Phantasialand (Part 1) - Riding TARON, the world's fastest & longest multi-launch rollercoaster!

TARON undulating.jpg

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

Picking-out the Best — Birthday Experience for an 18 year old!

IMG-20170728-WA0004.jpg

Address:
Phantasialand
Berggeiststraße 31-41
50321 Brühl, Germany

Opens:
1 Jul - 27 Aug 17 (Summer Season): daily 09:00 - 20:00
28 Aug - 5 Nov 17 (Summer Season): daily 09:00 - 18:00
6 Nov - 23 Nov, & 24 Dec 17: Closed
24 Nov - 30 Dec 17 (Winter Season): 11:00 - 20:00
Contact: +49 2232 36600

Sort:  

I wouldn't mind sitting the monorail. Much milder than a roller coaster! :)

hehe it was actually fun and relaxing sitting up there in cool weather with lovely views all about :)

sieht nach Spaß aus :)

Es hat Spaß gemacht @redtravels! :))

That place looks amazing! I'm looking forward to going to places like this. Soon soon :) Love the pics! Great adventure

Castles 'N’ Coasters should be close to you :) That one should be cool too!

Looks amazing with all the great photography and everyone had a Good time.

Someday I need to visit Germany...

Have a Good Weekend FW... Cheers !!

Someday you must visit us in Germany...and it will be your smiling faces in my photos :)) Have a lovely Tuesday, SA (@sacred-agent style hehe)!!

So happy to see Rusty having a blast! I love the pic of you two on the Wirtl’s Taubenturm , with such a big smile on your faces!
Hope I will get the chance to enjoy such a place one day!

What a heartwarming comment to type, @progressivechef! :) Reading it brought another smile to my face :) I hope to see your daughter's and your smiling faces on Wirtl's Taubenturm some day too!!

Love the post - Great content - Great Pictures and the perfect outlook on life!! ENJOY LIFE! waiting for your next post ...

Thanks @devrajlove! Appreciate your comment. Have a good Tuesday!

This post has received a 100% upvote from @melowd. Thank You for sharing @foodie.warrior. For more information, click here!

You're welcome, @melowd! Thanks for dropping by and have a wonderful Tuesday!

Phantasialand is a beautiful place; the scenery is magnificent. The rides are so crazy. But I would love to go on that monorail for the view. The mascots are so colorful. I wonder how many mascots you saw? I know, I have to wait and see. You all are crazy for getting on those rides! You call that fun? LOL! You couldn't pay me enough to get on them! At least all of you had fun and that's is what matters! Rusty will never forget this experience! : )

Yes, it really is very beautiful :) I love the mascots too hehe yes you're right!! you'll have to wait to see how many we saw that day. hehehe

hehe the feel of the wind combing your hair with its fingers and the constantly changing scenery while sitting on a fast coaster :) Yes, that's fun!! hehehe I would pay you 5 SBD to sit on Taron hehe

Hope everything is going well for you this Tuesday, health-wise and smile-wise :)

I would never get on Taron...read my lips...NEVER!

Aw, thanks for thinking of me and for caring. So sweet of you! And I am smiling now, all because of you! Thank you! : )

hehehe no worries, I've read your lips loud and clear! :)

Aww I made you smile! Well, you deserved it, because you always go around making others smile! :))

You are just too sweet! Aw...thanks! : )

It seems like you all had fun, despite all the loopty-loops and spin-and-swoops! I loved the interactive one, where you had to hoist up yourself with the rope. Very good descriptions, and photos, by the way! So amny cool dragons! It's also interesting that the theme park's theme is "phantasia" including everything and anything your fantasy can conjure up.
Just one thing about Taubenturm: Couldn't it be pigeon tower?

I believe you are right, @stortebeker! Your knowledge of German seems to be quite extensive..did you learn the language or pick it up through your travels?

Thanks for your kind words. Phantasialand really does include anything that your imagination can conjure ;)

Kinda both... I lived in Germany from the time I was seven until I was 16, and then later on again for a year off and on.

Ahh that explains it! :) And how did you like life in Germany vs in Mexico?

Ahhhh, the order vs. freedom dichotomy. It's hard to say. While living in Germany I always felt restricted in everything. Here in Mexico it's kinda like a free-for-all which can be a bit annoying too, and for sure it's not always more efficient. I guess a good middle-ground would be great, which is where "my third country" Hungary comes to mind. That place, however, is probably the worst alternative, with all the bad aspects of both, but without the advantages of either.

haha ah well, the leaders have their work cut out for them, if they have the best interests of the nation at mind. I've never tried, but I suppose it's really difficult to strike a balance or properly control the growth or core mindset of a nation, especially as land mass increases.

Looks like I'm crossing Hungary off any relocation list in the future ;)

Well, just because it doesn't meet my needs doesn't mean it can't work for you. ;-)

I like the ducky puddle boats on the water :PP

Quack Quack! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28