The Ballad Of Single Shot Jack

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Early on the evening after Halloween a couple rounded the bend, brakes locked, tires screamed
Black as pitch, weighing over a ton, was a bull in the road left them nowhere to run.
That bull belonged to a rancher named Jack, an old local boy, high school quarterback,
Married the sweetheart he met in those days, now with kids and grandkids and some cattle they grazed.
Jack was a man who could handle a gun, had one his hip ever since he was young.
He knew where to put a bullet in a bull, could take down a ton and leave one little hole.
What Jack found was a bull hit not just by a car, but 6 shots the cops put in him so far.
That made Jack angry, no doubt about that, insulted the cop and his gun, that's a fact.
As Jack loaded and shouldered his single shot weapon, just about to send that poor beast to heaven
His plan to put one bullet in a head became a hail of lead that left Jack dead!

They had called the man from his dinner, and as he put down the fork and knife.
He knew he was about lose a bull, but could not foresee the stife
Of being gunned down by his hometown cops, right in front of his wife
And the punks got away with his murder, they had badges and "feared for their life."

Those killer cops became the focus of public debate, past violence dismissed as just cop-hate.
Cops supposedly knew guns but don't understand if Jack really fired a shot, now he's an unarmed man?
So, you free little birds, you did get to skate, but I know, and you know, as does the Master of Fate.
We all know your crime was simple and sick: You unloaded on a man who was holding a stick.

This is based on a true story that happened in my little county a couple years ago. The rancher was Jack Yantis, and I encourage you to go to the facebook group "Justice For Jack" to learn more.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fishyculture to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

found my way to your through your comment on one of the introduceyourself pages - where you were questioning the number/position... I just joined a couple of days ago and am amazed on some of the numbers and scores... now I read your post and find myself the first to write a real comment.. with all of the latter going on, I do not even remember what I wanted to reply on... I think it had someting to so with the investigation of a ...was it facebook... site...

Was it about my comment on a person who had just signed up, made their first post and had a reputation score of 48? I was really hoping someone could explain to me how that is even possible.
But yeah, it is a little odd, these bots. I am trying to be patient, but if no one is actually reading anyone else's post, just a bunch of bots running around awarding brownie buttons, the "intrinsic" value of the steem is going to suffer, I would think. But then what do I know?

I decided to try it out for a couple of months - if then I feel this is all about keeping us bussy on the computer, I will let go of it again, coz there are just too many other great things to be done in life ;-)

LOL! I like you. Yeah, I jumped in here, and I have been REALLY trying to make a go of this. But I am doing some assessing now... I like to write, and this has forced me to write regularly. But it does sort of feel like we are being kept busy... I have a couple hundred followers! Who never look at anything I post, even those phony "facebook friends" at least give you a thumbs up now and then. What I am learning about the reputation score is really bumming me out. I guess if you get a whale to upvote ONE comment it can skyrocket your reputation. Sort of starting to feel like this is a platform for whales to have their egos blown... Quality content will only be rewarded if some whale deems you worthy. I guess I am lucky, I had a dolphin friend on here upvoting everything I did, now I realize I would have nothing if I had not had a friend on the inside... I dunno, not throwing in the towel yet, but definitely dampened my excitement.

I like you to - and enjoy our conversation!! :-) Guess I have to find out more about the whale / dolphin / minnow system, coz I don't even understand how that is set up yet... but just like you said, not throwing in the towel yet ;-) cheers from Germany

Just found this, blew my mind... Less than a week, 2 posts and a bunch of "Thank you" for for comments. Reputation score 53. In less than a week! https://steemit.com/@gisellekoy

well, and 73 followers... amazing.... so, what is your guess on what kind of fraud or tactic is making such a quick ride here possible? Have you thought about contacting @sherlockhomes?

Did not know about sherlock, but there is not really a mystery here. She interviewed Dan's father, the founder of the site. I had never heard of her but she seems to be a crypto rock star and personal friend of the founder... but that means they have some way to push their friends and their agenda above anyone and anything else that happens here and that kinda sucks. But... it is what it is.

Such a tragic story. We hit a deer recently. Weird to think my dad might have met with the same fate, if he was armed and needed to put it out of its misery.

They had called the man from his dinner, and as he put down the fork and knife.

This reminded me of the movie "Kick-Ass", in which the father/daughter team left a mug of hot chocolate to go do battle, and the father ended up dead; the daughter walked back in and the mug was still sitting where they had left it. Just a comic-book movie, but it really touched me.

...Such a sad and terrifying story...

Thank you for reading it. The civil case should be over soon, at that point I will talk about this case a LOT more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61029.99
ETH 3375.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48