Am I worth It?

in #life6 years ago

I like to think of my heart to be like an onion, with multiple layers that become thicker the deeper you go.

The resemblance is eerie. You would have to shed a few tears cutting through the surface, tearing down the thinly veiled and unattractive walls I put up to defend myself from those who could easily give up on me because of my flaws.

Once you shed my unattractive skin, you get to see me in my pure and fully bulbous delight. But do not celebrate just yet. I still pack enough juices to sting you if you get too chummy for my liking.

In this new form, I am naked and insecure about how you would perceive me. It was so much easier being covered and ugly than naked before you.

In the past, some have loved me in this form; others have simply tossed me into the trash because I wasn’t what they expected me to be.

But, to get to know me in all my element you’ll need to carefully slice me and dice me; all the while tolerating the fumes I generate; because, I don’t know any better.

Some of my actions might offend you, and you could cut yourself and bleed if you take a misstep. But if you’re careful and patient enough; you’ll get to know all of me and enjoy the aroma I would bring into your life  

Am I worth it?


I like to think of my mind as a maze I cannot seem to escape from. With so many unfamiliar twists, turns and corners that make me get lost more often than not.

The few times I find myself, I hold on to those moments for too long, till it slips from my hands and once again and I am lost and even worse off than ever before.

If you ever cross my mind, be very wary; there are dangers around every corner, worse than minotaurs sober. Monsters that lure to maim and gore.

I try to make peace with them but they tend to rebel from time to time.

But don’t be scared, if you’re with me they’ll never hurt you. And though I can’t promise that we’ll find a way out of the never ending twists and turns I’ll put you through, I can assure you, you’ld atleast have a lot of fun along the way

Am I worth it?

I like to think of my life as a partner in a game of charades. With me forever looking to it for clues about what my future holds for me. I have a tendency to blindly guess what my next step is. Never waiting for clear clues; but rather jumping to conclusions at mere hints and hoping for the best.

Needless to say, I have sucked at the game for as long as I can remember. I always seemed to make the wrong choices, till I decided to take a break and properly learn the game.

Would it be worth it?

I guess we would have to wait and see

Sort:  

But do not celebrate just yet. I still pack enough juices to sting you if you get too chummy for my liking.

Reading the above got me laughing to tears, and then I realized that you're real onions. No other onions could have been realer, and I risk believing that you're worth it.
Well done @fisteganos for this amazing piece

Wow this is thoughtful, well in life people who love do not get to need a reason to see if you're worth it, although sometimes we can't know who we are really worth anything to, especially when we've got something people want, nevertheless you're right, even when your outter skin is pulled there's still that tendency to sting in an onion, but to you're friends it's nothing

Who would toss such a lovely man to the trash well dey re not worth you because from the few reports i have heard and seen ure a gentleman with a G. And hey thats a nice picture u got @fisteganos

Wow, this is a beautiful post.
Like it said all about me...
And you gat cute beards too.

you would just tell me that beards turn you on..!
i wouldn't have shaved mine.. :-(

I love that description with onion. I pity the lady that toss you off

Hey @fisteganos

Your use of onion to describe your personality is very succinct. Haha this article though. People who are patient enough will definitely see your good side and enjoy you greatly

@eurogee

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

am i worth it?

I ask myself that question every now and again

Congratulations @fisteganos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You are worth way more than your weight in gold. That much is a given. Will she realize that? Well, we'll just have to wait and see.

Flawlessly written Fi! So proud of you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.98
ETH 2320.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35