You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homemade Gnat Repellent

in #life6 years ago (edited)

That is a good recipe. The oils are a strong scent and then the soap help to carry it and keep it in place. Bug juice Gulash.

After a conversation with @fernowl13 in a post I made about mosquitoes in which she said:

How often do you eat bananas? We have severe problems with mosquito's here in the deep south. People who eat bananas at least once or twice a week, have much less problems from the little blood suckers, lol.

I have often wondered about the people in my family because almost no one in the entire family gets bit. I can only remember 2 bites in my entire life, both when I was young and spent a lot of times playing in the woods near the creek.

My daughter in law use to get so mad because she would be eaten alive while my son and I sat around untouched. She didn't believe it would help, but we started her eating bananas and within a couple of weeks they left her alone.

This lead me to talking to @stryeyz about the concept of banana oil for a bug repellent. Her co-worker is making bunches of different types of concoctions like creams, sprays, ointments, etc. She whipped up a batch of banana and vanilla oils in a small spray bottle for us. It has worked extremely well, it is just the duration it lasts. I am wanting to have her add some glycerin as a carrier to hold the oils longer on the skin.

There are so many different scent and oils that can be used it seems like a rotation of different formulas would be the best in the end.

I am going to try mixing up a batch of my own with the randomness I have floating around the house and see if I can find a workable formula. You have inspired me!

Sort:  

Oh my wow! Most repellents smell repellent, but one with banana oil? How smashing!

I have a million more thoughts I want to share, but I am stuck replying on my phone. Going garnet hunting all day tomorrow, then I'm going to continue this ramble, I'm super impressed with your ideas, can't wait to hear about your formula experimentations😊

Garnet hunting?? Locally? Hmmm.... you peaked my curiosity there! We have a spot WAY up north that we are going to at the end of the month, but someplace much closer would be nice to know of! I hope you find the motherload!

The banana and vanilla make the stuff smell EXACTLY like Bubble Yum or Bubblicous regular flavor gum. Their formula must contain the 2 flavors to some degree. The first time I sprayed the repellent on my skin I was instantly transported back to childhood and the flavor of the gum.

Oh I am so sorry it took me three whole days to reply back, it's been beyond banana oil round here, LOL!

The Emerald Creek Garnet Area is south of Saint Maries, Idaho, so a bit of a jaunt for ya, but not too far. Totally a fun day trip. I always bring home over a pound of star garnets, but then again I get a bit of garnet fever and dig like a fiend, LOL

Oh, your formula sounds delish! I would want to lick my arms if it smelled like Bubblicious, what a flashback! I am super impressed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59398.61
ETH 2510.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43