I Am Collecting "Before" Pictures This Afternoon...

in #life6 years ago

because in about a week I will be ready to do my "after" ones for comparison!!!!

I won't really be totally done next week but it will be ready to move into. There are still a couple floors to be laid and some other odds and ends, but I may not get those done until after we are moved in. My chance to get shots of what I have finished in an empty house is next week. Looking at these, I am pretty pleased with the results. It is a midcentury manufactured HcMansion, one must keep their expectations reasonable when I do my big reveal, OK?

20170725_120522.jpg
This was last summer, I painted the exterior of the big house too. I was going for desert tones, sort of blend in. When I was all done, @longsilver says "It looks like a Forest Service building." Damn if he wasn't right, but we are just going to live with it.

20170619_120144.jpg
Without smellovision, you just cannot fully appreciate that nice carpet. I will be honest, I had SERIOUS reservations about this place. My sweet husband had the bee in his bonnet though, so I played along. The day I yerked that nasty carpet out was the day I finally thought "This might be OK after all."

20170619_120148.jpg
My kitchen floor. One of many "What the hell were they doing?" scenes around the place. I literally spent ALL MORNING scrubbing tape off ONE window. It had slipped out of its track. Rather than put it back in the track, the last renters taped the window shut. That was maybe eight years ago now. That tape was on there like white on rice. HOURS with acetone, razor and steel wool to get that crap off. All it needed was put back in its track. It was a good reminder: This is why we do not want to be landlords ever again. Our tenants were JUST THE SAME.

20170619_120159.jpg
This shot does not really pick up the way the ORIGINAL wall paper - we are talking 50+ years old - was bubbling and poofed out all over the wall. Had a very 60's feel going, like being on acid...

Well that is all I could find right now, maybe I can track down a few more before I get my after pics.

NAMASTE!

Sort:  

Way to sell the anticipation for the big reveal ;) You should produce reality shows or at least the makeover ones.

Lol! I am not that organized. I am fishing through almost 2 years of pics looking for any random ones I might have taken inside because I did not think to just go do a series of "before" shots!

I think I missed something in translation here or I was asleep at the switch...You are going to move into the McMansion and leave the house??? I can't say I blame you about being a landlord. We did it a couple of times and said never again. The damage was more than the total rent we collected!

Our last "tenants" squatted for MONTHS before we could get them out. They lived in our house almost a year and never paid a dime. We gave them the first month free because it was December and they had a baby and a sob story... MISTAKE.
Yes, the electrician comes today and if that goes smoothly we will move in. There is still a lot to do, but the infrastructure is almost done, we will do the rest from there. We got snow on the mountains yesterday... I do NOT want to spend another winter in this drafty old barn! I spent all summer of 2017 filling cracks in the siding and painting the place, but it is just too old. And so am I... lol!

I get that! I am looking at the situation here and all the extra work and think, Shouldn't I be taking it easy? I am supposed to be retired!

Any improvement in the delicate situation where you live?

No. It is now worse. We have a tropical storm pounding us and there is widespread flooding and most days we have no internet or electricity. We just got ours back after 24 hours last night...

This is a really good build up for an epic make over, I'm impressed you masked off the windows and everything you did not want to paint on the outside. That is great attention to detail, you see me I would have just gone straight at it with biggest damn brush I could find and no masking - paint on me, windows, everything else that isn't supposed to have paint on - not so much where it is supposed to go - but then that's how I paint. I call it creative lol.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thank you. Your simple kindness in the middle of this shit storm, and especially your decision to not comment on my other post to try to stir more shit, is appreciated more than words can say. You are a class act.

When my normal is the way it is, being on acid isn't so tough! At least, in theory, I haven't actually got around to trying it. I'll let you know : P
These before photos make me hungry for the after photos, which will be much more aesthetic! I imagine you'll be happy with it.
Glad to see you're back to posting again, even if voting is still not really a thing. I hope the upgrades are worth it because a lot of people lost a lot of effort (and funds) unexpectedly. It was quite a bit more disruptive than I was led to believe it would be! Hopefully tomorrow is better. Most of the microbes still can't post or comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79