Cherry Blossom with flying scourge

in #homesteading6 years ago

Amidst my grilling last night I noticed the cherry trees in the yard are blowing up with blossoms. I took a minute to go and get a few shots with my phone and after the first few shots this monster came flitting around and landed on the flower I was photographing. The camera optics weren't willing to focus on the mosquito no matter how hard I tried to get it to so it looks almost like a shadow.

IMG_20180428_184525994-1.jpg

Needless to say I am a bit perturbed at the fact the mosquitoes are already out and about. I hope the summer is not a plague of em with all the moisture we have gotten this spring. I try an remove all the standing water I can but there is only so much that I can do.

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

AND/OR

See me on SOLA & signup with this link https://sola.ai/r/ZDVIZG

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

Sort:  

How often do you eat bananas? We have severe problems with mosquito's here in the deep south. People who eat bananas at least once or twice a week, have much less problems from the little blood suckers, lol.

I have often wondered about the people in my family because almost no one in the entire family gets bit. I can only remember 2 bites in my entire life, both when I was young and spent a lot of times playing in the woods near the creek.

My daughter in law use to get so mad because she would be eaten alive while my son and I sat around untouched. She didn't believe it would help, but we started her eating bananas and within a couple of weeks they left her alone.

That is really interesting. I will have to keep my banana intake going this year for sure. I wonder what compound it is that causes that? Essential oil of banana for a repellent?

Does banana have oil? I don't know but it has always amazed me that science has been unable to find a natural repellent that actually works, when I know hundreds of people that seem to natural repel them and hundreds that have tried the bananas. It is probably one of those things where it is it is not in big businesses best interest to actual solve a problem. They make more money creating chemicals and don't work for a lot of people.

I'm testing my compare_hash function on this image. 👍

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63